UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

Biotechnology Resource Guide

About Biotech
This site is part of the offerings of the National Health Museum, intended to provide high school biology and life science teachers access to their colleagues, scientists, and critical sources of new scientific information via the World Wide Web. The program was originally developed and launched by Genentech Inc., a leading biotechnology company that discovers, develops, manufactures and markets human pharmaceuticals for significant unmet medical needs." This site is a good starting point for understanding the biotechnology industry, with links to the chronology of biotech, biotechnology in pharmaceuticals, food, farms and forensics, and biotech issues and ethics.
Biotechnology Industry Organization
BIO was created in 1993 through the merger of the Association of Biotechnology Companies and the Industrial Biotechnology Association. The goal was for the entire industry—from young startups to established companies—to speak with one voice for the industry on such issues as FDA reform, reimbursement policy, national healthcare policy, regulation of biotech crops, and small business and economic development issues.
Business & Industry (RDS)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index of full-text articles in trade & business magazines, newsletters, newspapers, 1995 to present.

Business Insights: Global (Gale)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world. Featuring the tools you need to interpret a global business landscape: robust data sets, visualization tools to help you develop data-driven insights, case studies to broaden your perspective on real-life situations. Replaces Business and Company Resource Center

Encyclopedia of American industries HD9721.E53
Encyclopedia of Global industries HD2324 .E53
Encyclopedia of emerging industries HD2324 .E527
 
LexisNexis Academic
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Searchable full-text newspapers, directory and other information for business and law.   5000+ sources, 1985 - present.
Mergent Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Current Mergent (Moody's) U.S. (10,000+) and foreign (12,000+) company information, annual reports to shareholders (1997 to date), searchable SEC EDGAR filings (1993 to date) and Country Profiles.
Mergent Webreports
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) An online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities
The NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities (OBA) promotes science, safety, and ethics in biotechnology through advancement of knowledge, enhancement of public understanding, and development of sound public policies. OBA accomplishes its mission through analysis, deliberation, and communication of scientific, medical, ethical, legal, and social issues.
ReferenceUSA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of about 14 million U.S. public and private companies; Directory of 100 million+ U.S. households.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
(Business Library only) Database of U.S. and some foreign corporations, U.S. stocks, mutual funds, bonds and industries from ten S&P's publications. Latest year.
Yahoo! Finance Industry Center
A good source for industry information as well as on the companies in industries. Under Healthcare, see Biotechnology & Drugs, for a list of companies in the industry, leaders and laggards, top stock performers, market capitalization rankings, industry statistics, etc.