UCB Libraries

 

William M. White Business Library

A B C E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W

 

 

Economics Resource Guide                                  

Annual Report of the Bank of International Settlements
This site provides the full text of the most recent Bank of International Settlements Annual Report, BIS Quarterly Review: International Banking and Financial Market Developments, BIS Consolidated Banking Statistics, Conference Proceedings, Policy Papers and more.
Beige Book 2009: Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions
This report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis. Reprots are available 1970-present.
The Budget and Economic Outlook
Business Knowledge Research
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Database of Conference Board research reports in business management and on US and global economic issues.
Business Source Complete
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business periodical database that includes full text and abstracts fromover 1200 scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. 1990 - present. (indexing and abstracts back as far as 1886 are also included). Also includes SWOT analyses.
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business & Economics Portfolio includes Research Insights & Top-Line Indicators from The Conference Board. Economic data coupled with business management and research and insights. Includes Business Cycle Indicators and Consumer Confidence Index.
Conference Board Research Online Collection
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Business Management and Economic Research and Insights is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes topline US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
Congressional Budget Office
Monthly Budget Review, Current Budget Projections, Current Economic Projections, Current Status of Discretionary Appropriations, Historical Budget Data, Glossary of Budgetary and Economic Terms and more./td>
Consumer Price Index Detailed Report Tables
Demographic Yearbook
The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by tshe United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices. The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.
EconLit (CSA)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) Index w/ abstracts of articles in journals, books, dissertations and working papers in economics and finance, 1969 - present.
Economic Indicators (1989 - present)
(also available in business on microfilm - 1948-79, and 1/1982-7/1997; latest print available at Circ desk)
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations. Documents are available as ASCII text and PDF files.
Economic Research Service
This monthly report, presented in a newsletter format, provides current intelligence and forecasts the effects of changing conditions in the U.S. livestock, dairy, and poultry sectors. Topics include current production, consumption, trade, prices received, and more. Periodically, special reports on specific commodity issues also are released in this series.
Economic Working Papers
Econpapers is hosted by the Department of Business, Economics, Statistics and Informatics at rebro University. The site provides access to a large collection of online Economics working papers and journal articles. The majority of the full text files are freely available, but some (typically journal articles) require that you or your organization subscribe to the service providing the full text file.
Federal Open Market Committee
The FOMC controls U.S. monetary policy through open market sale of Treasury securities, regulation of the interest rate charged on loans to commercial banks and other depository institutions, and regulation of amount of funds depository institutions must have on hand against depository liabilities. Policy decisions are made in response to economic dynamics across the U.S. Regional economic conditions are assessed by each Federal Reserve Bank District and reported in the Beige Book: Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Users can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. Using ALFRED, (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data), users can retrieve vintage versions of data that were available on specific dates in history. Currently, vintage data are available for 150 series in 4 categories. The earliest vintage available is December 6, 1996.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) A database of economic information and data for researchers interested in the U.S. economy. This database from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis contains both statistics and analysis of the economy back from 1875 to the present.
Leading Economic Indicators (LEI) and Related Composites
The Conference Board publishes leading, coincident, and lagging indexes designed to signal peaks and troughs in the business cycle for nine countries around the world. This site also provides access to the full text of the Business Cycle Indicators Handbook (2001) in PDF format.
Metalib
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. The business & Economics Collection includes: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), Federal Reserve Board: Finance and Economic Discussion Series (FEDS), Federal Reserve Board: International Finance Discussion Papers (IFDPs), Federal Reserve Board: Reports to Congress, Federal Reserve Board: Speeches and Testimony, Federal Reserve Board: Staff Studies, Federal Sector Appellate Decisions, GAO Reports and Testimony, Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Database. Use the advanced or expert search to access this Business & Economy Collection.
Monthly Labor Review
Monthly Labor Review Online is based on the print periodical, the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. The site mirrors its print counterpart, which covers topics such as the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more (1982-present).
Monthly Retail Trade and Food Services
This site provides current estimates of sales at retail and food services stores and inventories held by retail stores. Reports include the Monthly Retail Trade, Sales and Inventories reports that are released approximately 6 weeks after the close of the reference month, and The Annual Benchmark Report for Monthly Retail Trade and Food Services that is released annually each spring.
Monthly Wholesale Trade: Sales and Inventories - U.S. Census Bureau
Provides data at the United States level showing estimates of sales, inventories on a non-LIFO ("last in-first out") basis, and stock-sales ratios for merchant wholesalers, by major kind-of-business groups, for the current month, previous month, and current month previous year estimates. Data are adjusted for seasonal variations and, in the case of sales, for trading-day differences (2000-2005).
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
This is the home page for the OECD, consisting of representatives of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. Its work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development and science and innovation. This site provides links to OECD publications, including individual country surveys and reviews.
Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 8 volume print edition. In addition, the online Dictionary is a dynamic resource for economists which: allows remote access to members of subscribing institutions; offers search and browse facilities, both full text and advanced, which make it possible to explore the Dictionary with great speed and ease; contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles; features carefully selected and maintained links to related sites, sources of further information and bibliographical citations; incorporates quarterly additions and updates.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
Clearinghouse of online economic resources compiled by Bill Goffe (Dept. of Economics, SUNY Oswego). Includes information on mailing lists, blogs, jobs, grants, teaching resources and more.
Small Business Association - Small Business Economy
Small Business Association - Small Business State Profiles
The economic condition of small businesses in the United States, each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories is illustrated in Small Business Profiles for the States and Territories, available in PDF format from 2000-2005. Each state profile contains sections on the following topics: the number of firms, industry composition, small business income, banking, women and minority business ownership, and employment. For additional information, detailed historical data may be found in the Small Business Economic Indicators.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The National Data Book contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Tables include data on African-Americans, Native Americans, Asian, Pacific Islander, and Hispanic or Latino populations and more. Statistical abstracts are available from 1878-present. Selected international data are also included.
Survey of Current Business
Includes monthly and quarterly cyclical indicator statistics. Tables of economic indicators cover such statistics as personal income, industrial productivity, business sales and inventories, commodity prices, producer prices, labor force, and earnings. Statistical series usually give monthly statistics for the last year and annual statistics for the previous two years.
Treasury Bulletin
Bulletin of the U.S. Financial Management Service, which acts as the U.S. government's money manager. FMS provides centralized payment, collection, and reporting services for the government. The Bulletin provides content on U.S. and international economic issues, the federal debt, U.S. bonds and notes and more.
U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library

Collection of Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, Market Updates, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, Industry/Regional Reports from the U.S. Commercial Service. The Library contains more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.  Access to reports may require account registration on the Market Research Library website.   The website supports email alerts that send an email to the user when a report in an area of interest is updated.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
(Business Library Computers) Historical financial information for major companies, banks, government bonds & stock exchanges; economic data, 1929-  & business cycle indicators, 1959- Use restricted to current CU Boulder campus students and faculty. Submit your colorado.edu email address on WRDS website to receive WRDS login instructions.
World Development Indicators Online (World Bank)
(Campus-wide/Remote Access) The data profiles available here are drawn from the World Development Indicators database. The profiles cover the 208 countries (184 World Bank members and 24 other economies with populations of more than 30,000) and 18 country groups reported on in the World Development Indicators book, CD-ROM and the World Bank Atlas.