UCB Libraries

Marketing Research Guide

  • Getting
    Started
  • Company /
    Industry
  • Consumer /
    Demographics
  • Market
    Research
  • Advertising
    & Polling
  • e-Marketing
    Resources
  • More
    Help

 

MARKET RESEARCH
Marketing research consists of primary research (research conducted by the principal investigator) and/or secondary research that other researchers have compiled and distributed. Secondary research, the focus of this guide, can help make primary research more effective and focus your surveys, interviews, etc. on the best targets.

This guide will demonstrate how to find secondary research about company/industry, consumers/demographics, advertising/polling and show you some places to look for market research reports and e-marketing information.

While primary research is not a focus of this guide, the library has a number of guides to conducting marketing research. You can find these in Chinook, the library catalog. Try terms such as marketing research or business intelligence.

 

MARKETING TERMS

If you encounter a marketing term, like Ambush Advertising, that you have never heard of check out this marketing dictionary

 

MARKET SHARE/SIZE

 

Market Share/Size
Market Share is a company's sales expressed as a percentage of the sales for the total industry

 

Where can I find Market Share?
Note: You will need a, Company Name, Product, or NAICS/SIC Code to identify Market Share

 

Business Insights: Global  CU  
Often the easiest source to find Market Share for a company. Includes the source Market Share Reporter. Search by company name, ticker symbol, product or NAICS code and then look for the "Market Share Reports" links.

Additional HELP from Business Insights: Global  CU 

 

Mintel Market Research  CU
The focus of these reports is often on the consumer, but each report has a "Market" section which includes market size and segment performance.  Reports often analyze the Market by various demographics.

 

Passport Global Market Information Database  CU
If you are looking for information on market share in a foreign country this is your best source. You can either get at brand/market share by searching by industry or company or brands.


Ward's Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies 

Best if your industry is mostly comprised of private companies.  Provides rankings by sales for over 100,000 US companies. The company rankings are organized by NAICS industry codes. Calculate market share by dividing total revenue by the revenue given for your target company. Most recent copy available at the Business Library Desk.

Mergent Webreports CU 

There is less coverage in these reports, but they cover a much broader international market when available. Once you have found a "Industry Report" you can search the document for market share information.

TableBase (RDS) CU 
Still unable to find Market Share?  Tablebase allows searching the text in Tables from business and trade journals. Try searching a product i.e. Ipad or brand i.e. Apple and the word sales. Some results will include market/brand share.

Additional HELP from TableBase (RDS) CU

 

 

BRANDS


The sources provided below vary greatly in their coverage of Brands.  Try multiple sources if you are not finding a comprehensive list of brands. 

Business Insights: Global   CU
This is the easiest source of brands, you can search your company name and then in the company profile there is a section on "brands." Once you know the brands if you want more information you can search the entire database using the brand name for more in-depth articles.

Business Source Complete  CU
There are two features in this database that help you discover the brands produced by a particular company. You can look at the "Company Information" from the top bar and find a selected list under "Products." You can also read/search the "Company Profile" found under "More" in the top bar. Once you have a list of brands you can also get more information by searching the whole database for articles on your brand.

 

LexisNexis Academic CU
From the panel on the left side select Companies, then Company Dossier, and type in company name or ticker. Under the "Snapshot" section in the sidebar, some Companies will have a heading called "Brands."

 

PRODUCTS


Here are a couple of sources that can be starting points for product research. 

Consumer Reports CU
Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. These are independent product reviews.

ConsumerSearch
Product-review editors compare professional product reviews (i.e. Consumer Reports or CNET) with consumer reviews (i.e. Amazon.com and Epinions). Contains product reviews, buying guides and comparison tools for consumer products.  Ranks top products by category and discloses sources used to compile reports. 

 

Epinions
Provides unedited opinions and reviews from user members about a broad range of products, services, and travel destinations. Includes links to professional reviews and buying guides in many categories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

CONSUMER / DEMOGRAPHICS


Looking to find out more about your target market?  If so, these resources can help you locate your customers.

American Factfinder
American FactFinder lets you search, browse, retrieve, view, map, print, and download Census data. This data includes the decennial census, American Community Survey, economic census, and much more (see complete list). This makes this the most comprehensive source for data on the American population.

Additional HELP from American Factfinder

Social Explorer CU 

This is the subscription version of American Factfinder. It contains data from the decennial census and American Community Survey from 1790 to the present, on topics such as age, gender, sex, race, ethnic origin, education, employment, occupations and housing of the U. S. population, as well as data on the number of congregations and adherents by religion from 1980 to the present. This database provides the easiest to create maps tracking demographic changes in the United States over time.

Additional HELP from Social Explorer CU 


Consumer Expenditure Survey   (U.S. Census Bureau)
Consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. This is the only federal survey to provide information on the complete range of consumer expenditures and incomes in the United States.


Passport GMID CU 
This database provides demographic, economic and lifestyle information for 205 countries. This is the source to use to find international consumer information.


ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
CU 
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States providing selected data back to 1790. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Additional HELP from ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. CU 

 

Simmons NCS CU 
If you are looking for data about who uses specific products or brands, Simmons NCS will provide the most specific answers. Simmons OneView provides access to U.S. adult consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. It can be used to create customized reports analyzing the demographic and psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.  

