UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

Real Estate Resource Guide

CCH Internet Tax Research NetWork
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Current full-text tax news; U.S. Federal and State tax publications; U.S. business entity planning information; international tax information.

The Capital Changes section has weekly Corporate Capital Change Reports, Corporate Capital Histories, and Worthless Securities.

Patron registration required at website in order to access information.

Dictionary of real estate terms HD1365 .F75
EconStats
This site offers economic data, for the U.S. and the world, plus forecasts, stock markets and exchange rates, culled from a huge number of sources. The site includes a Real Estate section under its Data category in the upper left menu area, with REIT's in the U.S., property value by city, prices of farm land by state, mortgage fund flows, European property value by city, with the same for selected cities in Asia.
FannieMae
The largest source of home mortgage funds. This site contains financial statements, details on mortgage-backed securities, housing, and mortgage market outlook data. There is also a subject and author index to their published reports.

Financial & Mortgage Calculators

Over 100 personal finance calculators, including home mortgage, equity, auto loan and lease, CD and investment, debt and credit, and more.

Freddie Mac
A stockholder-owned corporation chartered by Congress to increase the supply of funds that mortgage lenders, such as commercial banks, mortgage bankers, savings institutions and credit unions, can make available to home buyers and multifamily investors. This site contains the Primary Mortgage Market Survey. This survey contains historical data on the weekly average of 30 - year fixed-rate mortgage rate; 1-year ARM; and the 15-year fixed - rate mortgage rate.
Ginnie Mae
The Ginnie Mae guaranty allows mortgage lenders to obtain a better price for their mortgage loans in the secondary market. The lenders can then use the proceeds to make new mortgage loans available. Ginnie Mae guarantees investors the timely payment of principal and interest on MBS backed by federally insured or guaranteed loans mainly loans insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) or guaranteed by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The site provides statutes and regulations, a homeownership guide and mortgage calculators and more.
Hoover's Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news. Includes Hoover's company profile database. Additional information includes lists of officers, short biographies, and corporate financial data. Also includes access to First Research, an online library of industry profiles covering over 700 key industries. Each industry profile provides an Industry overview, information on the competitive landscape, products, operations, and technology, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources and labor statistics.
HUD in Colorado
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development has a regional office in Seattle, which offers information on housing in the state and city. See their Consumer Information, Community Information, and Resources.
The Jack Brause Library
This library research guide, from the Brause Library, at the Real Estate Institute at New York University, provides web links for this topic, for both commercial and residential real estate, on the internet.
International Council of Shopping Centers
Trade and industry associations are often excellent sources for information about their industries, with statistical data and research that is more detailed and comprehensive than in governmental sources. This association represents 40,000 shopping centers in the United States. Some information, the most valuable and useful, is restricted to members only. See Scope USA, the latest EconStats for the U.S. (a two-page PDF report), and many other statistical reports. See also the Location Reports where data such as demographics, businesses, consumer spending, purchase potential, shopping centers, traffic volumes, projections, etc. can be purchased.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Searchable full-text newspapers, directory and other information for business and law. 5000+ sources, 1985 - present.To find company information, go to Business and then to Company Financial where you can obtain financial and other data by for companies. Information is available from twenty different sources (each of which must be searched separately). S.E.C. filings, particularly company 10K annual reports, are a particularly rich source of company as well as industry information. Use your browser's Find command (or Control-F) to locate references to particular terms of interest in 10K filings such as trends, strategy, competitors, industry, etc.
National Association of Industrial and Office Properties
This organization "is a national association with 10,000+ members and an extensive network of 48 chapters that represent the interests of developers and owners of industrial, office and related commercial real estate throughout North America. NAIOP provides communication, networking and business opportunities for all real estate related professionals; provides a forum for continuing education; and promotes effective public policy, through its grassroots network, to create, protect and enhance property values." See their Industry Resources page for links to information about fifteen topics in this field.
National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts
"NAREIT is the national trade association for real estate companies. Members are real estate investment trusts (REITs) and other businesses that own, operate and finance income-producing real estate, as well as those firms and individuals who advise, study and service these businesses." See their News and Data Library sections; some items are available to members only (where you see the padlock icon).
National Association of Realtors
"Working on behalf of America's property owners, the National Association of Realtors provides a facility for professional development, research and exchange of information among its members and to the public and government for the purpose of preserving the free enterprise system and the right to own, use, and transfer real property." See their Research and Industry News webpages.
The New York Real Estate Brochure Collection
The New York Real Estate Brochure Collection was donated to Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library by Yale Robbins, Henry Robbins, and David Magier in 1986. The collection consists of over 9,200 advertising brochures, floor plans, price lists, and related materials that document residential and commercial real estate development in the five boroughs of New York and outlying vicinities from the 1920s to the 1970s.
NuWire Investor
The goal of NuWire is to update investors on the news, trends and opportunities in the alternative investment marketplace by providing research and analysis to help investors in their due diligence and even give them new ideas.
Real Estate and Mortgage Glossary & Definitions
Short definitions of terms in real estate and mortgage transactions.
Real Estate Insights
Trade pubication from the National Association of Realtors. Covers current trends in the real estate market. Includes history and forecast statistics on median home prices, housing starts, consumer confidence and economic growth.
ReferenceUSA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of about 14 million U.S. public and private companies; Directory of 100 million+ U.S. households. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size and location. With this database, it is possible to identify businesses by geographic area and type of business, as well as by number of employees and gross annual sales.
Regional Economic Conditions
This extensive collection of reports and tables, updated eight times a year or quarterly, depending on the data, is provided by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. This data "was originally designed to assist the FDIC in the examination process by providing economic information at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area), and county levels." This site allows anyone with internet access to drill down to any state, MSA, or county to view standard graphs, tables, and maps depicting economic conditions and how they have changed over time. Economic data is arranged by geography. Start by choosing a state, such as Washington, from the dropdown menu on the left-hand side of the screen. Data includes industry activity, employment and income, real estate activity, selected commodity prices, and more. For a quick state summary, see the Washington State Profile.
Retail Traffic
This webpage is the online site for the magazine Retail Traffic, formerly known as Shopping Center World. The site offers information, news and trends, demographics, consumer behavior, retail real estate development, and more, much of it readily available and free. See the tabs for news, design, finance, research, retailing, and development for collections of articles on these topics, from sources beyond Retail Traffic itself.
U.S. Housing Markets
This site contains data on building permits for America's busiest single-family and multifamily markets and for rental vacancy rates.
Thomson ONE
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Formerly Investext, ThomsonONE provides company and industry research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage firms and research organizations worldwide. Also includes news from Reuters on markets, companies, commodities and other business topics. Other services, including quotes and charts, can be accessed via toolbars and tabs. NOTE: THOMSON ONE is only compatible with Internet Explorer
U.S. Market Data (Cushman & Wakefield)
This worldwide real estate firm offers useful brief quarterly reports on the U.S. office and industrial real estate market, for many municipalities. The reports are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format and usually just one page in length.
Your Successful Real Estate Career HD1375 .E33 2003