UCB Libraries

Find what you need at the library

Subject Guide for Arabic Language and Culture

Find Scholarly Articles

 

 

 

Articles By Topic | Choosing a Database | Articles From a Citation

 

Articles by Topic

If you are looking for articles on a particular topic, you can use many relevant Arabic databases that CU Libraries subscribes to. Some of the article databases only include citation information about the article, while others include access to the full-text of the document, usually in either PDF or HTML format.

 

The most relevant databases for Arabic are listed below. You can also try the Find Articles & More page where the databases are organized by subject/ discipline categories.

If the particular database you search does not have the full-text of the article available, look for the 'Find it at CU' option to search for electronic or print copies. If you are unable to locate the 'Find it at CU' option, follow the steps for finding a specific article below.

Typically you may search by keyword, author, title and more. For help developing keywords, go to How do I Choose Keywords? HINT! Keep track of search terms. Look for database recommended search terms and help resources.

 

WAIT! Are you connecting from off-campus?

Tutorial: VPN

 

Choosing a database

 

The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases and choosing the right article database can be difficult. There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and abstracts, some will also include full text, some will link to reference materials, and more.

  • General and Interdisciplinary databases: These databases are a good starting point when you are new to your topic. They often include scholarly and popular sources as well as material from a variety of disciplines and perspetives. For Example: Academic Search Premier

  • Subject or Discipline Databases: These databases will help you find material from specific disciplines. They provide more in-depth and focused research. For Example: Historical Abstracts
  • Format Specific Databases: These databases are narrowed to specific types of material, such as newspapers, statistics, images, biographies etc. For Example: ProQuest newspapers

Are you connecting from off-campus?

Recommended:

 

Index Islamicus
This database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. CU

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science
This multidisciplinary index covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Coverage : 1975 to the present. CU

 

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Coverage: 1954 - present. CU

 

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offer citations and contains some full text of articles in literature, linguistics, languages, and folklore from several thousand journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1963 - present. CU

 

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
The Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year. CU

 

WorldCat
WorldCat contains millions of records representing the holdings of several thousand libraries. Includes bibliographic records for books, dissertations, journals, audio-visual materials and manuscripts. This database does not include individual articles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers or book chapters. Updated daily. CU

 

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Articles from a Citation

 

If you have a specific article you need or you are tracking works from a bibliography, you will use:

 

Find it @ CU Article Finder
Complete this form to find the article in electronic or print.

Tutorial: Find it @ CU Article Finder

OR use the Chinoook Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the journal/ magazine title NOT the article title. Then follow the links to the correct volume, issue, year, page number.

Tutorial: Chinook Periodical Title