University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

Children's Literature

 


 


Any or no photo can go here

University Libraries > Research Resources  > Research & Subject Guides >
  

Students using computers
Subject Guide for Children's Literature

 

 

 

Brief Description: The body of written works and accompanying illustrations produced in order to entertain or instruct young people. (Britannica)

 

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

Children's Books in Print
Volume 1 includes Author and Illustrator indexes, with listings for more than 164,000 contributors. Volume 2 contains the Title Index to more than 208,750 books available from United State publishers.

 

Children's Literature Abstracts
Quarterly international guide to books and periodical articles about children's literature. 1975-2000.

 

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources. CU

 

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource contains full text for over 3,460 scholarly publications. Varies, mostly late 1990's to the present. CU

 

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. 1963-present. CU

 

Humanities Full Text
This database provides references for periodical information in the humanities subject area. February 1984-present. CU

 

Bibliographies

100 most popular children's authors: biographical sketches and bibliographies

 

100 most popular picture book authors and illustrators: biographical sketches and bibliographies

 

A to zoo: subject access to children's picture books

 

Everyone's guide to children's literature

 

The Newbery and Caldecott awards : a guide to the medal and honor books

 

Dictionaries

Children's literature

 

The Children's Literature Dictionary: Definitions, Resources, and Teaching Activities

 

The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature

 

Directories

Children's literature awards and winners: a directory of prizes, authors, and illustrators

 

International Directory of Children's Literature

 

International directory of children's literature specialists

 

Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English

 

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

 

International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

 

Subject Headings and Search Strategies

Subject Headings

The following are some selected subjects to use when searching in Chinook for children's literature:

 

Childrens Literature

Children's poetry

Children's plays

Childrens Literature History And Criticism

Childrens Literature American History And Criticism

Children's encyclopedias and dictionaries

 

Search Strategy

Add the term "Juvenile Fiction" after your topic keyword during a subject search to narrow results:

Example: Imagination Juvenile Fiction

Search Strategy

Limit the Location to "Juvenile" and enter a keyword term to search only for materials located in the Libraries' Juvenile Literature Collection.

 

Search Strategy

To find bilingual or translated children's materials, search for both languages (example: English AND Spanish) and limit the Location to Juvenile.

Web Resources

Caldecott, Newbery, and other awards for children's literature

 

Children's Notable Books Lists / American Library Association

 

Great Websites for Children / American Library Association

 

ISMLC Children's Literature and Languages Art Resources

 

Kidspace @ The Internet Public Library

 

Teenspace @ The Internet Public Library

 

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature

 

Children's Book Council

 

Associations and Societies

Children's Literature Association

 

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

 

Return to Top

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark