University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

 

Architecture, Environmental Design, and Planning

 

 

Art and Architecture Collection Homepage

 

Usefull Links

 

 

 

 


 


Any or no photo can go here

Research Resources  > Subject Guides
  

Fallingwater

Research Guide for Architecture, Environmental Design, and Planning

 

How do I...Find Articles?

This page provides selected article research databases for researching Architecture, Environmental Desing, and Planning. For a more complete list of databases for article research please visit Find Articles and More.

 

 

Databases (in order of importance)

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, urban planning, and landscape architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily. It is the most important database for every aspect of Architecture. There is no need to ever use the term 'architecture' in your searches.

 

ARTbibliographies Modern

ArtBibliographies Modern provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

 

Architectural Index on the Web
Searches by Building Type/Subject, Architect/Designer, Location /State or Country and Location/City.

 

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective
Subjects include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers inArt, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video
Coverage: Art Full Text 1984 - present | Art Retrospective:1929-1984

 

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index

Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Coverage: 1973 - present.

 

Urban Studies & Planning : A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses over 2,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Anthropology, Economic Development, Economics, Education, Environmental Science, Planning Pedagogy, Planning Practice, Planning Theory, Policy Analysis, Political Science, Public Administration, Regional Geography, Regional Science, Residential and Community Development, Social, Spatial, and Cultural Dynamics, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Culture, Urban Geography, Urban Policy, Urban Politics, and Welfare Economics.

Coverage: 1965 - present.

 

JSTOR arts & sciences III

Contains twenty full text journals in art, architecture, and architectural history. Articles are not available for the last five years.

 

America: History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Coverage: 1964 - present.

 

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Coverage: 1954 - present.

 

 

Finding Reviews and Newspaper Articles

 

Lexis Nexis Academic

News from sources around the world; information on companies, industries, markets, government and politics; legal news, country profiles; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily. Often the best place to find current reviews of artists and exhibitions.

.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

 

 

 

 
     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark