UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

 

International Business Resource Guide

Academy of International Business
Established in 1959, today, AIB has nearly 3000 members in 65 different countries around the world. Members include scholars from the leading global academic institutions as well consultants, researchers, and NGO representatives. Some content limited to members only.
American Chambers of Commerce Abroad
The American Chambers of Commerce Abroad "advance the interests of American business overseas. They are voluntary associations of American companies and individuals doing business in a particular country, as well as firms and individuals of that country who operate in the United States. " There are currently 94 American chambers of commerce in 82 countries, affiliated with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.
BBC Country Profiles
This site supplies information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories. Each profile includes an overview, map, facts, and current leaders. A media overview provides information on the press, television, radio, news agencies, and number of Internet users. Links provided on the side of the profile connect to the latest news and key stories, BBC links, background articles, related Internet sites and video and audio clips from the BBC archives. Additional features include timelines, recent news links, background articles, Internet sites, and BBC archive video and audio clips. Information on over 20 key international organizations is also included.

CIA World Fact Book

The online Factbook, a product of the CIA, provides a searchable text by country and contains information on Geography, People, Government, Economy, Communications, Transportation, Military, and Transnational Issues. The brief country profiles include GDP, CPI, labor force, unemployment rate, budget, industries, agriculture, export, import, telecommunications, debt, foreign aid for 251 countries. The content is updated periodically throughout the year.

Country Commercial Guides (U.S. Commercial Service)
Country Commercial Guides are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
Ethnologue Database
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the worlds 6,912 known living languages. The online Over 20,000 citations spanning 70 years of SIL International's language research in over 2,000 languages.

EIU Viewswire

This publication is now available in Factiva

Europages: The European Business Directory
Searchable business directory of 550,000 companies in 35 European countries. Users can search for a product or a service, Search for the name of a company, or Search by business sector in 25 different languages.
Export.gov Market Research
This U.S. Department of Commerce site is designed to be an export portal for American businesses, seeking export markets. Over 100,000 market research reports are available from this site, aimed at exporters. The site also offers country and trade information and data, market and industry reports, and more. Access to some information requires free registration.
Foreign Embassies in the U.S.
Foreign embassies in the United States often provide English-language websites with substantial offerings of trade and economic information about the country itself and its commercial relations with the U.S. These sites often include links to further information such as national statistical agencies, trade confederations and manufacturers associations.
Global Development Finance Online (World Bank)
219 indicators that cover external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections for 138 countries. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can be exported in Excel or ASCII format.
Global 500
the complete listings of all the Fortune Global 500 companies, including revenue and profit. Company profiles with full list and industry data, up-to-date stock information, and FORTUNE articles available only to subscribers.
Global Edge: International Business Resources on the WWW
This online resource desk from Michigan State University is a comprehensive portal to links about international business and finance. There are country guides, global resources, market potential indicators and a glossary of terms and acronyms used for International Business.
Human Development Reports - United Nations
The Human Development Report is an independent report, commissioned by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and is the product of a selected team of leading scholars, development practitioners and members of the Human Development Report Office of UNDP. The site provides access to global, national, and regional reports and statistics concerning human development across the globe.
International Business Forum
The International Business Forum provides information about business opportunities in the international marketplace. It is intended for companies wishing to export or expand into foreign markets as well as for those interested to acquire products and services from other countries.
International Chamber of Commerce
Full text of news stories and other publications from the ICC featuring economics and topics of other international importance. The site has a yearly archive back to 1997.
International Monetary Fund Home Page
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty. Publications available on this site include the World Economic Outlook and the Global Financial Stability Report. Also of interest is the IMF eLibrary-Data.
International Trade Administration - Trade Topics
Press Releases, Guides, Fact Sheets, and other documents from the International Trade Administration.
Latin American Business History: Resources and Research
Included in this Web resource are excerpts from oral histories with twenty-one leading business practitioners from Argentina and Chile, conducted by HBS Research Fellow Dr. Andrea Lluch. Oral history provides a way of recording individual experiences that are not captured in written documents. It also supplies contextual and personal information not available elsewhere. These interviews are a valuable resource for research on the business history of Argentina and Chile since the 1960s.
Mergent Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access)
Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles.
National Statistical Agencies
National statistical agencies are excellent sources for official demographic, trade, economic, and financial information; links to the statistical agencies of 120 countries are included on this U.S. Census Bureau site. Many countries offer an English language version of their national statistical agency websites. This site is made available by the U.S. Census Bureau.
NationMaster.Com
This Australian site uses data a variety of sources to provide graphic rankings, lists and interactive comparisons for countries' crime, economy, education, energy, environment, geography, government, health, media, military, people, religion, sports, and transportation, for 251 countries. This site also enables viewing of individual country profiles, with maps and flags, and of regions and groupings.
Office of the United States Trade Representative USTR Reports and Publications Home
This site contains a number of reports on exports from the United States, including the National Trade Estimate Report an annual series that surveys significant foreign barriers to U.S. exports. The report provides, where feasible, quantitative estimates of the impact of these foreign practices on the value of U.S. exports. Information is also included on actions taken to eliminate barriers
OnlineConversion.com
This site boasts that one can "convert just about anything to anything else." And with 50,000 conversions and 5,000 units, it has an impressive range. Sure, it has the popular conversions: length, temperature, speed, volume, weight, cooking, area, fuel economy, and currency. But it also contains measurements for women’s clothing sizes between countries, light-years, density, torque, horse height, meeting room size needed for attendees, gauge and much more. There is even a 'Fun Stuff" category that is practically addictive where users can find their age in dog years, convert their names into Morse code, determine their weight on Mars, and verify how many days until retirement!
OECD iLibrary
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) works on economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development and science and innovation. This site contains books, working papers, data and more from the OECD.
Passport Global Market Information Database
(Access for CU Staff, Faculty and Students only) Extensive statistical marketing, business and economic information for over 200 countries.
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)

Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the United Nations; all values are converted in US dollars and metric units, the coverage dates as far back as 1962.

United Nations World Investment Report
The World Investment Report focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development. The site provides highlights from the report from 1991 to the present, as well s downloads of the full reports and executive summaries in PDF format. The site also provides country fact sheets and time-series data from the WIR annex tables, including selected FDI and cross-border M&A data, available in Excel format.
U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library

Collection of Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, Market Updates, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, Industry/Regional Reports from the U.S. Commercial Service. The Library contains more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.  Access to reports may require account registration on the Market Research Library website.   The website supports email alerts that send an email to the user when a report in an area of interest is updated.

US Department of State Home Page
A permanent electronic archive of information released by the US Department of State Home prior to January 20, 2001. See www.state.gov for material released since President George W. Bush took office on that date.
U.S. Embassies
The U.S. State Department has embassies and consulates in 140 countries, with their individual websites often providing valuable local information for business, usually under the heading of the U.S. Commercial Service. The Commercial Service provides information for U.S. businesses interested in exporting to the country as well as information for companies in the country where the embassy is located about doing business with the U.S.
University of Colorado Denver Institute for International Business - Center for International Business Education and Research
The Institute for International Business (IIB) serves as the center for the advanced study and teaching of international business at UC Denver. It is also home to the Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER), a federally funded grant to promote US competitiveness in the global marketplace. The website contains, Business Culture, News, Organizations for Business and Global forumn reports. Infomration is also sorted by continent for easier access.
World Bank e-Library
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) World Bank E-Library allows users to access The World Bank Publication's entire output since the beginning of April 2000 plus all new documents. While there isn't an exact date range for the content, the oldest documents are circa the late 1980s. As of January 2004, over 1200 titles of reports, books and documents are included in the E-Library. Statistical documents like the World Development Indicators and Global Development finance are available as PDF files as well.
World Bank Private Sector Development
This World Bank site "offers best practice public policy advice for private sector led growth in developing countries. Find expert analysis, powerful databases, quick solutions, and comprehensive "how-to" guides." In particular, see their Business Environment section, which allows you to measure how a country measures up to regional and international standards across a range of criteria involved in setting up or operating a business; it is also possible to compare countries; over 140 countries are included. See also their Investment Climate section for over fifty countries, and their Papers and Links.
World Trade Organization Annual Reports
The organization's annual report to its members and the public on institutional matters, including descriptions of its main activities and information on its budget and staff. The Annual Report is published in the first half of each year. Available in PDF format 1998-present.
World Development Indicators Online (World Bank)
Contains statistical data for 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data export available in Excel and ASCII format.
World Development Reports (The World Bank Group)
The World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is "an invaluable guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today. Each year the WDR provides in depth analysis of a specific aspect of development. Past reports have considered such topics as the role of the state, transition economies, labor, infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty." The site includes a synopsis of the last ten years' WDRs (1995-2005). The full text of the reports are available online in PDF format from 1978 to the present.
World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum is "an independent international organization incorporated as a Swiss not-for-profit foundation and has NGO consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations." See their Country Competitiveness Profiles for 80 countries, from their publication entitled Global Competitiveness Report as well as from their Global Information Technology Report. See also their Themes, for collections of information on such topics as International and Regional Trade.
World Economic Outlook Reports (1997 - present)
The World Economic Outlook Reports are produced by the International Monetary Fund, and present the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects. Available in PDF format for 1993, and 1996 to the present.