UCB Libraries

Accounting & Tax Research Guide

  • Background
    Information
  • Databases &
    Articles
  • Financial
    Analysis
  • Standards &
    Regulations
  • More
    Help

 

Dictionaries & Handbooks

 

These titles are useful for background information on a topic or identifying search terms. 

 

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Accounting (eBook)

Dictionary of Accounting Terms

Other Accounting dictionaries

 

Handbooks

Accountants' Handbook (Digital Copy)

Accountants' Handbook is a comprehensive source that provides answers to common questions in the practice of accountiong.

 

How to Read a Financial Report  

How to read a financial report explains the element of financial reports, and then covers analysis of financial reports. Great for those who need a basic introduction to financial statements.

 

Other Accounting Handbooks

 

Accounting & Tax Firms

 

Find out more about the four biggest accounting firms Deloitte., EY, KPMG, & PwC by browsing their websites and finding out what types business they conduct and who their major clients are. These companies also provide industry analysis and reports.

 

ReferenceUSA

Generate a customized list of accounting & tax firms in the U.S. using the custom search. For more detailed instructions on how to navigate ReferenceUSA watch this video:

 

 

 

 

Articles

Accounting & Tax

 

CCH Accounting Research Manager
Accounting Research Manager is a comprehensive online database of expert analysis on accounting, auditing, governmental and SEC information as well as primary source data including standards. Links to FASB, AICPA, SEC, EITF, IASB, PCAOB, and more.

 

BNA Tax Management Library
Provides primary and secondary sources on taxes, including the Internal Revenue Code, tax regulations, federal tax cases and court decisions, current legislation, tax treaties, federal and state tax forms, and expert analysis from tax professionals.

 

Proquest Accounting and Tax

Search premier accounting and taxation sources including: scholarly journals, tax management, and auditing trade publications, AICPA publications, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings.

 

General Business

 

Business Source Complete
In addition to a wide selection of accounting & taxation sources Business Source Complete also includes other business related sources which may contain accounting and taxation information.

 

ABI/INFORM Complete
Similar to Business Source Complete search ABI/Inform Complete for articles related to business including accounting & taxation research, news, etc.

 

 

News

International

 

Factiva
Looking for the latest news on accounting & tax issues? Factiva has real time news and provides best coverage of international news sources

 

Local

 

LexisNexis Academic

Use the News section to help you find regional news publications in the U.S.
If you're looking for a specific title, use the help section to identify how to search for well known sources in Accounting and Tax. i.e. Accounting Reference Desktop

 

 

Industry Ratios

Besides financial statement preparation, accountants also perform ratio analysis. These three sources below are available at the Business Library Desk.

 

Annual Statement Studies, these ratios can also be found via OneSource in ReferenceUSA
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios

 

Sometimes you can find industry ratios in an industry survey. The two databases below are your best sources for finding industry ratios online.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage

First Research Industry Profiles

 

Financial Statements

 

Mergent Online

One of the largest collections of financial statements. Good source for looking up historical financial statements. Data can be exported into excel, pdf, and other formats.

 

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage

A widely used source for financial statements & stock reports.

 

EDGAR

From the Securities and Exchange Comission, includes free access to 20 million company filings.

 

Investment Reports

 

Thomson ONE
Business Library Only, THOMSON ONE is only compatible with Internet Explorer.  Look in the "Company Resarch" section to find a large and current collection of Investment Reports on a particular company.

 

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Comprehensive source for data and analysis on international and domestic stocks, mutual funds, and exchange traded funds.

 

More Help

Not finding what your looking for? You may be able to find what you are looking for in these other research guides...

 

Company Information

Financial Research

 

Accounting Standards

AICPA (American Institute of CPAs)
Excellent resource for standards, white papers and studies in accounting.  Publisher of Journal of Accountancy. 

 

BNA Tax Management Library
Primary and secondary sources on taxes, including standards from the SEC & FASB are found in the Accounting section of this resrource.

 

CCH Accounting Research Manager
Accounting Research Manager is a comprehensive online database of expert analysis on accounting, auditing, governmental and SEC information as well as primary source data including standards from FASB, AICPA, EITF, IASB.

 

FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board)
FASB's website includes authoritative standards as well as presentations and minutes from meetings of the FASB.

 

IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards) Foundation & IASB (International Accounting Standards Board)
IFRS & IASB are two sources for accounting standards adopted by international organizations

 

PCAOB (Public Company Accounting Oversight Board)
PCAOB produces auditing and related professional practice standards for registered public accounting firms to follow in the preparation and issuance of audit reports

 

Regulations

 

Proquest Congressional

In-depth research database with access to the full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about Congress and policy issues, including Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional hearings, Congressional Record, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources.

 

IRS (Internal Revenue Service)
Resource for individuals and businesses to find information about taxation. Includes tax forms, answers to frequently asked questions.

 

SEC (Securities & Exchange Comission)
THE SEC houses financial statements for public companies using the Edgar Search.

 

Electronic code of federal regulations: e-CFR

The e-CFR is a historical comprehensive source of Federal regulations. Browse section by section or search by keyword. Note: The e-CFR is an unofficial editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments.

 

regulations.gov

Users can browse or search any pending regulations, and may submit comments on these regualations through this site.

 

 

 

 

Phone

303-492-3195

 

In person

Librarians are available 11:00am - 2:00pm Monday - Friday.

 

Instant Message

Using the box to the right, you can request assistance during the hours we are logged on.

 

Email

Directly at buslib@colorado.edu or use the form provided below.

Use this form to send us a message. Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.

Chat requires JavaScript.

If we are off-line, leave a message using the form below.
Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.


 

Name:

Affiliation with CU-Boulder:

Email Address:

Phone Number:

What would you like help with?

GUIDES
Many essays and book chapters on various aspects of Marketing Research have been provided by the McGraw-Hill publishing firm.


There are also online tutorials from KnowThis.com including:
Data Collection: Low-Cost Secondary Research
Data Collection: High-Cost Secondary Research

NEED MORE HELP?

Phone

303-492-3195

 

In person

Librarians are available 11:00am - 3:00pm Monday - Friday.

 

Instant Message

Using the box to the right, you can request assistance during the hours we are logged on.

 

Email

Directly at buslib@colorado.edu or use the form provided below.

Use this form to send us a message. Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.

Chat requires JavaScript.

If we are off-line, leave a message using the form below.
Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.


 

Name:

Affiliation with CU-Boulder:

Email Address:

Phone Number:

What would you like help with?