UCB Libraries

Find what you need at the library

Subject Guide for Chicano Studies

Article Databases for Chicano Studies

 

Although some databases contain links to full-text articles, whenever you find only abstracts or citations, try the following search strategies:

E-Journal Finder: Search here to see if a journal is available online with full-text articles.

Chinook: If the issue of the journal is not available online, see if CU holds a print copy.

ILLiad: Use Interlibrary Loan if the journal is not available as a E-Journal or in print at CU.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and, since 1992, materials on Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.Coverage: 1960 - present. Updated quarterly. CU

 

HAPI Online

Hispanic American Periodical Index
HAPI offers authoritative information about Latin America, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the US. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970 - present. CU

 

HLAS Online
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, it alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Coverage: 1936 - present. CU

 

America: History and Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage: 1964 - present. CU

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Incluye publicaciones académicas y populares. Coverage: 1999 - present. CU

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I
The Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year. CU

 

WorldCat
WorldCat contains millions of records representing the holdings of several thousand libraries. Includes bibliographic records for books, dissertations, journals, audio-visual materials and manuscripts. This database does not include individual articles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers or book chapters. Updated daily. CU