UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

Management Resource Guide                                  

ABI/INFORM Complete (Proquest)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Featuring over 4,055 journals, ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers more than 2,965 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Academy of Management Online

The Academy of Management is "a leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations. Founded in 1936 by two professors, the Academy of Management is the oldest and largest scholarly management association in the world. Today, the Academy is the professional home for 16001 members from 89 nations." The site contains news and press releases as well as tools for professional development. Some information limited to members only.

American Management Association International homepage

The American Management Association is "a global not-for-profit, membership-based association that provides a full range of management development and educational services to individuals, companies and government agencies worldwide, including 486 of the Fortune 500 companies." The site contains information on conferences and events, links to e-learning and self-education opportunities, and other information about the Association. Some information limited to members only.

The Blackwell encyclopedia of management HF1001.B55

Business.gov

Managed by the Small Business Administration (SBA) this site has become “The Official Business Link to the U.S. Government”. A new initiative (2007) with industry leaders and trade associations will bring additional information sources to this portal. A number of business guides and links to state and local resources are provided.

Business & Management Practices
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index of full-text journal and trade publication articles that focus on practical aspects and approaches in business management, 1995 to date.
Business Knowledge Research
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Database of Conference Board research reports in business management and on US and global economic issues.
Business Reference Suite
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Access to Business and Industry, Business and Management Practice, and Tablebase.  

Business Researcher's Interests

This clearinghouse from Brint.com contains links to a wide variety of internet sites about information technology, research portals on specific business technology practices, knowledge management, electronic commerce, and more.

Business Source Complete
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business periodical database that includes full text and abstracts fromover 1200 scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. 1990 - present. (indexing and abstracts back as far as 1886 are also included). Also includes SWOT analyses.

Conference Board Research Online Collection

(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business Management and Economic Research and Insights is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes topline US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.

Emerald
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Full-text of library and information science journals. Access more than 75,000 full text articles, 200,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, plus case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, and profiles
Encyclopedia of management (2000) HD30.15.E49

Encyclopedia of Management Online, (5th ed., 2006)

Includes essays on 350 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals who have first hand knowledge of the particular topic or essay they are contributing, and reviewed and edited by Dr. Marilyn M. Helms. Topics include aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, and supply chain management, among many others.

European Case Clearing House (ECCH)
ECCH is "an independent, non-profit, membership based organisation dedicated to promoting the case method of learning. The ecch case collection of management case studies and journal article reprints is the largest in the world. It is a unique and accessible resource for business school and university teachers worldwide." There is a searchable database of collection of over 39,000 management cases on a wide variety of topics. Abstracts of the cases are free but there is a fee to order full text of cases.
Free Management Library
A very practical site, the Free Management Library website was redesigned in 2006. Over 260 subject categories are broadly grouped with information useful to small and large, for-profit and non-profit, new and well-established enterprises. The library is administered by personnel from Authenticity Consulting, LLC, but content links can be added by readers following the “Community Rules”. Links are provided for reference works, blog indices, tutorials and additional resources.
Gower handbook of management skills HD31.H31255

JSTOR Business Collection

(Campus-wide /Remote access) Provides access to more than 167 Business journal titles. The collection brings together core titles in economics and finance, including many publications from the leading scholarly societies, with a range of critical research journals in accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment. Coverage Varies. Access from Vol. 1 to approximately 3-5 years ago when applicable.

PsycINFO
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index w/ citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, and law.

Risk Management Research Report
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Risk management is a growing area of scholarship with a high and steadily increasing volume of publications. The purpose of Risk Management Research Report (RMRR) is to survey and screen this flow of publications and to present extended scholarly summaries of today’s most important scholarly work in a convenient format on a timely basis.
Each issue features approximately 15 of the most important scholarly articles in risk management published within the preceding quarter.

Working Papers in Management
Publications and Working Papers from the Olin School of Business, Washington University in St. Louis. Users can search by author name, paper title, topic area and publication type, and limit to date ranges. Abstracts are available for all papers, pdfs are available online for select papers.