
University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Chemistry
Brief Description: The
science that embraces the properties, composition, and structure of matter,
the changes in structure and composition that matter undergoes, and the accompanying
energy changes (McGraw-Hill).
For more information, contact the Science
Library.
CU
= Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff,
and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to
copyright laws and license limitations.
Remote access information.
Abstracts and Indexes to Academic
or Scholarly Articles
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference
proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.
SciFinder
Scholar 2006
Access: SciFinder Scholar is available in the following
Libraries: Science, Earth Science, Engineering, and MathPhysics.
Faculty and graduate students may request desktop access which requires
downloaded client software for Mac or PC and is restricted to CU-Boulder
IP addresses. Key contact for SciFinder Scholar 2006 is Barb Greenman
in the Science Library, email: Barbara.Losoff@colorado.edu or
303-492-1859.
Description: SciFinder Scholar 2006 is a comprehensive
bibliographic database of the chemical literature with more than
22 million records. SciFinder Scholar searches Chemical Abstracts
and MEDLINE by author, research topic, chemical formula, chemical
structure, patent number, chemical registry number, and chemical
name. Contains references and abstracts to chemistry journals, conferences,
and patents. Subject areas include: chemistry, polymer science, physics,
medicine, biology, agriculture, engineering, earth science, and environmental
science. Coverage: 1907 – present.
Beilstein’s Crossfire Database
Access: Crossfire is available to CU-Boulder faculty,
students, and staff from the Science Library and the Engineering
Library. Faculty and graduate students may request desktop access
which requires downloading the client software and obtaining a user
name and password. Key contact for Crossfire is Barb Greenman in
the Science Library, email: Barbara.Greenman@colorado.edu or
303-492-1859.
Description: Crossfire is the premier organic chemistry
database and includes abstracts and property data on more than 8
million compounds, 9 million chemical reactions, and over 2 million
citations. Crossfire can be searched by chemical structure, chemical
substance, chemical reaction or product, keyword, and author. Coverage:
1779 – present.
CU Merck
Index
Multidisciplinary encyclopedia containing
property data and descriptions of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage: Compiled since 1889.
Properties of Inorganic Compounds
Access: Available only in the Science Library,
to log on click the Start button at the bottom of the screen and
select All Programs.
Description: Database includes numerical values
for physical,
thermal, electrical, and thermodynamic properties.
Includes ultraviolet data and descriptive information for preparation
and uses of over 5,500 inorganic compounds. Coverage: 1997.
CU Science Direct
Contains full text articles from Elsevier
published journals. Coverage: 1997 – present.
CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly,
technical and medical data. Subject areas covered include agricultural
and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management),
engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and
linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine,
neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences,
and sociology.
CU Web of Science
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information,
author abstracts, and cited references found in 5,700 of the world’s
leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than
164 disciplines. Coverage: 1970 – present.
Abstracts and Indexes to Magazine & Newspaper
Articles
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference
proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.
CU Expanded
Academic ASAP (InfoTrac)
Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts, references, and full text
articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest
publications. 1980 - present.
CU General
Science Abstracts / Full Text
Abstracts popular and scholarly journals in the fields of Astronomy, Atmospheric
Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment,
Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography,
Physics, Physiology, and Zoology. Coverage: Coverage: May 1984 – present.
Dictionaries
CU ChemIDplus
Dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds
CU Combined Chemical Dictionary
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms
SCIENCE REF TP 9 H65 1992 LIBRARY USE ONLY
CU Dictionary of Commonly Cited
Compounds
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
CU Dictionary of Drugs
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
CU Dictionary of Inorganic and
Organometallic Compounds
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
CU Dictionary of Natural Products
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
CU Dictionary of Organic Compounds
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular
Biology
SCIENCE REF QD 415 .A25 O94 2006 LIBRARY USE ONLY
CU Scientific and
Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations
http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/stasa/
Directories
The American
Chemical Society
http://portal.acs.org/portal/acs/corg/contentl
National Chemistry
Societies’ Homepage
http://www.chemsoc.org/societies/society.htm
The Royal Society of Chemistry
http://www.rsc.org/
Scholarly
Societies
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/chemistry_soc.html
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
CU Access
Science: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
http://www.accessscience.com/server-java/Arknoid/science/AS
Aldrich Handbook of Fine Chemicals and Laboratory Equipment
SCIENCE REF TP 202 .A54 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Aldrich Library of
FT-IR Spectra
SCIENCE REF QC457 .P87 1997 .1-3 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Comprehensive
