![]() |
Subject Guide for Arabic Language and Culture
Find Books
| Search Chinook | | Search Prospector | | InterLibrary Loan | | Reference |
Search Chinook
Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can do a title search for a specific book, or a keyword search if you are looking for books on a particular topic. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)
Tutorial: Chinook Keyword Search
For Tips on developing keywords for your topic go to:
How do I Choose Keywords for my search
Search Prospector
If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials through Prospector, and the items will generally be delivered to Norlin within a few business days.
Request through Inter Library Loan
If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.
Dictionaries
Arabic-English thematic lexicon
PJ6640 .N46 2007 (Norlin Stacks)
Oxford-Duden pictorial English dictionary with English-Arabic index
PJ6640 .O88 2003
A Dictionary Of Andalusi Arabic
PJ6756 .C67 1997 (Norlin Stacks)
al-Nibras : English-Arabic Dictionary
PJ6640 .L83 1993
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science
Dictionary of literary biography
Islamic civilization : history, contributions, and influence : a compendium of literature
DS36.85 .G49 2006
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics
PJ6031 .E5 2006
Notable Muslims : Muslim builders of world civilization and culture
BP70 .D45 2006
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
DS113.6 .E53 2005
Modern Arabic literature in translation : a companion
PJ7538 .A38 2005
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world
BP40 .E525 2004
The Muslims : encyclopaedia of Islam : including entries prepared by a number of leading orientalists and modern Islamic scholars. (11 vols.)
BP40 .M87 2004 (Norlin Stacks)
Encyclopedia of Arabic literature.
PJ7510 .E53 1998

