UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

Entrepreneurship/ Small Business Resource Guide

See Also Venture Capital
Business USA
Business USA is government website that provides information to help small businesses. This site includes information about starting a business, exporting, and financing.
The complete small business guide : a sourcebook HD62.7B367
Edward Lowe Foundation
Established by Edward and Darlene Lowe, the foundation is headquartered at Big Rock Valley on 2,500 acres of rural farmland in southwestern Michigan. This site offers an Entrepreneur's Resource Center with a wide variety of information on finance, the stages of entrepreneurship, legal issues, human resources management and more.
Encyclopedia of small business (1998) HD62.7H553

Encyclopedia of Small Business (3rd ed. 2007)

This convenient and exhaustive print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.

Entrepreneur's Glossary
Common words and acronyms for entrepreneurship and small business from Scott Allen,co-author of The Virtual Handshake: Opening Doors and Closing Deals Online.
Entreworld: Kauffman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership
This Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation site provides resources for entrepreneurs. See their Resources for Entrepreneurship, information on Starting a Business, Growing a Business, and Hotlinks. See also their database of abstracts of materials on entrepreneurship education at all levels.
Fambiz.Com
This site provides information about family business issues and challenges. Topics includeestate planning, hiring issues, and sibling rivalries. Fambiz.com is a non-profit organization hosted by Northeastern University's Center for Family Business.
Financial studies of the small business HD2346.U5F55A
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor National Entrepreneurship Assessment 2003 Executive Report
34-page Executive Report from the Kaufmann Foundation in PDF format, providing an assessment of entrepreneurship in the U.S. The report includes an examination of demographics such as gender, education, and household income, and a discussion of cultural and social norms.
Idea Cafe: The Small Business Channel
This site is devoted to the small business owner and provides a wide variety of information on taxes, grants, and starting and running a business. There are also sample business plans available.
National Business Incubation Association
The National Business Incubation Association "is the world's leading organization advancing business incubation and entrepreneurship. It provides thousands of professionals with the information, education, advocacy and networking resources to bring excellence to the process of assisting early-stage companies worldwide." See their Resource Center.
National Dialogue on Entrepreneurship : This week in Entrepreneurship
In the summer of 2003, the Public Forum Institute began work under a grant from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation to develop a National Dialogue on Entrepreneurship to improve awareness of the value of entrepreneurship. The project is building upon the Forum's extensive background in national dialogues on economic issues and, in particular, a series of events and activities since 2000 focusing on women & entrepreneurship. The site compiles articles on a wide variety of topics in entrepreneurship from across the nation.
PrivCo - the private company financial data authority
(Business Library only) PrivCo provides access to business and financial research on major privately-held companies (MPCs). PrivCo's financial analysts offer in-depth business and financial research on over 100,000 major private corporations. The database provides private company financials and revenues, private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and more.
ReferenceUSA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of about 14 million U.S. public and private companies; Directory of 100 million+ U.S. households.
SCORE (Service Corps of Retired Executives)
SCORE is a Resource Partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration, offering advice and news to small business owners. Users can post questions or ask for advice from experienced business executives, or find a counselor by expertise or state. SCORE has 389 chapter offices across the United States.
Steps to small business start-up : everything you need to know HD62.5P565
United States Small Business Administration
The mission of the United States Small Business Administration is to "maintain and strengthen the nation's economy by aiding, counseling, assisting and protecting the interests of small businesses and by helping families and businesses recover from national disasters." The site provides information on counseling opportunities, local resources, and links to a variety of publications helpful to the small business owner. Businesses can post business cards and there is a searchable database.
Women's Business Center
Resources for women entrepreneurs from the United States Small Business Administration. The site includes a Online Womens Business Center, a Womens Network for Entrepreneurial Training, and more.