UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

Business Ethics Resource Guide                                    

BELL: The Business Ethics Links Library
BELL is a comprehensive starting point for research in corporate ethics and social responsibility. The database provides access to codes of ethics for U.S. companies and trade and professional associations, ethics sites at college and university business programs, industry information resources, and company promotion of social responsibility covering such topics as arts assistance, environmental clean up, charitable giving and community programming.
BEN: The Business Ethics Network
The mission of the BEN project is to improve the "effectiveness of corporate campaigns worldwide in order to make business practices more ethical in terms of the environment, health, social justice, and labor." The website is updated daily with news and articles about current issues and events related to business ethics. Case studies, reports, and audio-visual materials are also available within the "Campaigns & Victories" and "Media & Resources" tabs.
Better Business Bureau Online
Since the founding of the first Better Business Bureau (BBB) in 1912, the BBB system has proven that the majority of marketplace problems can be solved fairly through the use of voluntary self-regulation and consumer education. The site offers consumer business tips, information on dispute resolution, and reports that provide information on over 2 million organizations.
The Blackwell guide to business ethics HF5387.B55
Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
This site is one of the fastest ways to find information about the exploitive practices of 4000 businesses worldwide, which would be difficult to locate by other means. Users can begin searching by company name, issue, country, or topic. Balanced coverage is provided via news, announcements, and special resources while providing responses from the accused companies. By making negative enterprise behavior more transparent, the Business & Human Rights Resource Centre may help stop companies’ human rights abuses.
BusinessEthics.ca
This site contains links to about several dozen sources of information, part of a larger web site on applied ethics, maintained Professor Chris McDonald at Saint Mary's University, in Halifax, New Brunswich, Canada.
Business for Social Responsibility (BSR)
BSR is an international organization which works with its global network of more than 250 member companies to develop sustainable business strategies and solutions through consulting, research, and cross‐sector collaboration. See their links for “Research” and “Resources.”
CasePlace
A resource for case studies, syllabi and innovative teaching materials on business and sustainability— from corporate governance to sustainable development, CasePlace is an initiative of the Aspen Institute’s Center for Business Education which also sponsors the Beyond Grey Pinstripes report on MBA programs.
The Corporate Social Responsibility Manual HD60.5.G7 C69
CorpWatch
CorpWatch investigates and exposes corporate violations of human rights, environmental crimes, fraud and corruption around the world. We work to foster global justice, independent media activism and democratic control over corporations.
CSRWire
CSRwire is the leading source of corporate social responsibility and sustainability news, reports and information. CSRwire members are companies and NGOs, agencies and organizations interested in communicating their corporate citizenship, sustainability, and socially responsible initiatives to a global audience through CSRwire's syndication network and weekly News Alerts. CSRwire content covers issues of Diversity, Philanthropy, Socially Responsible Investing (SRI) Environment, Human Rights, Workplace Issues, Business Ethics, Community Development and Corporate Governance.
Eighty exemplary ethics statements HF5387.M876
Eldis: Corporate Responsibility Resource Guide
Eldis provides news, reports and information on international development issues and maintains an excellent resource guide on corporate responsibility. Eldis, formerly the Electronic Development and Environment Information System, is one of a family of knowledge services from the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex (UK).
Ethics Resource Center (ERC)
An 87‐year old nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions, ERC is the home of the biennial National Business Ethics Survey, the most exacting longitudinal research effort examining organizational ethics from the employee perspective.
Fairness.com
Fairness.com provides database resources, message boards, and searchable article links for exploring a wide variety of fairness-related topics in fourteen broad categories.

Human Rights Campaign Corporate Rights Index 2010
The HRC Corporate Equality Index is a tool to measure how equitably companies are treating their gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender employees, consumers and investors.

