UCB Libraries

"How Do I...?" Guides

 

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  


A
Arguments (Pro or Con), How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find pro or con arguments for writing persuasive, inquiry, or position papers using the CU Libraries resources.

Articles, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find articles on a topic or a specific article from a citation using CU Library resources.

Audio recordings, How do I find  Information
Learn how to find audio recordings using Library resources.


B
Biographical Information, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find biographical information using the CU Library resources.

Book for purchase, How do I suggest  Information
Submit the online form to suggest a book to the Libraries for purchase.

Books, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find books using the CU Library Resources, including Chinook (the CU Library catalog), Prospector, and Interlibrary Loan


C
Career Information, How Do I Find  Information
This page details some resources available from the University Libraries that may help you with your career needs. The page provides resources for: researching a career, researching potential employers, developing resumes and cover letters, as well as other campus services.

Chinook alerts, How do I receive  Information
Learn how to receive personalized new resources alerts from Chinook.

Citation, How Do I Decipher  Information
Learn how to read or interpret a citation in order to locate the article or book within the CU Libraries.

College Rankings, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find college rankings information using CU Library Resources.

Commons software, How do I use  Information
Learn about the applications available on the computers in the Norlin Commons.

Computers and laptops, How do I find  Information
Learn where to gain access to desktop computers and laptop checkout in the Libraries and how to gain access to CU's wifi.

Connect to databases from off campus, How Do I  Information
This video provides information on how to connect to Libraries-provided databases from off campus.

Contact Information, How do I find  Information
Learn how to contact all of the Library departments and how to chat with a librarian for research and reference assistance.

Costumes and fashion resources, How do I find  Information
Learn how to find information on particular costumes and fashion trends through history.


D
Dictionaries, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find a dictionary or thesaurus using the CU Library Resources

Disabilities Services, How do I use  Information
Learn about accessibility to Norlin and the other University Library.

Dissertations or Theses, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to locate dissertations or theses using the CU Libraries resources.

Donate to the Libraries, How do I  Information
Learn how to help the Libraries with different types of donations.


E
Editorial Cartoons, How Do I Find  Information
A basic guide on locating editorial and political cartoons. The guide provides suggested print titles as well as recommended databases, online search engines, and other related sites.

Electronic Books (e-books), How Do I Use?  Information
Learn how to find electronic books (or "e-books") owned by the CU Libraries using the Chinook Library catalog. E-books can be used on computers or mobile devices with internet browsers.

Encyclopedia, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find encyclopedias and encyclopedic information on a variety of different topics using the CU Library resources

ERIC, How do I use  Information
Learn how to access the Education Resources Information Center documents.

Evaluate a Source, How Do I  Information
Learn how to evaluate a source for credibility of the author, validity of the research, and relevance of articles and web sites.


F
Financial Aid or Scholarships, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find financial aid and scholarship resources using CU Library resources, CU campus resources, government resources and more.

Friends of the Libraries, How do I join  Information
Learn how to become a Friend of the Libraries through a donation of any amount.


G
Google Scholar, How do I use?  Information
Learn what Google Scholar is, when to use it, how to connect to full text articles @ CU, and other tips and tricks for getting the most out of your Google Scholar searches.

Google: Using the Advanced Search (Video)  Information
This guide demonstrates how to use the advance search feature in Google.

Government Publication, How Do I Find  Information
This guide can help guide you through the process of finding a government publication here at CU-Boulder. If you need personal help finding a government publication contact us by phone at 303-492-8834 or by email at govpubs@colorado.edu.

Grant and Grant Writing Information, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find information on grants and grant writing using CU Library Resources.


H
Hours of the Libraries, How do i find  Information
Learn what hours all of the University Libraries are open.


I
iGoogle, How Do I add Chinook to  Information
This page provides information on adding a Chinook search box your iGoogle homepage.

Images, How do I find?  Information
Images that can be used in presentations and papers can be hard to find due to copyright laws and because they are not normally indexed like other print material. This How Do I? guide offers hints and tips to help you find many different kinds of images in print and digitally.


J
Jobs in the Libraries, How do I find  Information
Learn how to seek employment with the Libraries.


K
Keywords for Searching, How Do I Choose  Information
Learn how to choose keywords appropriate for your topic to search the databases and catalogs available through the Libraries.


L
Laptops, How do I check out  Information
Learn where on campus you can check out a laptop.

Library Card, How do I get  Information
Learn how attain and use a library card.

Library fine, How do I pay  Information
Learn how to pay your library fine.


M
Maps of the Libraries, How do I find  Information
Learn the locations of all the University Libraries.

Maps, How do I find  Information
Learn how to find maps online and in the Libraries. Learn about the Map Library's collection.

Microfilm, How do I find  Information
Learn where to gain access to Microfilm and how to read them.

Mobile Library Resources, How do I access  Information
Learn how to use your mobile device to start doing research.

Music recordings and sheet music, How do I find  Information
Learn how to gain access to music recordings and sheet music.


N
New Books, How do I find  Information
Learn how to browse the newest materials that the University Libraries have acquired.


P
Phone Number, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find telephone numbers using CU Library Resources.

Plays, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find plays using CU Library Resources.

Print, How do I  Information
Learn where to find printing stations, scanners, and copy machines in the University Libraries. Learn how to print from laptops and from personal computers. Learn how to pay to print and how to pay to make copies.

Public Opinion Information, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find public opinion information (including survey questions and results, survey datasets) using CU Library Resources


Q
QR codes, How do I use  Information
Learn how to use QR codes to attain valuable information regarding the Libraries.

Quotation, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find quotations using CU Library resources.


R
RefWorks, How Do I Use  Information
Learn how to use RefWorks, the online bibliographic management software provided to the CU community by the University Libraries. Store and organize your citations, format your papers, and create bibliographies within seconds using RefWorks.

Renew books, How do I  Information
Learn how to renew your books online, by phone, by email, and in person.

Research and Scholarship, How do I measure  Information
Learn how to measure the impact of your scholarly research

Reserves, How do I use  Information
Learn how to access Reserves.

Reviews, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find reviews (of art exhibitions, books, dance performances, film and television, theater and musicals) using CU Library Resources.

RSS Feeds, How Do I Use  Information
Learn how to use RSS feeds with this guide. An RSS feed is simply a list of new information from a website. Using RSS, you can collect information in one place rather than visiting various websites.


S
Scholarly or Popular Source, How Do I Determine  Information
Learn how to determine whether or not an article or other work is a scholarly or popular source.

Scripts, How do I find  Information
Learn where to locate TV, film, and theater scripts.

Statistics, How do I find  Information
Learn where to find statistical information by using statistical guides.

Statlab software, How do I find  Information
Learn what applications are availabe on the Norlin Statlab computers located in Norling M350.

Study areas, How do I find  Information
Learn where to find quiet study areas in all of the University Libraries.

Study rooms, How do I reserve  Information
Learn how to reserve or cancel study rooms in the Norlin commons and in the Norlin Library.


T
Technological devices, How do I check out  Information
Learn about the various electronic devices that can be checked out through the Norlin Commons and other University Libraries. Also, find out the loan period for each item and other useful information.

Test Preparation Resources, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find test preparation materials using CU Library Resources.

Textbook, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find a textbook using CU Library Resources

Twitter, How do I use  Information
Learn how to use Twitter for research and to track opinions and moods.


V
Videos or DVDs, How Do I Find  Information
Learn how to find videos or DVDs owned by the CU Libraries, as well as videos available on the Internet, news videos, film reviews, documentary information, advertisements, and more.


W
Writing Center, How do I use  Information
Learn how to get help for your essays by consulting someone in the Writing Center.


Z
Zotero with Engineering VIllage (video), How do I use  Information
This brief video will demonstrate how to use the citation manager, Zotero, with Engineering Village