UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

Financial Markets and Investments Resource Guide

10-K Wizard
Users can search SEC EDGAR FILINGS by ticker, company name, keyword, and other fields. Results include Profile, Financials, Annual Shareholder Reports, Former Names, Audit Report(s), Certification Letter(s), Exhibits Insider Summary, Major Holders, and Quotes/Charts/News. There is also a search form for insider trading, but visitors must register to use this feature.
2003 Annual Securities Industry Assocation (SIA) Investor Survey (PDF document)
This 65-page document provides the results of the ninth annual survey of 1,504 investors in the United States conducted by Harris Interactive in 2003. The analysis provides information on investors' outlook and expectations, attitudes toward brokers and financial advisors, investor education and more.
ADR.com
This site created by JPMorgan is a great source for accessing news, earnings estimates, quotes, technical charts, and institutional ownership on American Depositary Receipts (ADRs) and international equities. You can search for ADRs by region, industry, and ticker or company name. Click on market overview to get data on the best and worst performing DRs as well as top DRs by sector, ownership, and country.
Bank and quotation record (1978-1980 on microfilm and 1962-1988 in print)
Print version Business Library HG4501.B15
Microfilm copy in Business Library - Microfilm 4482
Bank of New York ADR Index
This site lets users search, customize and analyze companies listed in the Complete Depositary Receipts Directory, and view a comprehensive DR Profile by company. You can search by company name, ticker symbol, or CUSIP.
Bonds Online
current or historic prices and descriptive information for all current or past stocks, preferred stocks, bonds, indices and other securities from around the world, and yield spreads for US Corporate and Agency Debt securities. Fee to retrieve some data and users are required to register to use some features.
Best of the Web - Stocks and Bonds
This website offers a collection of websites related to Stocks and Bonds.
Bonds Online
Current or historic prices and descriptive information for all current or past stocks, preferred stocks, bonds, indices and other securities from around the world, and yield spreads for US Corporate and Agency Debt securities. Fee to retrieve some data and users are required to register to use some features.
Bureau of the Public Debt of the United States
Provides daily amounts to the penny for the Debt of the U.S., as well as the Daily History of the Debt and the Historical Debt Outstanding (Annual) for the years 1791 - 2000.
Chicago Mercantile Exchange
This site provides CME news, the location of CME global offices, and a link to the online version of CME Magazine, a new publication that features customer case histories, trend stories, editorials, and news briefs.
CNN Money and Markets (CNNFN)
Online access to articles and news from CNN/Money magazine. There are also a wide variety of financial tools such as financial calculators, and information on personal finance, employment, and the economy.
Commercial and financial chronicle (1965-1987 on microfilm and 1872-1964,1988-1991 in print)
Print version PASCAL OFFSITE HG1 .C7
Microfilm copy in Business Library - Microfilm 1305
Commodity Futures Trading Commission
The mission of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is to protect market users and the public from fraud, manipulation, and abusive practices related to the sale of commodity and financial futures and options, and to foster open, competitive, and financially sound futures and option markets. This site provides information on laws and regulation and a wide variety of reports and publications produced by the Commission.
Currency Converter - Xe.com
This simple currency converter from Xe.com lets you select from and to currencies from a pull-down menu to perform currency conversion.
Daily stock price record. American Stock Exchange (1980-1999 on microfiche)
Microfiche in Business Library - Microfiche 661
Daily stock price record. NASDAQ (1980-1999 on microfiche)
Microfiche in Business Library - Microfiche 659
Daily stock price record. New York Stock Exchange (1980-1999 on microfiche)
Microfiche in Business Library - Microfiche 660

Encyclopedia of Alternative investments HG4513 .E53 2009

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2nd ed., 2006)

Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.

FAOSTAT
Made available by the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FAOSTAT provides statistical compilation on agricultural production and trade on both a world wide and country by country basis for all types of crops, livestock, and agricultural commodities.
Federal Reserve Statistical Release
Provides daily interest rates for selected U.S. Treasury and private money market and capital market instruments. Is updated weekly and includes up to 30 years of historical data on selected items.
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
FINRA provides comprehensive market data on equities, options and a wide range of bonds. It also helps investors build their financial knowledge and provides them with essential tools to better understand the markets and basic principles of saving and investing.
The handbook of Finance HG173 .H327 2008
The handbook of world stock, derivative & commodity exchanges HG4551.H36
Investment Company Institute Mutual Funds: Investing in America's Future
This site, from the The Investment Company Institute, offers PDF documents, sound bites (audio files) and video clips providing a wide range of data. Institute research examines such topics as shareholder demographics, trends in shareholder ownership costs, the industry's role in foreign markets, and analyses of the retirement market.
Insiders chronicle (1978-1990 and 1982 - 1997 on microfilm and 1991-2001 in print)
Print version Business Library HG1 .I44
Microfilm copies in Business Library - Microfilm 3770 (1978-1990) and Microfilm 3957 (1982 - 1997)
International Commodity Prices
Maintained by the Commodities and Trade Division of FAO, this database provides weekly, monthly, and annual prices for agricultural commodities from 1987 to present.
Investment Company Institute Mutual Funds: Investing in America's Future
This site, from the The Investment Company Institute, offers PDF documents, sound bites (audio files) and video clips providing a wide range of data. Institute research examines such topics as shareholder demographics, trends in shareholder ownership costs, the industry's role in foreign markets, and analyses of the retirement market.
The Irwin guide to stocks, bonds, futures, and options HG4521.L637
Investor Information from the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
The SEC's Office of Investor Education and Assistance provides a variety of services to address the problems and questions faced by investors. There is information on Mutual Bank Conversions, Equity-Indexed Annuities, Variable Annuities, a Mutual Fund Cost Calculator, information on Worthless Stocks, and much more.
Investor's Clearinghouse
The Alliance for Investor Education’s Investor’s Clearinghouse provides information on investing and financial markets, including educational material and links to other investment websites. Alliance members include the American Association of Individual Investors, the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute, the New York Stock Exchange and the Federal Reserve, among others.
International encyclopedia of the stock market HG4551.I528

JSTOR Business Collection

(Campus-wide /Remote access) Provides access to more than 167 Business journal titles. The collection brings together core titles in economics and finance, including many publications from the leading scholarly societies, with a range of critical research journals in accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment. Coverage Varies. Access from Vol. 1 to approximately 3-5 years ago when applicable.

Mergent's handbook of common stocks HG4905.M815
Mergent Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles.
Mergent Webreports
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) An online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
Monthly Statement of the Public Debt of the United States
Monthly data for treasury bills, notes, and other federal securities. Tables include a description of the security, issue date, amount, and date of final maturity. For more data related to federal bills, notes, and bonds visit the Bureau of the Public Debt.
Morningstar Investment Research Center

(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Morningstar Investment Research Center is an all-inclusive investment research database. It features data and analysis on over 13,000 international and domestic stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and more than 1500 exchange traded funds. Plus, the database boasts a comprehensive Help and Education Center, Portfolio X-Ray and robust screening tools.

Morningstar stocks 500 : annual sourcebook HG4661.M67
Mutual Fund Scoreboard
Backed by data from Morningstar, this interactive site from BusinessWeek is updated each month to show how funds are performing. You can browse the listings, or enter a fund name or ticker symbol to pull up a specific fund. Click on the fund's name and you'll get a pop-up with more information.
New York Mercantile Exchange
The New York Mercantile Exchange, Inc. bills itself as "the world's largest physical commodity futures exchange and the preeminent trading forum for energy and precious metals." This site provides market news, educational materials, and information on markets and futures as well as an events calendar.
New York Stock Exchange Factbook
The Fact Book Online provides a wealth of data about the NYSE to investors, listed companies, members, member firms, the media, and government agencies. It covers stock market activity, stock price trends, information on listed companies, the investing public, institutional investors, trading in international securities on the NYSE, the NYSE community, securities market credit, and bonds.
OnlineConversion.com
This site boasts that one can “convert just about anything to anything else.” And with 50,000 conversions and 5,000 units, it has an impressive range. Sure, it has the popular conversions: length, temperature, speed, volume, weight, cooking, area, fuel economy, and currency. But it also contains measurements for women’s clothing sizes between countries, light-years, density, torque, horse height, meeting room size needed for attendees, gauge and much more. There is even a “Fun Stuff” category that is practically addictive where users can find their age in dog years, convert their names into Morse code, determine their weight on Mars, and verify how many days until retirement! Indispensible.
Social Investment Forum
An association dedicated to advancing the practice and growth of socially responsible investing. Forum members provide portfolio selection analysis, shareholder advocacy and community investing. The link for “Research & Tools” provides excellent overviews, fact sheets and research reports.”
StockCharts.com
Create a variety of daily and weekly charts for periods ranging from a few minutes to several years and in several styles and colors.
Stocks, bonds, bills and inflation ... yearbook HG4915.S76
Thomson ONE
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Formerly Investext, ThomsonONE provides company and industry research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage firms and research organizations worldwide. Also includes news from Reuters on markets, companies, commodities and other business topics. Other services, including quotes and charts, can be accessed via toolbars and tabs. NOTE: THOMSON ONE is only compatible with Internet Explorer
Virtual Finance Library
The WWW Virtual Library is a resource created and maintained by the Ohio State's Department of Finance. It serves as a clearinghouse for links to a wide variety of sites related to finance, including investment banks, world markets, insurance companies and more.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
(Business Library Computers) Historical financial information for major companies, banks, government bonds & stock exchanges; economic data, 1929-  & business cycle indicators, 1959- Use restricted to current CU Boulder campus students and faculty. Submit your colorado.edu email address on WRDS website to receive WRDS login instructions.
Yahoo! Finance
Stock quotes, market summary, market news and much more.