
University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Subject Guide for Biology
Brief Description: The science that studies
living organisms.
CU
= Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students,
staff, and faculty from an
off-campus location.
Use of these resources is subject to
copyright laws and license limitations.
Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles
Indexes and databases are used to locate published journal articles, conference
proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research, and patents.
CU Agricola
This database includes more than 2.5 million bibliographic references
(records) covering agricultural science and allied disciplines with the
life sciences. Coverage: 1970 - present.
CU Animal
Behavior Abstracts
This database index includes references to articles in leading journals
about behavioral ecology, genetics, and applied ethology. NOTE: click
on "search subfiles" under "Biological Sciences" to access database.
CU Biological
Abstracts via EBSCO
This database includes bibliographic references (records) with
abstracts derived from life sciences research journals published
worldwide. Contains some links to full text articles. Coverage: 1969
- present.
CU BioOne Full text articles from selected scientific journals. Coverage: 2000
- present.
CU General Science
Abstracts / Full Text
Index to general science literature from the U.S. and Europe.
Contains some links to full text articles. Coverage: 1984 - present.
CU Medline More than 12 million references to journal articles covering all
aspects of medicine --some with links to full-text articles. Coverage:
1965 - present.
CU ScienceDirect Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage:
1997 - present.
CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly,
technical and medical data. Subject areas covered include agricultural
and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management),
engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and
linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine,
neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences,
and sociology.
CU
Visual Histology
The Visual Histology Video Learning System is a collection of 26
one-half hour online streaming video tutorials that cover the body's
histological organization.
CU Web
of Science
Formerly ISI Citation indexes. Coverage: 1970 - present.
CU Zoological
Record A comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover
every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology
evolution, genetics, etc. Includes citations and taxonomic classification
information. Coverage: 1978 - present.
Handbooks and Style Manuals
Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.
CU ENVIROnetBASE More than 140 CRC Handbooks online
Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association Science Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001
Also online at: APA
Style.org
Council
of Biology Editors Style Manual Science Stacks QH304 .C68 1978
A
Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th
ed.
Science Ref LB2369 .T8 1996
The
Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.
Reference Z253 .C57 2003
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Biology
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and
explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.
CU Access
Science - Encyclopedia for Science and Technology http://www.accessscience.com/server-java/Arknoid/science/AS
Bio
Tech's Life Sciences Dictionary http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/search/dict-search.html
A Dictionary
Catalogue of the Blacker-Wood Library of Zoology and Ornithology Science Z7991 B67
A
Dictionary of Biology 4th edition Science Ref QH302.5 D5 2000
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular
Biology http://on.to/dictionary
The Encyclopedia of Earth
http://www.eoearth.org/
Encyclopedia
of Life Sciences Science Ref QH302.5 E53 2001
Glossary
of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
http://db.portlandpress.co.uk/glick/search.htm
Glossary
of Marine Biology http://life.bio.sunysb.edu/marinebio/glossary.html
Index
Kewensis Science Ref QK11 I4 1895a v.1 & v.2
Index
Kewensis plantarum phanerogamarum. Supplementum Located in the University's Herbarium Call Nr. 582 In23 Suppl.
Please contact the Herbarium or the Science Reference Desk
Plant
Science Catalog; Botany Subject Index. Compiled by U.S. Dept. of
Agriculture Library
Science Z5360 U53
Internet Links for Biology
These are selected sites providing access to research and information.
Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.
All
the Virology on the WWW http://www.tulane.edu/~dmsander/garryfavweb.html
Audubon's Birds of America at the University of Pittsburgh
http://digital.library.pitt.edu/a/audubon/
Biodiversity
Hotspots
http://www.biodiversityhotspots.org/xp/Hotspots/
BioTech http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/
BioInteractive
http://www.biointeractive.org/
BiologyBrowser
http://www.BiologyBrowser.org/
BRENDA: the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
http://www.brenda-enzymes.info/
Cells Alive! http://www.cellsalive.com/
Center for Human
Genome Studies (CHGS) http://www.lanl.gov/orgs/pa/science21/HumanGenome.html
The Complete Work of Charles Darwin
http://darwin-online.org.uk/
CROET (Center for Research
on Occupational and Environmental
Toxicology) Web
http://www.ohsu.edu/croet/
The Encyclopedia of Life
http://www.eol.org/
Entomology Index of
Internet Resources http://www.ent.iastate.edu/List/
Environmental Sites
on the Internet
http://www.ima.kth.se/eng/index.htm
Global Invasive Species Programme
http://www.gisp.org/
Green Fluorescent Protein Applications Page http://www.yale.edu/rosenbaum/gfp_gateway.html
Human Genome
Resources http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/guide/
Integrated
Taxonomic Information System
http://www.itis.gov/
LifeWorks:
explore health and medical science careers
http://www.science.education.nih.gov/lifeworks.nsf/feature/
Marine
Biology WEB http://life.bio.sunysb.edu/marinebio/mbweb.html
MendelWeb http://www.mendelweb.org/
Microrobes.info The Microbiology Information Portal
http://microbes.info/
Molecular
Biology Notebook http://www.rothamsted.ac.uk/notebook/courses/guide/
National Biological Information
Infrastructure http://www.nbii.gov/
National Human Genome Research
Institute http://www.genome.gov/
National Library for the Environment
http://www.cnie.org/nle/
NatureServe
http://www.natureserve.org/
NCBI
Taxonomy http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Taxonomy/taxonomyhome.html
Neurosciences on the Internet. http://www.neuroguide.com/
Online Mendelian Inheritance
in Man http://www.itis.gov/
Pedro's
Biomolecular Research Tools
http://www.biophys.uni-duesseldorf.de/BioNet/Pedro/research_tools.html
PLANTS national database
http://plants.usda.gov/
Social
Insects World Wide Web (SIWeb) http://research.amnh.org/entomology/social_insects/mainpage.html
Tree
of Life http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
University of Florida Book
of Insect Records http://ufbir.ifas.ufl.edu/
Virtual
Galapagos http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~kpt/terraquest/galapagos/intro.html
Wildland Invasive Species
Program
http://tncweeds.ucdavis.edu/
World Index of
Biomolecular Visualization Resources
http://molvis.sdsc.edu/visres/index.html
|