UCB Libraries

 

 

External Digital Humanities Experts

Trevor Muñoz

Trevor MunozMuñoz is Associate Director of the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities as well as Assistant Dean for Digital Humanities Research at the University of Maryland Libraries. He specializes in issues related to curation of humanities data including data management planning, systems, and best practices. Muñoz is co-editor of a forthcoming guide to resources for Data Curation in the Humanities and co-organized the first Humanities Data Curation Summit intended to promote the development of a sustainable plan for preserving digital humanities research. He holds an MA in Digital Humanities from the Department of Digital Humanities at King’s College London and a MS in Library and Information Science from the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.


 

 

John Unsworth

John UnsworthUnsworth is the Vice-Provost for Library and Technology Services and Chief Information Officer at Brandeis University, where he also is a Professor of English. Previously, he served as the Dean of the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign from 2003 to 2012. Before joining the University of Illinois, he served as the first Director of the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities and was a faculty member in the English Department at the University of Virginia. For his work at IATH, he received the 2005 Richard W. Lyman Award from the National Humanities Center. Unsworth has published extensively on the subject of scholarship in the digital age, and he chaired the American Council of Learned Society’s (ALCS) Commission on Cyberinfrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences. He is also the co-founder of the first peer-reviewed electronic journal in the humanities, Postmodern Culture. Unsworth received a BA from Amherst College, an MA from Boston University, and a PhD from the University of Virginia.

 

 


Katherine Walter

Katherine WalterWalter is Professor and Chair of Digital Initiatives & Special Collections in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) Libraries and co-directs the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at UNL. She has directed many federally-funded research and libraries’ projects, including the National Digital Newspaper Program: Nebraska and the Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Online. With Ken Price, she co-directed the CFW Coker Award-winning project to create an integrated guide to Walt Whitman’s poetry manuscripts. Walter was co-principal investigator with Neil Fraistat (MITH) of centerNet: Cyberinfrastructure for the Digital Humanities, and now co-chairs the international executive council of centerNet. She is a voting member of the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations’ steering committee and past board member for the Association of Computers and the Humanities. She holds an MA in Librarianship and a BA in English and History from the University of Iowa.

 

 

 

CU Presenters

Mark Amerika

Mark AmerikaAmerika has exhibited his interdisciplinary artwork in many venues including the Whitney Biennial, the Walker Art Center, the Denver Art Museum, the Institute of Contemporary Arts in London, the Istanbul Biennale, the Biennale de Montréal, and the American Museum of the Moving Image. His comprehensive mid-career retrospective was recently exhibited at the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Athens. A cult novelist, media theorist, web publisher, and live audio/visual artist who has performed internationally, Amerika is the author of many books of fiction and nonfiction including his recently published book, remixthebook (University of Minnesota Press), and a large collection of artist writings entitled META/DATA: A Digital Poetics (The MIT Press). Amerika is currently a Professor of Art and Art History at the University of Colorado at Boulder and Principal Research Fellow in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Science at La Trobe University. His Internet art can found at his website, markamerika.com

 

 

 

Lori Emerson

Lori EmersonEmerson is Assistant Professor in the Department of English at the University of Colorado at Boulder. She writes on digital literature, experimental American and Canadian writing from the 20th and 21st century, history of computing, and media theory. In addition to directing the Media Archaeology Lab she is currently working on two book projects. The first is a monograph, Reading Writing Interfaces: From the Digital to the Bookbound (forthcoming from University of Minnesota Press, Spring 2014). The second is The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Humanities, co-edited with Marie-Laure Ryan and Benjamin Robertson (forthcoming 2014). Emerson is also co-editor, with Derek Beaulieu, of Writing Surfaces: The Selected Fiction of John Riddell (Wilfred Laurier University Press, 2013) and co-editor, with Darren Wershler, of The Alphabet Game: a bpNichol Reader (Coach House Books 2007).


 

 

Mél Hogan

Mel HoganHogan is a Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Curation at the University of Colorado, Boulder. Her current research revolves around the failures of the (promise of the) archive, data storage centers, media archaeologies, queer and feminist design, and the politics of preservation. As a practitioner, aspects of these same issues are addressed through media arts interventions and research design projects. New explorations include food design and design ethnography. Hogan is also the art director of online and p.o.d. journal of arts and politics, nomorepotlucks.org; on the advisory board of the Fembot collective; on the administrative board Studio XX; a new curator for the Media Archaeology Lab, and a research design consultant for archinodes.com.

