UCB Libraries

Subject Guide for Environmental Issues -- Science and Policy

Environmental research includes aspects of the following areas of study: air and water pollution, environmental engineering, human health effects, natural resources, biological resources, conservation, law, policy, international relations, economics, and other topics.

 

Because environmental research is interdisciplinary, choosing the right database is key to efficient research. Use the database descriptions to help you make an informed choice. Please contact the appropriate department in the Libraries if you need additional assistance. For more information, contact the Earth Sciences Library.

 

  • Starting Your Research
  • Find Articles
  • Find Books
  • Online Resources
  • Citing

Start your research with reference resources like dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals.

 

+ Dictionaries

These publications provide background information, definitions and explanations of terms.

A Dictionary of Ecology, 2nd ed.
Full-text in NetLibrary

Also available in print: Science Reference QH540.4 .C66 1998

 

Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment
Science Reference QH540.4 .C65 2001

 

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change
Engineering Library Reference GE10 .E536 2001

 

The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
Engineering Library Reference TD9 .W95 2001

Search Chinook to find additional dictionaries:

 

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Sciences Dictionaries

 

 

+ Directories

 

Conservation Directory--National Wildlife Federation
Directory of environmental groups worldwide.

 

National Environmental Directory
Directory of more than 13,000 organizations in the United States concerned with environmental issues and environmental education.

Search Chinook to find additional directories:
Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Policy Directories

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Sciences Directories

 

+ Encyclopedias

These publications provide background information, definitions and explanations of term.

CU Access Science: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia Of Science & Technology

 

CU Alternative Energy

Full-text in Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

CU Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America

Full-text in Gale Virtual Reference Library

Also available in print: Science Library Reference QH77 N56 B43 2001

 

Encyclopedia of Earth

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Earth Sciences Library Reference GE10 E49 1998

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Norlin Reference and Science Library Reference GE10 .E52 2000

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup
Engineering Library Reference TD173 E53 1999

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science / edited by David E. Alexander and Rhodes W. Fairbridge

Earth Science Library Reference GE10 .E528 1999

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Science / John Mongillo and Linda Zierdt-Warshaw

Science Reference GE10 M66 2000

 

CU Encyclopedia of the Atmospheric Sciences

Full-text in Knovel Library

 

CU Pollution A to Z

Full-text in Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

CU Water: Science and Issues

Full-text in Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

CU Water Encyclopedia

Full-text in Knovel Library

 

Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment
Engineering Library Reference TJ 163.235 M55 1997

Search Chinook to find additional encyclopedias:

 

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Policy Encyclopedias

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Sciences Encyclopedias

 

 

+ Handbooks and Manuals

 

Cooper's Comprehensive Environmental Desk Reference

Full-text in Knovel Library

Also available in print: Science Library Reference GE123 .C64 1996

 

CU EnviroNetBase
Over 280 CRC handbooks online.

 

Standard Handbook of Environmental Science, Health, and Technology
Science Library Reference GE123 .S73 2000

Search Chinook to find additional handbooks and manuals:
Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Policy Handbooks Manuals Etc

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Sciences Handbooks Manuals Etc

 

 

 

Engineering Library Home Subject Guides Ask Us How Do I?

 

 

Find Articles & More Article Finder Find it at CU Find Journals in Chinook

 

Find Articles and More--When you need to find articles on a topic

Use the Find Articles and More website to search for a particular database by title, browse an alphabetical listing of databases by title, or find databases by subject.

 

Click to view a list of:

 

Video Video Tutorial: Introduction to Engineering Village

 

Video Video Tutorial: Web of Science

 

Video Video Tutorial: Connect from off-campus

 

Article Finder--When you know the article you need

Author's Last Name: *
Year: *
ISSN: * Click here to find ISSN by entering journal title
Article Title:
Journal Title:
Volume:
   
 

 

Find it at CU

Find it at CU

 

In some article databases, you will see a "Find it at CU" link. Find it at CU will link you from citations to the full text of the desired item in another article database. For more information about Find it at CU, please see the Find it at CU FAQ. Not all databases can be set up to work with Find it at CU.