 

TableBase (RDS)  CU 
This database collects tables from articles. Some of the resources you will find in here are number of users and outlets, trends and demographics.

Additional HELP from TableBase (RDS)  CU

 

 

 

FINDING MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS

Market Research Reports contain industry and demographic data and an analysis of a market. The resources below contain Market Research Reports. The contents of these resources varies, so start with the one that seems most appropriate to your area of research.

Frost & Sullivan  CU
Global research and analysis of industries, primarily healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.

Additional HELP from Frost & Sullivan CU

 

Mintel Market Research  CU
Consumer market studies by Mintel analysts. Covers food, beverage, apparel, beauty and personal, retail, travel and more. Each study provides a synthesis of both primary and secondary data and analysis.

Passport Global Market Information Database  CU
Locate demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries, as well as detailed income, expenditure and lifestyle statistics.

 

ReferenceUSA  CU
Within Reference USA the module Onesource contains Market Research Reports. Identify an Industry in Onesource using a NAICS Code, then look under Market Research.  Availability of reports vary by industry.

Business Source Complete CU

Search for a company or industry and look for Market Research Reports under source type. Coverage varies greatly by industry and region.

 

FIND ADVERTISEMENTS & CAMPAIGNS

 

AdAgeCentury
Produced by Advertising Age, one of the leading advertising trade journals, this site provides an advertising time line as well as ranking lists for the top ads, campaigns, and jingles.

 

Ad*Access
This project by Duke University has digitized over 7000 advertisements that were printed in newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. They reflect main developments in American society, culture, business and technology.

 

AdFlip
Archive of classic print ads searchable by year.

 

Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns  CU 
Offers historical perspective on major advertising campaigns of the 20th century.

 

Gallery of Graphic Design
Browseable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines between 1932 and 1969.

 

Mintel CU
In addition to market research reports, new marketing campaigns are included on the “Media Homepage” in the News section.

 

tellyAds
A site offering thousands of British television advertisements, browse-able alphabetically.

 

FIND ADVERTISING AGENCIES & EXPENDITURES

 

Ad$pender (AdSpender) CU
Provides multi-media advertising expenditures across media, including magazines, newspapers, internet, TV, radio, and outdoor.
You will need to come to the Business Library desk to get logged into this database.

Red Books CU
Directories of 24,000 advertisers and 13,500 advertising agencies, U.S. and international.

 

SRDS CU
SRDS Media Solutions is a leading provider of media rates and data connecting buyers and sellers through our sources that offer comprehensive coverage of traditional media - such as magazines, newspapers, television, direct marketing and radio - as well as today's alternative marketing opportunities - such as online and out-of-home.

Additional HELP from SRDS CU

 

 

FIND SURVEYS & POLLS

 

iPoll CU

Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. A full-text, searchable retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level, archived from national public opinion surveys since 1935.

 

Use the two guides below to help identify surveys and polls.

 

How do I find Public Opinion Information?  (CU University Libraries)

 

Public Opinion Surveys (Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research)

 

 

 

 

 

E-MARKETING

 

There are several organizations that provide free data on the use of the internet for marketing purposes.  However, look to see if the article mentions the source and how the data was compiled.  See the Interactive Advertising Bureau for Best Practices in the Industry.   

 

ClickZ  
Provides news, research and statistics on the interactive marketing world.   See the “Stats & Tools” section for Industry Metrics and Audience/Traffic. 


E-Commerce Times
Coverage includes a variety of tech business topics including e-commerce, social media, the mobile explosion, tech business deals, legal controversies, enterprise IT and cloud computing applications, e-marketing and small business advice.  Posts new content on a daily basis.


eMarketer.com
Offers a free daily newsletter that covers digital marketing, media and commerce.


Interactive Advertising Bureau
Trade association comprised of more than 500 leading media and technology companies that are responsible for selling 86% of online advertising in the United States. Provides a “Guidelines and Best Practices” section that the discusses the measurement of various metrics used in advertising studies.   


Internet Retailer

Covers the market trends, technology, competitive practices and people that are shaping the e-commerce industry.   See the “Trends & Data” section for statistics and infographics about Internet retailing. 


Mobile Marketing Association
A trade association representing all players in the mobile marketing value chain.   Includes several case studies in many industries.  


Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.


Think with Google  

Keep up with what’s new in consumer trends, marketing insights and industry research.  The “Research Library” provides in depth reports on select industries.
GUIDES
Many essays and book chapters on various aspects of Marketing Research have been provided by the McGraw-Hill publishing firm.


There are also online tutorials from KnowThis.com including:
Data Collection: Low-Cost Secondary Research
Data Collection: High-Cost Secondary Research

NEED MORE HELP?

Phone

303-492-3195

 

In person

Librarians are available 11:00am - 3:00pm Monday - Friday.

 

Instant Message

Using the box to the right, you can request assistance during the hours we are logged on.

 

Email

Directly at buslib@colorado.edu or use the form provided below.

Use this form to send us a message. Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.

Chat requires JavaScript.

If we are off-line, leave a message using the form below.
Response time may vary, but is usually less than 24 hours on weekdays.


 

Name:

Affiliation with CU-Boulder:

Email Address:

Phone Number:

What would you like help with?