UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

Banking Resource Guide                                  

American Banker's Association
The American Bankers Association is the primary U.S. banking trade association. Its site offers a timeline of both the association's and the banking industry's history, information about trends, legislation, regulation, and major issues impacting financial institutions.
America's Community Bankers
America's Community Bankers is an independent national trade association that represents the nation's community banks of all charter types and sizes. ACB members pursue progressive, entrepreneurial and service-oriented strategies in providing financial services to benefit their customers and communities." See their Tools and Resources information and Web Sites of Interest.
Bank & thrift branch office data book. Summary of deposits.
Southwest region : office deposits and addresses of FDIC-insured institutions (Campus-wide/Remote Access) 1994 - present
Bank Rate Monitor
Comprehensive rate information for mortgages, credit cards, auto loans, savings, home equity, internet banking, Y2K, etc., as well as "how to" information on topics such as calculating your payment, or checking your bank. Also included are Special Reports, rates from 4,000 institutions, news, and basic information on banking for consumers.
Banking Information Source (Proquest)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) ProQuest Banking Information Source combines the currency of the Internet and the perspective of industry journals to provide the ultimate financial services research tool. With over 450 of the most authoritative sources of information, there is simply no better way to keep informed.
BanxQuote
Compare mortgage and loan rates, and key money rates from banks nationwide.
Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. The site provides news, policy, regulations, publications and educational material.
The commercial banking regulatory handbook KF974.S24
The dictionary of banking : over 5,000 terms defined and explained. HG151.W64
Encyclopedia of banking & finance. HG151.M8
FDIC Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
The U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation's mission is to maintain the stability of and public confidence in the nation's financial system. To achieve this goal, the FDIC was created in 1933 to insure deposits and promote safe and sound banking practices. The site includes information on consumer protection and industry analysis.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Banking Review The FDIC Banking Review features academic research on the business of banking, supervision, resolution, deposit insurance, and banking policy.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Statistics on banking
1934 - present
House Committee on Banking and Financial Services
The Committee oversees the entire financial services industry, including the securities, insurance, banking, and housing industries. The Committee also oversees the work of the Federal Reserve, the Treasury, the SEC, and other financial services regulators. The site offers links to information on subcommittees, legislation, hearings, and other documents.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty. The site includes news and IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
Mortgage-X: Prime Rate Historical Data
Mortgage (ARM) Indexes including historical Data (Prior to 1990), and The Prime Rate historical data starting from December of 1947.
NIC National Information Center
The National Information Center (NIC) provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the U.S. The NIC includes the organizational structure of financial institutions and financial information for some of those institutions. Historical information is available on the structure of all the institutions. Financial information is available for selected time periods.
Sheshunoff banks and S&Ls of Colorado. HG2611.C6.B28
The Thorndike encyclopedia of banking and financial tables. HG1626.T491
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
(Business Library only) Historical financial information for major companies, banks, government bonds & stock exchanges; economic data, 1929-  & business cycle indicators, 1959-  . Use restricted to current CU Boulder campus students and faculty.

World Bank e-Library
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) World Bank E-Library allows users to access The World Bank Publication's entire output since the beginning of April 2000 plus all new documents. While there isn't an exact date range for the content, the oldest documents are circa the late 1980s. As of January 2004, over 1200 titles of reports, books and documents are included in the E-Library. Statistical documents like the World Development Indicators and Global Development finance are available as PDF files as well.