William M. White Business Library
| A | B | C | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Copyright, Patent and Trademark Resource Guide
The Government Publications Department also has guides:
| Copyright Information from Library of Congress Copyright Office The Copyright Office furnishes information about the provisions of the copyright law and the procedures for making registration, explains the operations and practices of the Copyright Office, and reports on facts found in the public records of the Office. The website includes a wealth of information about copyright, including publications, copyright basics, copyright law, international information, and related copyright links. There is also a copyright search engine. There is also a new database covering works that have been registered since 1978, with more than 13 million search terms, providing a faster way to help identify who owns copyrights to movies, books and other works. |
| The Copyright Website Launched in 1995, the Copyright Website offers a Copyright Wizard to file a Copyright Registration with the U.S. Copyright Office, links to copyright forms, and multimedia coverage of copyright issues. |
| Espacenet This site, from the European Patent Office, provides searches of European patents by keyword, person or organization, and application, accession, publication or priority number. Vistors can also browse or search the Classification System of the European Patent Office. |
| Official Gazette The Patent Official Gazette is available in electronic form for the most recent fifty two issues and the Trademark Official Gazette is available in electronic form for the most recent five issues. The front section consists of the text of regular and special notices, and is common to both the Patent and Trademark OGs. There is also text and a representative image from each patent or trademark issued on that particular OG issue date. The site provides a Web patent full-text, full-page image, and bibliographic databases, which are current for each weekly issue; and the trademark database, which is updated every two months. |
| Library of Congress copyright registrations Search copyright information by selecting one of three databases: 1) Registrations of books, music, films, sound recordings, maps, software, photos, art, and multimedia, 2) Serials ( Registrations of periodicals, magazines, journals, and newspapers), and 3) Documents (Copyright ownership documents, such as name changes and transfers). These databases contain records of registrations and ownership documents since 1978. Please note it takes several months for recent registrations to appear in the databases. |
| Manual of U. S. Patent Classification Allows searching of Patent Classification Info by Class/Subclass or limiting the search to the Index to the USPC by choosing the Index to Classification option from the dropdown menu. |
| Patent Alert A free e-mail publication for people interested in patents. Upon subscribing, you will receive periodic updates about inventions recently patented in the United States. Each entry will link to the full-text patent document at the United States Patent Office website. |
| Products comparison manual for trademark users : covering U.S. patents quarterly KF3178.2.P56 |
| Trademark Database (TESS) TESS contains more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks. The system will generate an image for all standard character marks filed through TEAS Plus. |
| U.S. Patent and Trademark Office For over 200 years, the basic role of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) has remained the same: "to promote the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited times to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries." Through the issuance of patents, the USPTO encourages technological advancement by providing incentives to invent, invest in, and disclose new technology worldwide. Through the registration of trademarks, the agency assists businesses in protecting their investments, promoting goods and services, and safeguarding consumers against confusion and deception in the marketplace. |
