UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 


Industry Resource Guide

American Frozen Food Institute
Facts and Statistics, Frozen Food Trends, Dietary Guidelines and more.
Associations Unlimited
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of over 400,000 U.S. and international membership associations.
Beer Institute (Beer Statistics)
Provides Production of Malt Beverages in the United States Fiscal Years 1990-2000; Economic Contributions of the Beer Industry; Consumption of Agricultural Products at Breweries, 1990 - 2003; and other useful statistics.
Business & Industry (RDS)
(Campus-wide/RemoteAccess) Index w/ abstracts & some full-text of articles in trade & business magazines, newsletters, newspapers, 1995 to present.

Business Insights: Global (Gale)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world. Featuring the tools you need to interpret a global business landscape: robust data sets, visualization tools to help you develop data-driven insights, case studies to broaden your perspective on real-life situations. Replaces Business and Company Resource Center

Encyclopedia of American industries (2001) HD9721.E53

Encyclopedia of American Industries Online (4th ed., 2005)

A two-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume 1 covers manufacturing industries; Volume 2 addresses non-manufacturing and service industries. For general and business interest.

Encyclopedia of global industries HD2324 .E53
Encyclopedia of emerging industries HD2324 .E527
First Research Industry Profiles
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) First Research Industry Profiles include an Industry overview, information on the competitive landscape, products, operations, and technology, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources and labor statistics.
Frost and Sullivan
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Database of market research reports and forecasts. Strong in medical and information & communication technology (ICT) research. NOTE:Frost and Sullivan may require user sign-in. If the 'Sign In' menu option in the top right corner is activated, you will be prompted to enter your first and last name, as well as a valid University of Colorado email address.
Fuel Oil and Kerosene Sales from the Energy Information Administration
 
Industry norms and key business ratios HF5681.R25.I53

Manufacturing and Distribution USA (4th ed., 2006)

Statistics on more than 500 SIC and NIACS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Information is compiled from the most recent government publications and includes projections, maps and graphics.

Mergent's industry review HG4961 .M71
Mineral Revenues Report On Receipts From Federal And Indian Leases 1993 - 2000
NAICS - North American Industry Classification System
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America. This site, from the U.S. Census Bureau, provides keyword searching of the NAICS tables and additional information about the current system and proposed changes.
1997 NAICS North American Industry Classification System and 1987 SIC Correspondence Tables
Separate tables provided by the U.S. Census Bureau define correspondence between the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC).
NAICS North American Industry Classification System -- Revisions for 2002
Tables provided by the U.S. Census Bureau listing the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Revisions for 2002. All of the titles, definitions, and index terms are searchable by keyword.
North American Industry Classification System -- 2007
NAICS 2007 is exactly the same as NAICS 2002 for thirteen of the twenty sectors. There was restructuring within part of the information sector. Industry changes affect the boundaries of three sectors.
National Ski Areas Association Industry Statistics

Simmons NCS
Contains media audience and market survey data collected through interviews and questionnaires covering consumer product, media, and lifestyle preferences. Utilized to determine the probable audience for certain products or services.

Sporting Goods Manufacturers Association
Data on the sports industry from surveys and research by the Sporting Goods Manufacturing Association. Some free surveys and sample reports, but many reports are available only for a fee.
SRDS Online
(Business Library only) Directories with advertising rates, contact info and circulation/audience audit data for magazines, newspapers, radio stations, Internet sites and marketing list vendors. At the welcome page click where it says “Click here to access SRDS Services”.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Database of U.S. and some foreign corporations, U.S. stocks, mutual funds, bonds and industries from ten S&P's publications. Latest year.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search (OSHA)
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search available from the U.S. Department of Labor Occupational Safety & Health Administration. This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.
TableBase (RDS)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index with full data of tables/graphs/charts from U.S. and international business magazine articles and other statistical sources, mid-1990s to present.
ThomasNet
Directory of products/services of 173,000 U.S. and Canadian companies.
United Nations Industrial Development Organization Industrial Governance and Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau - Current Industrial Report
Manufacturing, Mining, and Construction statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Since 1904, the Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library

Collection of Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, Market Updates, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, Industry/Regional Reports from the U.S. Commercial Service. The Library contains more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.  Access to reports may require account registration on the Market Research Library website.   The website supports email alerts that send an email to the user when a report in an area of interest is updated.

Valuationresources.com
Industry Information Resources provides links to industry resources and data for over 250 industries. Individual pages for each industry list resources and data available from trade associations, publications, and research firms which address subjects such as industry overview, issues, trends, and outlook, financial ratios and benchmarking, compensation surveys, and valuation resources.