

|
 |
 |

About the Libraries > Libraries & Departments >
Import/Export Resource Guide
American Association of Exporters and Importers
For 80 years the American Association of Exporters and Importers has been the national voice of American
business in support of fair and open trade among nations. AAEI is the only national association dedicated
exclusively to representing the interests of both U.S. exporters and importers before U.S. government agencies,
Congress, international organizations, and foreign governments." "AAEI's members include manufacturers,
distributors, and retailers of a broad spectrum of products including chemicals, electronics, machinery,
footwear, automobiles and automotive parts, food, household consumer goods, toys, specialty items, textiles
and apparel, and footwear. AAEI membership also comprises organizations serving the international trade
community such as carriers, customs brokers, freight forwarders, banks, attorneys, and insurance firms.
See their News and Related Links sections.
|
| Euromonitor Global Market Information Database (GMID)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access)
Extensive statistical marketing, business and economic information for over 200 countries. |
Export Assistance and Exporter Information
This site, with information provided by the Minnesota District Export Council, provides export tools, export
information and resources on Minnesota exporting. The export tools section includes a how-to area, export
documentation (with generic documents, NAFTA documents, shippers export declarations), and examples. Export
information includes explanations of HS schedules and tariff rates, international market research, how to find
export statistics, and service export resources. |
Export/import procedures and documentation HF1416.5.J64
|
Federation of International Trade Associations
The Federation of International Trade Associations was founded in 1984 and fosters international trade by
strengthening the role of local, regional, and national associations throughout the United States, Mexico and
Canada that have an international mission. This organization includes over 450 independent international
associations. Its website seeks to "provide the most content-rich international trade site" and "provide a
comprehensive global trade shop featuring goods and services needed by those involved in international trade." See their Trade Leads and Global Trade Shop. |
Foreign Trade Statistics
This U.S. Census Bureau site is a good starting point for accessing current and historical foreign trade
statistics, balance of trade information, top trading partners, as well as general foreign trade information
including requirements for forwarding, U.S. export regulations, various foreign trade regulations, etc. |
Import/export : how to get started in international trade HF1416.N45
|
Import/Export Resources
This pathfinder resources guide, from the Business Information Center at the Chicago Public Library, offers
general information resources, print directories, country guides, statistics sources, periodicals, special
issues, indices, bibliographies and other information on this topic. |
Imports/Exports History Database
This website, from the Oregon State University Libraries' GovStats, contains the value and quantity of
commodities imported or exported from 1993 to 2000. Users can select either the Imports or Exports database. |
Import handbook : a compliance and planning guide HF1455.I484
|
Massachusetts Institute for Social and Economic Research
This University of Massachusetts site, called MISER, provides "export and import statistics to clients located
across the U.S. and around the world. Each quarter MISER produces its state export data series. MISER also
provides monthly exports and imports by detailed Harmonized System commodity code." Some of their statistical
products are restricted to members but some of it is free. See their Foreign Trade Database, and Foreign
Trade Database Export Data and, in particular, January 2003 year-to-date U.S. Exports by State. |
National Association of Export Companies
Founded in 1965 in New York City, NEXCO's mission is to provide the international trade community with a
dynamic forum for networking, business solutions and advocacy." See their Web Resources for what they call the
"most comprehensive searchable database of International Trade Web Resources on the Internet," with
"more than 4000 links to International Trade / Import-Export Web sites ... annotated and indexed." |
National Customs Brokers & Forwarders Association
This organization, more than 100 years old, includes 600 customs brokers and freight forwarders in the
United States. See their list of Useful Links. |
Small Business Exporters Association
This organization is a council of the larger National Small Business United, consisting of 65,000 companies
engaged in exporting from the United States. See their Classifying Your Products for Export, Starting an Export
Company, Incoterms: Rules for Trade Logistics, and Foreign Trade Zones: U.S. Customs Procedures & Requirements. |
Statistical Resources on the Web
This University of Michigan Library site, provided by their Government Documents Center, offers links to
statistics on an enormous number of topics. See their Foreign Trade statistical sources links. |
Trade Data Online
This Canadian government site provides a resource for trade data by trade type, by U.S. or Canada or province,
by time period, by trading partner, by value and by product, with data from the U.S. Census Bureau and
Statistics Canada. See also their guide to Exporting resources. |
TradePort
This organization, funded by the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration, with
significant assistance from the U.S. Commercial Service, the California Trade and Commerce Agency, and other
sponsors, provides information on Getting Started, Researching Markets, Rules of Trade and Financing Exports,
and more. Especially valuable is their Market Research Library. |
U.S. Customs Service
This website provides an overview of import and export issues related to the U.S. Customs Service.
You will find links with information on duty rates, HTS, rulings and regulations, small importer, publications
and forms. There is also a link to ports of entry by state. |
U.S. Tariff Database
This U.S. International Trade Commission site provides tariff and trade data for specific products. For
interactive trade data, go to their Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb (free registration required).
See also the Commission's homepage, its Information Center and its Publications and Reports, including the
Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States. |
U.S. International Trade Administration
This agency, part of the U.S. Commerce Department, assists the U.S. business community in selling its products
and services abroad, in all areas of export management including trade agreements and trade opportunities.
See the export information at their Trade Information Center, including their Export Programs Guide, and
the export Trends Tables, Resources and References, and State Exports to Countries and Regions. For trade
statistics, see the new TradeStats Express. For imports, see their Import Administration for laws and
regulations, statistics, document library, and glossary of terms and phrases. This agency also publishes
the periodical Export America. |
World Trade Centers Association
The World Trade Centers Association is a not-for-profit, non-political association that fosters the WTC
concept and develops inter-WTC cooperative programs. WTCA membership includes nearly 300 WTCs in almost 100
countries. Over 750,000 companies are affiliated with WTCA members worldwide." See their online World Trade
Library for links to international trade-related websites on the Internet. |
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization, with 145 member nations, is the only global international organization dealing
with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk
of the world's trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and
services, exporters, and importers to do their business. See their Trade Agreements and Import Licensing
sections. |
|
 |
 |