Institute of Business Ethics
The Institute of Business Ethics is based in the United Kingdom and was established in 1986 to encourage high standards of corporate and business behaviour and the sharing of best practice. The institute publishes books and reports on business ethics.
Institute for Global Ethics
The Institute promotes ethical behavior and integrity in schools, corporations and governments through research and programming. It includes the Center for Corporate Ethics which provides consulting services to businesses including “ethical fitness” training.
Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility
For thirty-eight years the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility (ICCR) has been a leader of the corporate social responsibility movement. ICCR's membership is an association of 275 faith-based institutional investors, including national denominations, religious communities, pension funds, foundations, hospital corporations, economic development funds, asset management companies, colleges, and unions. ICCR and its members press companies to be socially and environmentally responsible. Each year ICCR-member religious institutional investors sponsor over 200 shareholder resolutions on major social and environmental issues.
International Business Ethics Institute (IBEI): Business Ethics Primer
An excellent introduction to business ethics and corporate responsibility, this primer defines key terms and concepts and provides helpful background information. The Institute promotes business ethics and
corporate responsibility through educational resources and activities such as the Roundtable Discussion Series and the International Business Ethics Review. See also their helpful link for “Resources.”
International Labour Organization Business and Social Initiatives Database
This searchable database is available through the Multinational Enterprises unit of the International Labour Organization and provides links and documents relating to ethical issues in the areas of labor, employment and corporate social responsibility around the world.
KLD Research & Analytics, Inc. EMS Database
(Campus-wide/Remote Access - only on computers with full Microsoft Access installed) Microsoft Access database of corporate envivornmental policy that includes information about EMS policies and auditing and internal practices searchable by company name. To access the database, users must agree to the user license, open the data file, and also agree to the "WinZip License" when it appears on the screen. Users with Microsoft Access 2003 will get error messages unless security is disabled. NOTE: Data was last updated by KLD in 2002.
KLD Research & Analytics, Inc. Corporate Ratings Spreadsheet
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Excel spreadsheet of KLD corporate Ratings. To access the spreadsheet, users must agree to the user license, open the data file, and also agree to the "WinZip License" when it appears on the screen. (NOTE: If file is locked, click "Read Only" to open.)
Social Investment Forum
An association dedicated to advancing the practice and growth of socially responsible investing. Forum members provide portfolio selection analysis, shareholder advocacy and community investing. The link for “Research & Tools” provides excellent overviews, fact sheets and research reports.”
Society for Business Ethics
An international organization of scholars and others interested in business ethics, the Society provides a forum for those interested in research, teaching, or the practical application of ethical principles and concepts to the management of businesses. The Society also publishes the scholarly journal Business Ethics Quarterly and provides lists of experts and job openings.

Risk Management Research Report
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Risk management is a growing area of scholarship with a high and steadily increasing volume of publications. The purpose of Risk Management Research Report (RMRR) is to survey and screen this flow of publications and to present extended scholarly summaries of today’s most important scholarly work in a convenient format on a timely basis.
Each issue features approximately 15 of the most important scholarly articles in risk management published within the preceding quarter.

United Nations Global Compact
A strategic policy initiative for businesses that are committed to aligning their operations and strategies with ten universally accepted principles in the areas of human rights, labor, environment and anticorruption.The ten principles are derived from The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Labour Organization's Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work, the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development and the United Nations Convention Against Corruption.

World’s Most Ethical Companies
This ranking is produced by the Ethisphere Institute, an international think‐tank dedicated to the creation, advancement and sharing of best practices in business ethics, corporate social responsibility, anti‐corruption and sustainability. The Institute’s associated membership group, the Ethisphere Council, is a forum for business ethics that includes over 200 leading corporations, universities and institutions based upon KLD’s SOCRATES database of US company analysis.

100 Best Corporate Citizens
This annual list is edited by Corporate Responsibility Officer magazine and ranks companies based on how well they perform in eight categories. The scores draw on both financial information and measures of corporate social performance. The financial component is based upon annualized 3‐year shareholder return. Environmental, social and governance performance ratings are based upon KLD’s SOCRATES database of US company analysis.