UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

Finding Annual Reports

All public companies are required to file an Annual Report to the SEC (10-K) must be filed with the SEC 90 days after the end of the fiscal year, and usually include information about products or services, markets, distribution systems, availability of raw materials and legal proceedings, in addition to financial information. 10-Ks are much more detailed than the annual reports sent to shareholders. Annual Reports to the Shareholder provide a yearly record of a company's financial position, outlines of the company's goals and objectives, and offers an analysis of the financial report. Listed below are sources for both current and historical reports.

This site only provides information on reports for public companies, for private companies please contact the library for assistance.

  • Current
  • Historical
  • More Help
EDGAR
This free site provides all the reports filed by public companies with the SEC. In addition, for the recent 10-K reports you can view interactive data from the report. You can search for reports by company name, ticker symbol, state, or SIC.

LexisNexis Academic CU
This site contains SEC filings under the "Companies" tab on the left. You can search by company or ticker.

Mergent Online CU
Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles.

Mergent Webreports CU
An online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
Online Sources

There is no comprehensive source for historical annual reports online, but these sites provide access to a few:

Corporate Reports Online (University of Pennsylvania) (1825-1975, selected)
This collection at the Lippincott Library at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania contains facsimiles of corporate annual reports from the Lippincott Library collection, some of them dating back to the 1800s.

LexisNexis Academic CU (1972-1995)
This database provides access to 128,000 corporate annual reports covering the period 1972 through 1995 and online SEC filings back to December, 1987. The SEC filings back to 1987 are available under "Companies" and "SEC Filings." For older reports you can try searching the "AICPA Annual Reports" (formally known as NAARS), these can be found under "Companies" then "Company Profiles" you can search either the 1972-1984 or 1984-95 collections.

Columbia Historical Corporate Reports Online Collection
The selection targeted corporations that operated in and around New York City, in part to provide content for a parallel pilot project called Digital New York City. Approximately 36 companies are represented with a total of approximately 770 individual reports (ca. 17,300 pages) ranging from the 1850s through the early 1960s.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports CU
Over 800 companies' annual reports (1844-current) available through searchable pdf images. The collection includes digital reproductions of over 1.3 million pages found in more than 43,000 reports. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.

Sources in the Business Library

If you don't manage to find the report you are looking for in one of the sources above, the Business Library has CD-ROMs and microformats of annual reports as well.

Annual Reports Collection on Microcards
Buck Financial Records Collection. (50s, 60s, and 70s)
A wide variety of corporate annual reports are available on opaque microcards. Please ask a librarian for assistance.

Annual Reports Collection on Microfiche
Buck Financial Records Collection. (70s, 80s, and 90s)
A wide variety of corporate annual reports are available on microfiche, covering Colorado public companies and companies on the New York Stock Exchange and the American Stock Exchange. Please ask a librarian for assistance.

Compact D/SEC (Compact Disclosure). HG4001 .C67
The Disclosure database contains financial and management information on over 11,000 public companies. Company data is extracted from annual and periodic reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Primary focus of the database is financial data extracted from 10-Ks, (or 20-Fs for foreign registrants), 10-Qs, 10-Cs, 8-Ks, proxy statements and initial registration statements for new companies. This CD-ROM database is in the William M. White Business Library, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Corporate Microfile (1978-1980)
Proxy statements, annual reports, and 10-K reports. Complete copies of financial reports published by more than 5,500 public companies on the New York Stock Exchange and the American Stock Exchange and several thousand Over-the-Counter companies.

Phone

303-492-3195

 

In person

Librarians are available 11:00am - 3:00pm Monday - Friday.

 

Instant Message

Using the box to the right, you can request assistance during the hours we are logged on.

 

Email

Directly at buslib@colorado.edu or use the form provided below to send us a message.

Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

Name:

Affiliation with CU-Boulder:

Email Address:

Phone Number:

What would you like help with?