UCB Libraries

I See What You Mean - Laurence Argent

Research Guide for Art and Art History

How do I...Find Articles?

This page provides selected article research databases for researching Art and Art History. For a more complete list of databases for article research please visit Find Articles and More.

 

 

Article Databases

 

ARTbibliographies Modern

ArtBibliographies Modern provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

 

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective
Subjects include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers inArt, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video
Coverage: Art Full Text 1984 - present | Art Retrospective:1929-1984

 

Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. One of the most important resources for researching the history of art. Especially strong in Western European scholarship.

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Index to journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.

 

Grove Dictionary of Art

The Grove Dictionary of Art is an online encyclopedia of art and art related items. It is particularly useful for finding a definition of a particular style or movement or for finding biographical information on an artist. Entries are created by scholars and include a bibliography.

 

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index

Abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Coverage: 1973 - present.

 

DYABOLA

Subject index for periodicals and books on classical and medieval art, archaeology, and humanities. Compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Coverage begins in 1956 with annual updates. DYABOLA is a very tricky database to search. For instructions please see "A Guide to Using DYABOLA" created by Lucie Stylianopoulos at the University of Virginia.

 

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Bibliography of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

 

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).

 

JSTOR arts & sciences III

Contains twenty full text journals in art, architecture, and architectural history. Articles are not available for the last five years.

 

America, History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Coverage: 1964 - present.

 

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Coverage: 1954 - present.

 

 

Finding Reviews and Newspaper Articles

 

LexisNexis Academic

News from sources around the world; information on companies, industries, markets, government and politics; legal news, country profiles; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily. Often the best place to find current reviews of artists and exhibitions.

 

 

For help or additional information please contact:

 

Jennifer Parker

Art and Architecture Librarian

Norlin Library, N275A

Jennifer.Parker@Colorado.EDU

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2:00-4:00 PM (Fall and Spring semesters) or by appointment.

Office Loctaion: Art and Architecture Reserach Office - Norlin N275A. Located at the very end of the Art and Architecture Collection.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.