UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

 

Travel and Tourism Resource Guide

Advances in modern tourism research: economic perspectives G155.A1 A277 2007
Asta Travel Industry Headlines
News, Media Resources and more from the American Society of Travel Agents.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
This site, from Bureau of Transportation Statistics, provides Transportation Data by mode, subject, and agency, and offers a complete list of transportation indicators by subject and series.
Dictionary of travel, tourism and hospitality
Dictionary of travel, tourism and hospitality G155.A1 B38 2002
European Travel Commission
The European Travel Commission (ETC) is a non-profit making organisation with its headquarters in Brussels. Its members are the 39 National Tourism Organisations (NTOs) of Europe, whose role is to market and promote tourism to Europe in general, and to their individual countries in particular. This is ETC's corporate website, which is aimed at industry, government and educational personnel interested in tourism to Europe.
Guide to the Travel & Tourism Industry
Hospitality Net
Hotels Magazine
Mergent Webreports
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) An online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

Mintel Market Reports
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) The Mintel Reports database provides market research containing information on consumer trends, demographic profiles, brand share dynamics and market drivers. There are over 800 individual reports now available in 13 categories, with data covering US and select International Markets. Users can conduct keyword searching by company, topic, industry, product and more.

NOTE: Use restricted to current UCB students and faculty with valid Colorado.edu email address

The evolution of the US airline industry : theory, strategy and policy HE9803.A4 B46 2005
Journeys of discovery in volunteer tourism : international case study perspectives G156.5.V64 J68 2008
Metro Magazine
Topics include Conventions, Marketing, Motorcoach and Rail transportation among others.
National Business Travel Association (NBTA)
NBTA's web site features include a daily news brief, a calendar of events, and a link to Institute of Business Travel Management (IBTM), the education and research foundation of the National Business Travel Association. The site provides access to White Papers developed by its committees and task forces as resources for corporate travel professionals. Some papers are available in PDF format to all users, most are available to NBTA Members only.
National Household Travel Survey
National Household Travel Survey The National Household Travel Survey (NHTS) is a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) effort sponsored by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to collect data on both long-distance and local travel by the American public. The joint survey gathers trip-related data such as mode of transportation, duration, distance and purpose of trip. It also gathers demographic, geographic, and economic data for analysis purposes. Policy makers, state DOTs, metropolitan planning organizations, industry professionals, and academic researchers use the data to gauge the extent and patterns of travel, to plan new investments, and to better understand the implications for the nation’s transportation infrastructure. BTS legislation specifically targets data on the volumes and patterns of passenger transportation.
National Park Service
The U.S. Department of the Interior provides information on the National Park Service, organized into four categories that include Parks & Recreation, History & Culture, Nature & Science, and Interpretation & Education. Topics include park conservation, park histories and more.
National Transportation Library
The mission of the NTL is "to increase timely access to the information that supports transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer activities." Resources in the NTL Digital Collection are primarily technical, research and policy documents provided by federal, state, local, tribal and other government agencies.
Office of Travel and Tourism Industries
The Transport Web
Transport Web offers a collection of databases which are fully searchable, covering subjects such as freight management, transportation logistics and transport software. Other sections include "For sale and wanted", and a "Can You Help?" section to post transport related questions and queries.
Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)
(Business Library Only)

Extensive statistical marketing, business and economic information for over 200 countries.

Use restricted to CU Staff, Faculty and Students

Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report 2009
The rankings are based on the Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Index (TTCI), which measures the different regulatory and business-related issues that have been identified as levers for improving travel and tourism competitiveness in countries around the world.
Travel Industry Association of America
The Travel Industry Association of America serves as "a voice and resource for all components of the travel industry while promoting and facilitating U.S. Travel." The association wesite provides tourism facts, infomration on meetings and events, Travel Research and links to Travel publications.
U.S. Department of Transportation
This site provides links to the latest news from the Department of Transporation, as well as Dockets and Regulations, infomration on transporation safety and more.
World Travel and Tourism Council
The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) is the forum for business leaders in the Travel & Tourism industry. With Chief Executives of some one hundred of the world's leading Travel & Tourism companies as its Members, WTTC has a unique mandate and overview on all matters related to Travel & Tourism. WTTC works to raise awareness of Travel & Tourism as one of the world's largest industries, employing approximately 220 million people and generating over 9.4 per cent of world GDP.