UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

This page is no longer maintained by the Business Library, to find more current information on Career Resources, see the How Do I?...Career Information page.


A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

 

Career Resources Resource Guide                                    

America's Career InfoNet
This site focuses on occupations, industries, and state information, allowing users to build a profile with employment, wages, and skills; find high-growth and high-wage occupations by state or nationwide, and by education level; and create an industry profile with information about future employment growth and industry resources. By state users can search industries with the largest employment, industries projected as fastest-growing, and industries projected to decline.
America's Job Bank Info
Search for job listings by zip code or category, or by keywords and geographic area. The site also offers guidance on creating resumes, career testing, and training resources.
Artists in the Workforce 1990-2005 (National Endowment for the Arts)
The first nationwide look at artists’ demographic and employment patterns in the 21st century. Artists in the Workforce analyzes working artist trends, gathering new statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau to provide a comprehensive overview of this workforce segment, its maturation over the past 30 years, along with detailed information on specific artist occupations.
American salaries and wages survey HD4975.A447
BrassRing
A human resources tool providing information on technology, consulting, and outsourcing, with a focus on strategic workforce design.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes statistics on National Employment, National Unemployment Rate, State and Local Unemployment Rates, Mass Layoffs, Employment Projections and more.

Careers and Occupations: Looking to the Future (2006 ed., 2007)

This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding careers and occupatiions.

Career Guide to Industries
The Career Guide to Industries, produced by the U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional information.
CareerOneStop
CareerOneStop is a U.S. Department of Labor-sponsored portal that provides career resources and workforce information. With its occupation and industry information, salary data, self-assessment tools, and career exploration assistance, this rich resource will help those exploring career opportunities to make informed choices. It also has useful information for job seekers, students, and career counselors, such as where to file unemployment insurance, locations of career centers, resume advice, and relocating options. This thorough site even has a special section devoted to military transition. Fulfilling its promise to be a one-stop shop, CareerOneStop includes links to state job banks, the online version of Occupational Outlook Handbook, and other useful resources.
CareerJournal.com
The Wall Street Journal Executive Career Site, provides job listings, career tools, and articles about current employment trends in a wide variety of fields.
Career Web
Job listings by field and geographic area; offering online applications, links to schools, an online salary calculator, and more.
Careerbuilder
Search for job listings by keywords and geographic area, or by job category. The site also offers information on career fairs and links to career resources.
Career.edu
Faculty and Graduate Students can submit resumes and publish faculty and postdoctoral positions free of charge on www.Career.edu - a new nonprofit network organized specifically for the academic community.
Cassell careers encyclopedia HF5382.5.G7.C28
Compensation and Working Conditions Online
Includes Rankings of Full-Time Occupations, by Annual Earnings, Occupational Injuries.
ComputerJobs.com
Listing of technology jobs searchable by geographic area or by specialty.
Directory of jobs & careers abroad HF5549.5.E45 G37
Executive Job Market Intelligence 2003 (from ExecuNet)
Features include a Recruiter Confidence Index, Search Firm Hiring Index, and an Executive Employment Outlook.
Great Jobs for Business Majors HF5382.7 .L347
High Tech Job Search
Listing of technology jobs searchable by geographic area or by keyword. Also provides salary information searchable by job category and zip code.
Hoover's Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news. Includes Hoover's company profile database. Additional information includes lists of officers, short biographies, and corporate financial data. Also includes access to First Research, an online library of industry profiles covering over 700 key industries. Each industry profile provides an Industry overview, information on the competitive landscape, products, operations, and technology, finance and regulation, regional and international issues, human resources and labor statistics.
Monster Board
Allows users to search for jobs by keyword and post or search online resumes.
O-net : occupational information network (replaces Dictionary of Occupational Titles)
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) and O*NET OnLine were developed for the US Department of Labor by the National O*NET Consortium. Use O'NET to find occupations using keywords or O*NET-SOC codes, browsing by Job Families, or browsing by O*NET Descriptor, or use a list of your skills to find matching O*NET-SOC occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Provides information about prospective changes in the world of work and the qualifications that will be needed by future employees, and summarizes approximately 250 occupations and includes information on the nature of the work, work conditions, employment statistics, training, education, advancement, job outlook for the next 10 years, earnings, related occupations, and gives addresses of organizations to contact for more information.  
ReferenceUSA
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Directory of about 14 million U.S. public and private companies; Directory of 100 million+ U.S. households.
Salary.com
Salary information searchable by job category and zip code or geographic area.
SalaryExpert.com
Salary information searchable by job category and zip code or geographic area. Also provides a salary calculator.
Salary survey guidebook : finding and evaluating compensation HD4915.S25
SOI : Statististics of Income (1998 - present)
Includes Charitable Bequests, Estate Tax, Gift Tax, Income from Trusts and Estates, Nonresident Alien Estate Tax Returns, High Income Tax Returns, and more.
Yahoo! Careers
Job listings from Yahoo! Search job openings or post an online resume.