UCB Libraries

Chicano Studies

Scholarly Research for Chicano Studies


  • Starting Research
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Recommended Resources
  • Citing

 

Focussing a Topic | Finding Background Information | Finding Reference Sources | Developing Keywords

 


Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.

 

Finding Background Information

Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:

Chicano literature : a reference guide

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1985

REF PS153.M4 C46 1985

 

Contemporary Chicana and Chicano art : artists, works, culture, and education

Tempe, Ariz. : Bilingual Press/Editorial Bilingüe, c2002

Art and Arch. REF N6538.M4 C664 2002  (2 vols.)

 

Dictionary of Chicano folklore [Online]

Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000

REF GR111.M49 C37 2000

 

Encyclopedia Latina : history, culture, and society in the United States

Danbury, Conn. : Grolier Academic Reference, c2005 (4 vols.)

REF E184.S75 E587 2005

 

Encyclopedia of Latino popular culture

Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, 2004 (2 vols.)

REF E184.S75 E59 2004

 

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000

E184.M5 M458 2000

 

Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics

Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000

REF E184.A1 E574 2000  2 vols.

 

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States

Houston, Tex. : Arte Público Press ; Madrid, Spain : Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, c1993 (4 vols.)

REF E184.S75 H365 1993

 

The Hispanic American almanac : a reference work on Hispanics in the United States

Detroit : Gale, c2003

REF E184.S75 H557 2003

 

The Hispanic databook : detailed statistics and rankings on the Hispanic population, including 23 ethnic backgrounds from Argentinian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S. counties and cities

Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., c2004

REF E184.S75 H567 2004

 

Hispanics in Hollywood : an encyclopedia of film and television

New York : Garland Pub., 1994

PN1995.9.H47 R49 1994

 

Latino and Latina writers

New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004 (2 vols.)

REF PS153.H56 L39 2004

 

The Latino Encyclopedia
New York : Marshall Cavendish, c1996 (6 vols.)

REF E184.S75 L357 1996

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. 2004

(Online) CU

 

Masterpieces of Latino literature

New York, NY : HarperCollins, c1994

PQ7081.A1 M29 1994

 

Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003

REF E184.M5 M455 2003


 

Finding Reference Sources

 

You will find numerous reference sources in the UCB Libraries' collection, both online and in print.

SEARCH your topic in Reference Universe, enter your topic in the search box below:

Reference Universe: This is a searchable database that indexes information from specialized subject encyclopedias. It does not include the full text of reference materials but will point you to reference sources that cover your topic. It searches both the titles of reference articles as well as the encyclopedia / dictionary indexes, providing a thorough level of access to materials and potential sources. CU

 

For more reference source search tips, go to How do I find Reference Sources.

 


Developing Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the effectiveness of second language learning literacy testing.

 

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Concept 1:

second language learning

 

Concept 2:

literacy

Concept 3:

testing

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distincitions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

Concept 1:

second language acquisition

 

ESL

 

language learners

 

foreign language instruction

 

bilingual

 

L1/L2

 

ELLs

Concept 2:

literate

 

reading

 

comprehension

 

Literacy Education

 

Cultural literacy

 

 

 

 

 

Concept 3:

test (s)

 

assess

 

assessment

 

proficiency

 

standardized

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combining Keywords

Operators:

AND: second language learners AND literacy (must find both terms)
OR: testing OR assessment (must find one of the terms)
NOT: testing NOT standardized (must find first term NOT second term)

 

Punctuation:

Phrases: “second language learners” (must find that phrase in that order)
Synonyms: (“second language learner” OR ELLs) AND literacy
Wildcards: assess* will find assessment, assessments, assessing, etc.

 

You may use the UCB Search Strategy/ Keyword Worksheet to develop your own topic.

For details on combining keywords for the best results view the

How Do I Use Keywords

 

 


 



Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can do a title search for a specific book, or a keyword search if you are looking for books on a particular topic. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)


 Chinook Catalog    

 

Tutorial: Chinook Keyword Search

 

For Tips on developing keywords for your topic go to:

 

How do I Choose Keywords for my search

 

 

Subject Headings

To find books on Chicano topics, search Chinook more in-depth by using LC Subject Headings. The following selection may help get you started. Also, pay attention to the subject headings used for books you've already identified in order to find other works on the same subject and also identify keyword search terms.