 

Video Video Tutorial: Using Find it at CU (Finding full-text from a citation)

 

If you do not see a link to Find it at CU, note the name of the publication where the article was published and then check Chinook (the library catalog) to see where the publication is available. [More information on deciphering citations]

Video Video Tutorial: Finding journals in Chinook

 


Search Chinook to find additional journals and other periodicals:

 

 

Library of Congress Subject

Environmental Policy Periodicals

Library of Congress Subject Environmental Sciences Periodicals
Library of Congress Subject Green Technology Periodicals
 

 


Engineering Library Home Subject Guides Ask Us How Do I?

 

 

Library of Congress Classification Search Chinook Prospector Interlibrary Loan

 

Library of Congress Classification

Books in the University Libraries are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system. This system assigns a call number with letters and numbers to each book based on the book's subject. Once you find a good book on your subject, browse the books in that call number range to find books with similar subjects.

 

 

Call Numbers
Subject
GE1-350
Environmental sciences
GE70-90
Environmental education
GE170-190
Environmental policy
GE195-199
Environmentalism. Green movement
GE300-350
Environmental management

 

 

Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can do a title search for a specific book, or a keyword search if you are looking for books on a particular topic. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)  

Chinook Catalog

 

Video Video Tutorial: Searching for books in Chinook

 

Video Video Tutorial: Chinook Keyword Search

For Tips on developing keywords for your topic go to: How do I Choose Keywords for my search

Video Video Tutorial: How to recall/request books that are checked out or at PASCAL

 

Video Video Tutorial: Accessing online books

 


If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials through Prospector, and the items will generally be delivered to Norlin within a few business days.

Video Video Tutorial: Search Prospector

Search Prospector

 


Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/ill/

If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.

Video Video Tutorial: Request through ILL

 

 

Engineering Library Home Subject Guides Ask Us How Do I?

 

These are relevant resources that are freely available on the Web.

Environmental Resources on the Internet--Center for Environmental Journalism/University Libraries

 

Government Publications Library Subject Guide to the Environment and Energy

 

National Library for the Environment

 

Search these websites using this Google Custom Search:

Loading
 

 

 

Engineering Library Home Subject Guides Ask Us How Do I?

 

 

Citation Styles and Manuals RefWorks Tips & Strategies

 

Citation Styles and Manuals

APA

MLA

Turabian (Chicago)

  • Turabian: a form of Chicago Style (PDF document)
  • The Chicago Manual of Style
    16th edition, chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003
    Sections 16 and 17.
    Call number: Z253 .C57 2003

RefWorks

REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 

Video RefWorks Video Tutorials


Tips & Strategies

Pick an Interesting Topic It is easier to express your own opinions and thoughts if you are interested in the topic.

 

Manage Your Time

Many students are tempted to plagiarize because they do not start researching and writing far enough in advance. Start your paper at least 3 weeks before the due date. Plagiarism could compromise your entire academic career. Speak to your professor if you have run out of time.

 

Create a Bibliography as you Research

Record the sources you consult. Include all the bibliographic information needed in your works cited (Author, Title, Pages, Publisher, Year, Volume, Issue).This will help you to cite correctly and to compile your works cited.

 

Take Clear Notes

Designate all direct quotes with quotation marks.

Designate when you are paraphrasing.

Electronic Research and Note taking is the same: Use quotation marks when you cut and paste.

Always note the source/ author.

 

Be Careful with Paraphrasing

Be sure you understand the text.

Do not look at the original source when writing your paraphrase.

Reorganize the information in your own words and in your own style.

Check to be sure you have not used the vocabulary or structure of the original work.

Mention the author near or in your paraphrase.

 

And Remember to Cite:

Any information that was not originally created by you:
  • Quotations
  • Key terms or phrases
  • Ideas
  • Facts not broadly known
  • Images and Sounds
Any material from another source regardless of where you found it:
  • Printed sources
  • Electronic sources
  • Conversation or email
  • Recorded sources
  • Images

 

Engineering Library Home Subject Guides Ask Us How Do I?