UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 


Demographics Resource Guide

American Factfinder (US Census Bureau)
Census data including population, housing, economic, and geographic data, searchable by city, town, county or zip code.
American incomes : demographics of who has money HC110.I5 A447
Business & Industry (RDS)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index w/ abstracts & some full-text of articles in trade & business magazines, newsletters, newspapers, 1995 to present.
CEDIS : Colorado Economic and Demographic Information System
Colorado Economic and Demographic data searchable by state, Region, County, Municipality and Special Region. Data includes population, housing, employment, financial, income/earnings, tax base rates and more.
Census Bureau (includes Economic Census)
The Census Bureau offers a wealth of social, demographic and economic information. Their home page includes the American FactFinder, Statistical Abstract of the United States, and the City and County Databook (selected tables only). Data can be accessed by topic through the Subjects A-Z link. Reports from the Current Population Survey can be found on the CPS page jointly sponsored by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Researchers can use the DataFerret to request categories of records from the Current Population Survey, SIPP, PUMS and other data sets for local analysis using SPSS or other statistical analysis software. The Bureau also runs theAmerican Community Survey, which monitors selected communities between each decennial census, and the Economic Census, which "provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years, from the national to the local level.
Chambers of Commerce in Colorado
Includes links to local Colorado Chambers of Commerce organized alphabetically by geographic area.
Colorado by the Numbers
This site provides an online statistical abstract for the State of Colorado. The table of contents provides access to a large number of topical statistics, from age and agriculture to vital statistics and water.

County and City Data Book: 2007

Official population and housing data from the Census including All U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 or more, and inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants. (Also available on CD ROM)

Demographics USA (County and Zip Code Editions) HF5415.2 .S8

ePodunk (TM)

Detailed, easily browsable profiles of cities and counties across the U.S. are the specialty of ePodunk, which has grown to include data on airports, cemeteries, museums, and other institutions as well. Profiles include historical postcard images from the Making of America project and all imaginable statistics at the city and county level: income, educational level, economic, crime. Not only does the site link to useful municipal/county government and chamber of commerce sites, but it also displays or links to harder-to-find information like local media outlets, community organizations, political reports, historical weather information, support for libraries, a “gay index” based on the Gay and Lesbian Atlas, films shot in the area, and celebrity residents.

IRS Statistics of Income Tax Stats - SOI Bulletins

MapStats

Profiles with data from many Federal sources for your state and county from the U.S. Census Bureau.

National Center for Education Statistics (IES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Health Statistics Fast Stats A-Z
The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
National Compensation Survey Publications List (includes Denver, Boulder and Greeley, CO)
From the U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics, this site provides data on compensation, wages, benefits, and a wide variety of information from special surveys.
Occupational compensation survey--pay and benefits. Denver-Boulder-Greeley, CO
(Campus-wide/RemoteAccess)
ProQuest Statistical Insight
(Campus-wide/RemoteAccess) The three components of the database are American Statistical Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Includes full text of many publications.
Social Explorer
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Description Visually displays the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. Includes data on the age, gender, sex, race, ethnic origin, education, employment, occupations and housing of the U. S. population. It also provide access to data on the number of congregations and adherents by religion for 1980, 1990, and 2000. During 2008 the site will also be adding data from the 2005 American Community Survey. Registered users can create slide shows with interactive maps that can be viewed, queried and manipulated on the site. Demographic patterns throughout American history spring to life in the form of reports, maps, and animations.

State & County QuickFacts

Quick, easy access to Census facts about people, business, and geography from the U.S. Census Bureau.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book

Comprehensive data for states and metropolitan areas from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The National Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Tables include data on African-Americans, Native Americans, Asian, Pacific Islander, and Hispanic or Latino populations and more. Statistical abstracts are available from 1878-present. Selected international data are also included. (Also available in print HA202 .U562 -- most recent available at circulation desk.)
TableBase
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index w/ full data of tables/graphs/charts from U.S. and international business magazine articles and other statistical sources, mid-1990s to present.

USA Counties

Almost 6,000 data items for all counties from the US Census Bureau.

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics Compensation and Working Conditions Online
U.S. Department of Labor Report on the American Workforce
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
(Business Library Computers) Historical financial information for major companies, banks, government bonds & stock exchanges; economic data, 1929-  & business cycle indicators, 1959- Use restricted to current CU Boulder campus students and faculty. Submit your colorado.edu email address on WRDS website to receive WRDS login instructions.