 

Chicano Authors -- See Mexican American authors

Chicano Civil Rights Movement -- See Chicano movement

Chicano Drama English -- See American drama Mexican American authors

Chicano Drama Spanish -- See Mexican American drama (Spanish)

Chicano Literature English -- See American literature Mexican American authors

Chicano Literature Spanish -- See Mexican American literature (Spanish)

Chicano Movement

Chicano Movement United States -- See Chicano movement

Chicano Music -- See Mexican Americans Music

Chicano Park San Diego Calif History  

Chicano Poetry English -- See American poetry Mexican American authors

Chicano Poetry Spanish -- See Mexican American poetry (Spanish)

Chicano Poets -- See Mexican American poets

Chicano Riddles -- See Mexican American riddles

Chicano Theater -- See Mexican American theater

Chicanos -- See Mexican Americans

 


If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials through Prospector, and the items will generally be delivered to Norlin within a few business days. prospector prospector

 


Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/ill/

If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.

 

 

Articles By Topic | Choosing a Database | Articles From a Citation



If you are looking for articles on a particular topic, you can use many relevant Chicano studies databases that CU Libraries subscribes to. Some of the article databases only include citation information about the article, while others include access to the full-text of the document, usually in either PDF or HTML format.

 

The most relevant databases for Chicano Studies are listed below. You can also try the Find Articles & More page where the databases are organized by subject/ discipline categories.

If the particular database you search does not have the full-text of the article available, look for the 'Find it at CU' option to search for electronic or print copies. If you are unable to locate the 'Find it at CU' option, follow the steps for finding a specific article below.

Typically you may search by keyword, author, title and more. For help developing keywords, go to How do I Choose Keywords? HINT! Keep track of search terms. Look for database recommended search terms and help resources.

 

WAIT! Are you connecting from off-campus?

Tutorial: VPN



The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases and choosing the right article database can be difficult. There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and abstracts, some will also include full text, some will link to reference materials, and more.

  • General and Interdisciplinary databases: These databases are a good starting point when you are new to your topic. They often include scholarly and popular sources as well as material from a variety of disciplines and perspetives. For Example: Academic Search Premier

  • Subject or Discipline Databases: These databases will help you find material from specific disciplines. They provide more in-depth and focused research. For Example: Chicano database or HAPI Online
  • Format Specific Databases: These databases are narrowed to specific types of material, such as newspapers, statistics, images, biographies etc. For Example: ProQuest newspapers

Are you connecting from off-campus?

Recommended:

 

Chicano database
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and, since 1992, materials on Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.Coverage: 1960 - present. Updated quarterly. CU

 

HAPI Online

Hispanic American Periodical Index
HAPI offers authoritative information about Latin America, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the US. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970 - present. CU

 

HLAS Online
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, it alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Coverage: 1936 - present. CU

 

America: History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage: 1964 - present. CU

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Incluye publicaciones académicas y populares. Coverage: 1999 - present. CU

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I
The Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year. CU

 

WorldCat
WorldCat contains millions of records representing the holdings of several thousand libraries. Includes bibliographic records for books, dissertations, journals, audio-visual materials and manuscripts. This database does not include individual articles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers or book chapters. Updated daily. CU

 

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 



If you have a specific article you need or you are tracking works from a bibliography, you will use:

 

Find it @ CU Article Finder
Complete this form to find the article in electronic or print.

Tutorial: Find it @ CU Article Finder

OR use the Chinoook Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the journal/ magazine title NOT the article title. Then follow the links to the correct volume, issue, year, page number.

Tutorial: Chinook Periodical Title

 

 

Web Resources | News and Newspapers | Library Guides | Reference Works

 


Web Resources

 

 

News and Newspapers

These databases and websites offer full-text access to magazine and news articles about Chicano. Many other magazines and journals are also available in print. Search Chinook for holdings.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

Find Newspapers and Magazines:

On a Topic

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1960. CU

 

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.

Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America.

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca cultura, literatura, negocios, salud, tecnología, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Incluye algunas publicaciones académicas y populares. Coverage varies. CU

 

LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)

News

Magazines

Academic Journals

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" or "Portuguese Language News" as a news source. Coverage varies. CU

 

ProQuest newspapers

Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (mostly major titles)

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines)

Specific Newspaper

Most access to Spanish and Portuguese language newspapers at CU will be online. Older material may be available through microfilm.

 

To find digital access to newspapers, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.  

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

 

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

 

 

To find print or microfilm access to newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)

 

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, of which CU-Boulder is a member. All materials located in the CRL catalog, to which Chinook links directly, are available through interlibrary loan (ILL). CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers, both historical and current.

Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

 

E.g.
Noticias Financieras (Spanish Language)

 

from 10/28/2002 to present in Factiva

 

To find physical access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. This will tell you whether the magazine is housed with the periodicals or whether we have any issues in microfilm.

Breaking News

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Spanish and Portuguese news.

 

BBC Brasil (also includes video, audio)

BBC Mundo (also includes video, audio)

EuroNews

Google Noticias (USA, Mexico)

Onlinenewspapers.com

Prensa Escrita

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers

Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers

Radio: Hispanic/Latino

Television: Hispanic/Latino

 

Related Library Guides

Ethnic Studies Resources

A guide to research resources in Ethnic Studies available from the University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.

 

Spanish And Portuguese Language and Literature Resources
A guide to research resources in Spanish and Portuguese available from the University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.

 

Comparative Literature Resources
A guide to research resources in Comparative Literature available from the University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.

 

 

 

 

Reference Works

Chicano literature : a reference guide

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1985

PS153.M4 C46 1985

 

Contemporary Chicana and Chicano art : artists, works, culture, and education

Tempe, Ariz. : Bilingual Press/Editorial Bilingüe, c2002

N6538.M4 C664 2002  (2 vols.)

 

Dictionary of Chicano folklore

Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000

GR111.M49 C37 2000

 

Dictionary of Mexican American history

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981

E184.M5 M453

 

Encyclopedia Latina : history, culture, and society in the United States

Danbury, Conn. : Grolier Academic Reference, c2005 (4 vols.)

E184.S75 E587 2005

 

Encyclopedia of Latino popular culture

Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, 2004 (2 vols.)

E184.S75 E59 2004

 

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000

E184.M5 M458 2000

 

Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics

Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000

E184.A1 E574 2000  2 vols.

 

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States

Houston, Tex. : Arte Público Press ; Madrid, Spain : Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, c1993 (4 vols.)

E184.S75 H365 1993

 

The Hispanic American almanac : a reference work on Hispanics in the United States

Detroit : Gale, c2003

E184.S75 H557 2003

 

The Hispanic databook : detailed statistics and rankings on the Hispanic population, including 23 ethnic backgrounds from Argentinian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S. counties and cities

Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., c2004

E184.S75 H567 2004

 

Hispanics in Hollywood : an encyclopedia of film and television

New York : Garland Pub., 1994

PN1995.9.H47 R49 1994

 

Latino and Latina writers

New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004 (2 vols.)

PS153.H56 L39 2004

 

The Latino Encyclopedia
New York : Marshall Cavendish, c1996 (6 vols.)

E184.S75 L357 1996

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. 2004

(Online) CU

 

Masterpieces of Latino literature

New York, NY : HarperCollins, c1994

PQ7081.A1 M29 1994

 

Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003

E184.M5 M455 2003

 

7/08 CBS

 

Citation Styles | RefWorks | Tips & Strategies


Citation Styles

The following guides provide samples of common citation formats. Consult Reference Desk personnel for additional information.

 

APA Style (PDF document)

 

MLA Style (PDF document)

 

Turabian: a form of Chicago Style (PDF document)

 

You may also find print guides in the library:

 

APA

MLA

Turabian (Chicago)



REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 



Pick an Interesting Topic It is easier to express your own opinions and thoughts if you are interested in the topic.

 

Manage Your Time

Many students are tempted to plagiarize because they do not start researching and writing far enough in advance. Start your paper at least 3 weeks before the due date. Plagiarism could compromise your entire academic career. Speak to your professor if you have run out of time.

 

Create a Bibliography as you Research

Record the sources you consult. Include all the bibliographic information needed in your works cited (Author, Title, Pages, Publisher, Year, Volume, Issue).This will help you to cite correctly and to compile your works cited.

 

Take Clear Notes

Designate all direct quotes with quotation marks.

Designate when you are paraphrasing.

Electronic Research and Note taking is the same: Use quotation marks when you cut and paste.

Always note the source/ author.

 

Be Careful with Paraphrasing

Be sure you understand the text.

Do not look at the original source when writing your paraphrase.

Reorganize the information in your own words and in your own style.

Check to be sure you have not used the vocabulary or structure of the original work.

Mention the author near or in your paraphrase.

 

And Remember to Cite:

Any information that was not originally created by you:
  • Quotations
  • Key terms or phrases
  • Ideas
  • Facts not broadly known
  • Images and Sounds
Any material from another source regardless of where you found it:
  • Printed sources
  • Electronic sources
  • Conversation or email
  • Recorded sources
  • Images