UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Anthropology

Find Articles and More

 

The CU Libraries subscribe to a number of article databases that index material related to Anthropology and Archaeology. Selected databases and journals are described below.

Anthropology Databases

EHRAF / Human Relations Area Files

Social Sciences Databases

Ethnic Group Databases

Anthropology Databases (Devoted to Anthropology and Archaeology sources)

AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print. CU

 

Anthropology Plus
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Updated quarterly. CU

 

Abstracts in Anthropology

Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields:

  • Cultural Anthropology
  • Physical Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Linguistics CU
Biological abstracts  
This database includes bibliographic references (records) with abstracts derived from life sciences research journals published worldwide - contains some links to full text articles. Includes many journals not covered in standard Anthropology Indexes. Topics of interest: physical anthropology, ethnobiology, evolution, paleobiology, resource management, and conservation.

 

PrimateLit

The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography).

 

Full-Text Collections

 

Annual Review of Anthropology
Comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leaders in the field of anthropology. CU

 

Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology

This series reports on the scientific, technical, and historical research conducted by Smithsonian staff and their professional colleagues, as well as on the collections of the various Smithsonian museums. Includes Volume 1 (1965) to Volume 48 (2004)

 

JSTOR

A database of selected academic journals, including many in the field of anthropology. It also includes publications in related fields such as Asian studies, ecology, history, and literature, whose content may be relevant to anthropological research. Generally, these files do not include issues published in the last five years.

Human Relations Area Files Databases (Material from the HRAF collection)

EHRAF / HRAF (Human Relations Area Files)

EHRAF is a specially organized database of thousands of full text sources on almost 400 cultures worldwide. HRAF is useful for background information or specific data on a particular ethnic group, culture or country, as well as subjects like architecture, kinship, political structure or settlement patterns on a comparative cross-cultural basis. Specific cultures can be searched using Chinook.

The complete collection of HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) is available in print, microfiche, and with both much of the archival content as well as new content only available only via eHRAF. Many older installments, however, are available only in print or microfiche, not online. For a list of which cultures are covered in what format, see the table at http://www.yale.edu/hraf/CCList20100827CoverPageandXLS.pdf.

Contact Alison Graber for access to the print and microfiche collection at CU-Boulder..

 

eHRAF Archaeology
This is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. CU

 

eHRAF World Cultures
This is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHraf database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. CU

 

Both eHRAF collections can now be accessed from Chinook using traditions, cultures, and ethnic groups as your search terms. For example, Alutiiq or Eastern Late Woodland.

 

Social Sciences Databases (General Social Sciences, includes Anthropology)

Social Sciences Abstracts/Full Text
Abstracts and some full text of articles in the social sciences.
Coverage is from 1994 to the present. CU

 

Social Sciences Citation Index: Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts and cited references, covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Coverage is from 1965 to the present. CU

 

Ethnic Group Databases (Databases indexing material on specific groups)

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Indexes works published from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and other publications. Updated semi-annually. CU

 

Bibliography of Asian Studies
References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Coverage: 1971 - present. CU

 

Chicano Database
A bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics. Provides coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. CU

 

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage: 1970 - present. CU