Organic Synthesis: Selectivity, Strategy & Efficiency
in Modern Organic Chemistry
SCIENCE REF QD 262 .C535 1991 v. 1-9 LIBRARY USE ONLY
CU CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 85th Edition
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry: Applications, Theory, and Instrumentation
SCIENCE REF QD 71.5 .E52 2000 v. 1-15 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
SCIENCE REF QD 148 .E53 1994 v. 1-8 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
SCIENCE REF QD 77 .E53 1995 v. 1-8 LIBRARY USE ONLY
CU EnviroNetBase
Access to 131 environmental reference texts
http://www.environetbase.com/
Environmental Contamination Reference Databook
SCIENCE REF TD 196 .C45 P73 1995 v. 1-3 LIBRARY USE ONLY
EARTH SCI REFERENCE TD 196 .C45 P73 1995 v. 1-3 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds
SCIENCE REF QD 257.7 .H36 1994 v. 1-7 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals
SCIENCE REF TD 196 .O73 H35 2001 v. 1-2 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Handbook of Malloproteins
SCIENCE REF QP 552 .M46 H363 2001 v. 1-2 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Handbook of Proton-NMR Spectra and Data
SCIENCE REF QC 762 .H33 1985 v. 1-10 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
SCIENCE REF T 55.3 .H3 2002 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Industrial
Inorganic Chemicals and Products: An Ullmann’s Encyclopedia
SCIENCE REF TP 9 .I53 1999 v. 1-6 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Engineering Reference
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry
and Technology
SCIENCE REF Q 199 .N32 v. 1-7 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Engineering Reference
Math/Physics Reference
CU Kirk-Othmer
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/mrwhome/104554789/HOME
Names,
Synonyms, and Structures of Organic Compounds: A CRC Reference Handbook
SCIENCE REF QD 291 .N36 1995 v. 1-3 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Polymers: A Property Database
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
Porphyrin Handbook
SCIENCE REF QD 401 .P824 v. 1-10 LIBRARY USE ONLY
CU Properties
of Organic Compounds
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
Protein Protocols Handbook
SCIENCE REF QP 551 .P697512 2002 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Proteins, Peptides,
and Amino Acids Sourcebook
SCIENCE REF QP 551 .W53 2002 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Springer
Handbook of Enzymes
SCIENCE REF QP601 .E5158 2001 v.1-8 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Internet Links
The Alchemy Website
http://www.levity.com/alchemy/
Basic Liquid
Chromatography
http://hplc.chem.shu.edu/HPLC/index.html
BRENDA: the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
http://www.brenda-enzymes.info/
Cambridge Crystallographic
Data Centre
http://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/
ChemCenter
http://www.chemcenter.org/
Chemical and Physical Properties
Finding Guide
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/engineering/property.htm
ChemIDplus
http://chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus
CHEMINFO
http://www.indiana.edu/~cheminfo/
Chemistry.org
Website of the American Chemical Society
http://portal.acs.org/portal/acs/corg/content
Elemental
Data Index
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/Elements/
Facility for the Analysis of Chemical Thermodynamics
http://www.crct.polymtl.ca/fact/
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/hsdbfs.html
Human Metabolome Project
http://www.hmdb.ca/
Seeks to be "the chemical equivalent of the Human Genome Project",
producing a database of human metabolites. Since 2004 the project has assembled
the current inventory of roughly 2,500 molecules produced by metabolic reactions
in body tissues and fluids -- and though this may be only 10% of the human metabolome
(nobody really knows) it is a useful starting point, and a unique database.
Information Retrieval
in Chemistry WWW Server
http://macedonia.chem.demokritos.gr/
Integrated
Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
http://riodb01.ibase.aist.go.jp/sdbs/cgi-bin/cre_index.cgi?lang=eng
IUPAC Compendium
of Chemical Terminology
http://www.chemsoc.org/chembytes/goldbook/
Links for
Chemists
http://www.liv.ac.uk/chemistry/Links/links.html
Linus
Pauling and the Nature of the Chemical Bond
http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu/specialcollections/coll/pauling/bond/index
Linus
Pauling and the Race for DNA: A Documentary History
http://osulibrary.orst.edu/specialcollections/coll/pauling/
Linus Pauling Research Notebooks
http://osulibrary.orst.edu/specialcollections/rnb/
Making Sense of Metabolism
http://www.rpi.edu/dept/bcbp/molbiochem/MBWeb/mb1/MB1index.html
NIST Chemistry WebBook
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
NIST Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
http://srdata.nist.gov/xps/
NIST Virtual Library (Chemistry)
http://nvl.nist.gov/nvl2.cfm?dynamic=res_subj&subjectid=7
Nobel e-Museum Chemistry
http://www.nobelprize.org/
Nuclide Table
http://atom.kaeri.re.kr/ton/
PubChem
http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
Organic Chemistry Resources
Worldwide
http://www.organicworldwide.net/
Protein Data Bank
http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/
Selected
Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry
http://webserver.lemoyne.edu/faculty/giunta/papers.html
Spectroscopy NOW
http://www.spectroscopynow.com/
Table of Isotopes
http://ie.lbl.gov/toi.htm
Thermo Scientific Spectra Online
http://www.spectraonline.com/
ThermoDex An Index of
Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks
http://thermodex.lib.utexas.edu/
U.S. Patent & Trademark
Office
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/
The “Virtual” Chemistry
Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/GradChemistry.html
WebElements
http://www.webelements.com/
What You Need
to Know About Chemistry
http://chemistry.about.com/cs/chemistry/
World Index of Biomolecular Visualization Resources
http://molvis.sdsc.edu/visres/index.html
|