 

Deborah Keyek-Franssen

Deb keyek-Franssen

Deborah Keyek-Franssen, Ph.D., is Associate Vice President for Digital Education and Engagement at the University of Colorado System Office. Deborah works with colleagues across the system to establish national leadership for CU in the areas of teaching and learning with technology, online education, massive open online courses (MOOCs), access to higher education, and student success. As a resource to the University of Colorado’s campuses, and in collaborative support of their efforts, Deborah assists with the campuses’ implementation of digital and online education solutions, including MOOCs and other teaching modalities and initiatives. From 2007-2013, Deborah served as the director of academic technology on the CU Boulder campus, where she oversaw strategic planning for the use, implementation, and evaluation of educational technologies, and the evaluation of emerging technologies for potential use in teaching and learning. She serves as the director of the Colorado Learning and Teaching with Technology (COLTT) Conference, and is a co-director of the Colorado Coalition for Gender & IT, which undertakes research and develops programs to increase the number of girls, women, and underrepresented minorities in IT education and work. Deborah is a graduate of Dartmouth College and completed her Ph.D. in German Literature at the University of Michigan, where she also earned a master's degree in Higher Education Administration from the Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education, and a graduate certificate in Women's Studies.

 

 

Kirstyn Leuner

Kirstyn LeunerLeuner is a Ph.D. candidate in English at CU-Boulder. She writes on the romantic novel, the gothic, media archaeology, and travel writing in the 18th and 19th centuries. She is a Fellow of the University of Denver Institute for Digital Humanities and a collaborator with CU Libraries on The Stainforth Project. She helped edit two digital archives -- The Poetess Archive and The Letters of Robert Bloomfield and His Circle -- and co-edits the NGSC blog. Leuner is author of “‘The end of all the privacy and propriety’: Fanny’s Dressing Room in Mansfield Park,” in Bodies and Things in Nineteenth Century Writing and Culture (ed. Katharina Boehm, Palgrave, 2012), and she also has entries on markup languages and "Book and E-text" forthcoming in The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media (eds. Emerson et al., 2014). Her dissertation is a media archaeology project that traces the technological legacies of Romantic-era picturesque travel writing.


 

 

Matthias Richter

Matthias Richter Richter is Associate Professor of Chinese in the Department of Asian Languages and Civilizations. He graduated with a diploma in German and English literature from the University of Jena(Germany) in 1985. After some years as a private and high school teacher, he studied Sinology, Japanology and Philosophy in Munich and Beijing and received a PhD in Sinology from the University of Hamburg in 2000. He taught early Chinese literature and philosophy at several German universities and conducted a three-year research project in manuscript studies at the University of Hamburg. After one year as a Creel Research Fellow at the University of Chicago, he joined CU Boulder in Fall 2007.





 

 

Jennifer Shannon

Jennifer ShannonShannon is an Assistant Professor and a Curator of Cultural Anthropology. She conducts ethnographic fieldwork as well as object collections research, works on exhibits and collaborative projects in the museum, and teaches courses in the Museum and Field Studies program and in the Department of Anthropology. She worked as a Lead Researcher in the Curatorial department at the National Museum of the American Indian before earning her PhD in Sociocultural Anthropology at Cornell University in 2008. Shannon’s research has focused on the relationships between institutions and indigenous peoples involved in collaborative exhibit making as well as efforts of self-representation in Native American communities. Her work focuses on collaborative practice and connecting tribes to museum collections through NAGPRA consultations, co-directed research projects and exhibits, digitizing tangible and intangible heritage, the development of online access to collections, and oral history projects. Through her research and professional work she has had the opportunity to work with diverse indigenous peoples, including the Chicago urban Indian community, the Navajo Nation, the Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation, the Canadian Inuit community of Igloolik, the Australian Aboriginal community in Townsville, the Paiwan tribe on the island of Taiwan, and the Kalinago (or Island Caribs) of Dominica in the West Indies.

 

 

 

Joel Swanson

Joel SwansonSwanson is an artist, designer and writer who currently serves as the Director of the Technology, Arts & Media Program at the University of Colorado, Boulder. He teaches classes on digital art, media theory, and the history of design. He received his Masters of Fine Art at the University of California, San Diego with a specialty in Computing and the Arts. Literary and linguistic theory inform and motivate his work, which ranges from sculpture to interactive installation. Thematically his work explores the nature of language, its materiality, and its modes of signification within physical and virtual forms. Specifically, he revisits the questions posed by many of the Conceptual language artists of the 1960’s and 1970’s, but in light of contemporary digital technologies. His artwork has been exhibited nationally and internationally including at the Denver Museum of Contemporary Art, The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery of Toronto, the North Miami Museum of Contemporary Art and the Orange Country Museum of Contemporary Art.