UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Arabic Language and Culture

Find Magazines & News Articles

 

These databases and websites offer full-text access to magazine and news articles from and about Arabic-speaking countries. Many other magazines and journals are also available in print. Search Chinook for holdings. A keyword search using for arab* AND periodicals is a good way to browse.

 

Find :

On a Topic

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.

Coverage includes English language material from Middle East and more.

 

LexisNexis academic

Mostly major titles

 

ProQuest newspapers

Mostly major titles

 

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, of which CU-Boulder is a member. All materials located in the CRL catalog, to which Chinook links directly, are available through interlibrary loan (ILL). CRL maintains an impressive collection of Arabic language newspapers, both historical and current.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Articles are in English. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990. CU

 

Specific Newspaper

Most access to Arabiclanguage newspapers at CU will be online. Older material may be available through microfilm.

 

To find digital access to newspapers, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.  

 

E.g. Middle East Newsfile: Arab News (Online)

Search for full text in Lexis Nexis Jan. 02, 1992-
Search for full text in Factiva Oct. 20, 1983- Mar. 04, 2003

 

To find print or microfilm access to newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)

Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

 

E.g. Arabica

Full-text in EBSCOhost EJS Jan. 01, 1995-
Full-text in PAO  Jan. 01, 1954- Dec. 31, 1995

 

To find physical access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. This will tell you whether the magazine is housed with the periodicals or whether we have any issues in microfilm.

Breaking News

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Arabic language news.

 

Al-jazeera

Arab Gateway: Newspapers In Arabic and other languages.

BBC Arabic (also includes video, audio)

CNN Arabic

Google Arabic News

MENIC The Middle East Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)

Onlinenewspapers.com

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers