Circulation Policy Manual: V
V. Fines and Replacement Charges
- Fines are ONLY charged on reserve items, recalled items and material in specifically designated collections within the Libraries. Fines begin to accumulate on the first day or the first hour after an item is overdue.
The Libraries sends overdue notices as a courtesy reminder. Notices will be sent by e-mail only. It is the responsibility of the patron to notify University Libraries of changes of address. Changing an address with the University Registrar does not immediately change the address in the Libraries database.
- Overdue requested items................$2/day $40 maximum
- 2-hour, 4-hour, 24-hour, 72-hour....$2/hour $40 maximum
All of the above fines will begin on the first day/hour the item is overdue.
Reserve materials should be returned to the same circulation desk from which they were obtained. Failure to do so can result in a fine.
After repeated unsuccessful attempts to recover an overdue reserve or recalled item, an additional charge may be assessed to the borrower. The maximum charge can be two times the current fine or the replacement plus processing cost of the item, whichever is larger. Such charges apply to all patron types.
If a patron believes he/she has returned material that is being billed as overdue, the patron should inform the appropriate Circulation Desk. Library personnel will search for the material but the material will remain on the patron's record until it has been located. If the material is found within the library, it will be removed from the patron’s record. If the material is not found the patron will be assessed a lost book charge.
The University of Colorado is required by law to submit all fine and lost book charges to the State of Colorado's Central Services Collection Agency. Charges are considered past due 30 days after the bill due date.
The collections process was mandated to all State of Colorado agencies on June 4th, 1991 when Governor Romer signed into law Senate Bill 91-140. This law requires all state agencies, including the University Libraries, to submit past due debts to the State of Colorado's Central Services Collections Agency. Central Services pursues collection activity on the account or may assign the debt to an outside agency for collection. University Libraries has no control over when or to what agency Central Services assigns past due accounts.
The Libraries makes the best attempt possible to notify patrons that overdue accounts are to be submitted to the State of Colorado's Central Services Collection Agency. This includes sending notification to the address the library has on file. The library, however, is not responsible when patrons do not notify of address changes.
The Libraries is primarily interested in the return of library material. Credit is given when lost material is returned within one year of the due date. Patrons are responsible for overdue fines and any collections charges. If replacement charges for lost items have been paid, credit may be given if the items are located and returned within six months.
The Libraries initiates and manages pre-collections activity on all non-student accounts. The University of Colorado Office of Student Debt Management initiates and manages collections actions on student past-due accounts. Once an account is submitted to collections, no negotiation with the library is possible. Patrons must direct all correspondence and discussion directly to the specific Collections Agency.
The Libraries will assess a 20% surcharge to all accounts that are sent to collections because approximately that amount is deducted from the collections made.
There will be three categories of charges for replacing materials:
- High Charge: $400.00. This category includes bound volumes of journals.
- Medium Charge: $200.00. This category includes books.
- Low Charge: $50.00. This category includes some government documents
Patrons may negotiate with circulation supervisors or bibliographers to replace lost or damaged materials. Patrons are responsible for a processing charge of $50 in addition to the replaced item.
Replacement copies are only accepted for accounts not currently in Collections.
We do not accept replacement copies for Browsing Collection materials; however, replacement costs are only $25.
If a replacement copy is provided instead of payment for a lost book charge, then the Libraries cannot refund the book charge if the original item is later found. In this situation, the patron may keep the original book or give it back to the Libraries as a donation.
Replacement charges for material that may accompany books or items, such as CD’s or computer discs, must be negotiated with the department head or bibliographer. Cost for the entire item may be assessed.
Books and material that circulate in containers must be returned with the containers. A fine of $25 is suggested if a container must be replaced.
A patron may also be fined $25 if materials are returned that require staff time in order to restore them to their original condition. This might include removing post-it notes, erasing pencil marks, removing tape, etc.
Library patrons who have catastrophic losses of home and property, due to fire, flood, theft, etc., involving library material charged out to them and who are covered by insurance, may have their insurance company reimburse the University Libraries for the full replacement cost of the materials. If the patron is not covered by insurance, the patron may negotiate the replacement costs with a circulation supervisor or bibliographer.