UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

 

Company Research Resource Guide                                    

Beer Institute (Beer Statistics)
Provides Production of Malt Beverages in the United States Fiscal Years 1990-2000; Economic Contributions of the Beer Industry; Consumption of Agricultural Products at Breweries, 1990 - 2003; Brewers' Almanac 2007, and other useful statistics.

Business & Industry (RDS)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index of full-text articles in trade & business magazines, newsletters, newspapers, 1995 to present.

Business Insights: Global (Gale)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world. Featuring the tools you need to interpret a global business landscape: robust data sets, visualization tools to help you develop data-driven insights, case studies to broaden your perspective on real-life situations. Replaces Business and Company Resource Center

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business periodical database that includes full text and abstracts fromover 1200 scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. 1990 - present. (indexing and abstracts back as far as 1886 are also included). Also includes SWOT analyses.
CAPS Purchasing Performance Benchmarks
CAPS Research publishes several industry-specific, cross-industry, and focused benchmarking reports each year that provide purchasing and supply management professionals with information about the most recent performance metrics. Many of these reports are available online in PDF format.
EDGAR (Filings from the Securities and Exchange Commission)
Allows you to retrieve real-time filings for a specific company and to find key company information. Search for all SEC-registered companies in a particular state, or search for all companies with a specific SIC code.

FACTIVA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) A Dow Jones & Reuters Company, Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers a single content solution with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Fortune 500
Links from Fortune include the FORTUNE 500 Database (1955-2007), the FORTUNE 1000, and the Global 500.
Hoover's Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news. Includes Hoover's company profile database. Additional information includes lists of officers, short biographies, and corporate financial data. Also includes access to First Research, an online library of industry profiles covering over 700 key industries. Each industry profile provides an Industry overview, information on the competitive landscape, products, operations, and technology, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources and labor statistics.
LexisNexis (Classic)
(Business Library) Searchable full-text news, directory and other information for business and law. 20,000+ sources, most 1980s - present. Difficult search interface. *** Password on reserve. Ask at Circulation Desk for assistance.***
LexisNexis Academic
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Searchable full-text news, directory and other information for business and law.   5000+ sources, 1985 - present. Provides access to corporate 10K and Annual reports, national and international business news, and legal research.
Mergent Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles.
NAICS - North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America. This site, from the U.S. Census Bureau, provides keyword searching of the NAICS tables and additional information about the current system and proposed changes.
1997 NAICS and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables
Separate tables provided by the U.S. Census Bureau define correspondence between the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC).
North American Industry Classification System -- Revisions for 2007
Tables provided by the U.S. Census Bureau listing the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Revisions for 2007. All of the titles, definitions, and index terms are searchable by keyword.
PrivCo - the private company financial data authority
(Business Library only) PrivCo provides access to business and financial research on major privately-held companies (MPCs). PrivCo's financial analysts offer in-depth business and financial research on over 100,000 major private corporations. The database provides private company financials and revenues, private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and more.
PROMT
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology database. Provides data on companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. Coverage: 2000 - Present.
The Red Books
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directories of 24,000 advertisers and 13,500 advertising agencies, U.S. and international.
ReferenceUSA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of about 14 million U.S. public and private companies; Directory of 100 million+ U.S. households.
Sporting Goods Manufacturing Research Reports
Data on the sports industry from surveys and research by the Sporting Goods Manufacturing Association. Some free surveys and sample reports, but many reports are available only for a fee.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Data and news on U.S. and some foreign corporations, U.S. stocks, mutual funds, bonds and industries from ten S&P publications. Latest year.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search (OSHA)
Search available from the U.S. Department of Labor Occupational Safety & Health Administration. This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.
ThomasNet
Directory of products/services of 173,000 U.S. and Canadian companies.
Thomson ONE
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Formerly Investext, ThomsonONE provides company and industry research reports written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage firms and research organizations worldwide. Also includes news from Reuters on markets, companies, commodities and other business topics. Other services, including quotes and charts, can be accessed via toolbars and tabs. NOTE: THOMSON ONE is only compatible with Internet Explorer
U.S. Census Bureau - Current Industrial Report
Manufacturing, Mining, and Construction statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Since 1904, the Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
Valuationresources.com: Industry Resources Reports
Industry Information Resources provides links to industry resources and data for over 250 industries. Individual pages for each industry list resources and data available from trade associations, publications, and research firms which address subjects such as industry overview, issues, trends, and outlook, financial ratios and benchmarking, compensation surveys, and valuation resources.