William M. White Business Library
| A | B | C | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Insurance Resource Guide
| America's Health Insurance Plans This organization is "the national trade association representing nearly 1,300 member companies providing health insurance coverage to more than 200 million Americans." See their Industry Issues and Guides and Fact Sheets. |
| American Council of Life Insurers The American Council of Life Insurers "is a unified voice on issues from retirement security to tax policy to international trade." See their Industry Facts, Consumer Guides, and Industry Issues before Congress and the states. |
| Career Guide to Industries This Bureau of Labor Statistics site, part of the online Occupational Outlook Handbook, offers a career-oriented description of many industries, with information on the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training, earnings and outlook, as well as sources of additional information. See the description for the Insurance industry. |
| Claims Pages Online version of the printed Claims Pages, this site offers a state by state business directory that includes insurance fraud and Insurance Risk Management & Loss Control and is used by adjusters for pricing, estimating and service provider referrals. Users can search by state, then by county or city. |
| The fact book : property/casualty insurance facts HG8045.I57 |
| Hoover's Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news. Includes Hoover's company profile database. Additional information includes lists of officers, short biographies, and corporate financial data. Also includes access to First Research, an online library of industry profiles covering over 700 key industries. Each industry profile provides an Industry overview, information on the competitive landscape, products, operations, and technology, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources and labor statistics. |
| Industries Statistics This U.S. Census Bureau site offers an A to Z index, by subject, to its wealth of statistical data on industries and other topics. Browse the index for the name of your industry or use the search feature at the bottom of the page to access information from such sources as the Economic Census, the Census of Manufactures, the Census of Retail Trade, etc. See the Finance and Insurance |
| Industry Profiles (from Wetfeet.Com) This job hunting site offers profiles industries, with an industry overview, trends, industry organization, job prospects, what's great and what's to hate in the industry, from the viewpoint of a jobseeker, major companies in the industry, and example job descriptions and tips on how to get hired in the industry. There are also links to industry associations and a profile of an individual working in the industry. The amount of industry information makes up for annoying popups. See Insurance. |
| Insurance.About This website, maintained by Chris Rebillot, is desgined to provide general information on commercial insurance for educational purposes. It includes topics such as how to read an insurance policy and how to file a claim, and links to useful articles and resources. |
| Insurance Institute for Highway Safety The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is "an independent, nonprofit, scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses -- deaths, injuries, and property damage -- from crashes on the nations highways. The Institute is wholly supported by auto insurers." |
| Insurance Information Institute The mission of the Insurance Information Institute is "to improve public understanding of insurance -- what it does and how it works. For more than 40 years, the I.I.I. has provided definitive insurance information." See their Glossary of Insurance Terms, Facts & Statistics, and Industry Financials and Statistics and Directories and Resources." |
| Insurenet The mission of Insurennet is to "provide the latest quality online information available for Insurance Professionals. The information available at the InsureNet.org website covers a variety of topics, both professional and personal in nature." Through sponsor support and member participation, the InsureNet.org website provides a clearinghouse to a wide variety of resources including insurance companies, adjusters, contractors and more. |
| International dictionary of insurance and finance HG8025.C58 |
| International Insurance Fact Book From the Insurance Information Institute; the 2005 edition provides rankings of the largest insurance companies, as well as economic and insurance data from some 90 countries. Sources include Swiss Re, Axco Information Services and the Central Intelligence Agency. |
| LexisNexis
Academic (Campus-wide/Remote Access) Searchable full-text newspapers, directory and other information for business and law. 5000+ sources, 1985 - present. Provides access to corporate 10K and Annual reports (1994 - present), national and international business news, and legal research. |
| Mergent
Online (Campus-wide/Remote Access) Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles. Also includes profiles for private companies with up to 4 years of key financial information on over 400,000 Global Private Companies |
| National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors This association is "a national nonprofit organization representing the interests of more than 70,000 insurance and financial advisors nationwide, through its federation of over 900 state and local associations." See their Consumer Info and Government Relations areas. |
| National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research Creating, developing, and delivering practical continuing education programs for everyone involved in the insurance and risk management industries is the challenge and purpose of The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research. More than 75,000 participants attend at least one of our 1,900 programs, conducted in all 50 states and throughout the Caribbean in the course of just one year." See their Recent Articles and Insurance Links, including the link to the Professional Insurance Agents of the West. |
| Source book of health insurance data HG9396.S6 |
| Thomson ONE
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Formerly Investext, ThomsonONE provides company and industry research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage firms and research organizations worldwide. Also includes news from Reuters on markets, companies, commodities and other business topics. Other services, including quotes and charts, can be accessed via toolbars and tabs. NOTE: THOMSON ONE is only compatible with Internet Explorer |
