Subject Guide for Classics: Archaeology
Click on a link to the left to navigate to another Classics area, or choose a link below to see resources for Archaeology.
The Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library established by Tufts University which contains searchable primary and secondary source material relating to the study of the classical world (in both native language and translation). It consists of a home site in Somerville, MA as well as two mirror sites in Berlin, Germany and Chicago, IL.
An international, annual index to research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 CE. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology. Coverage: 1969 - present.
NOTE: The online version of L’Année Philologique will yield different results than the print version. For the most comprehensive results, please see the print version below.
For a PDF explaining how to use this index, click the link below.
Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A searchable archive of scholarly articles in a range of disciplines. NOTE: “JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR” (for more information, go to JSTOR, see http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/archives/index.jsp
“ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.” (ARTstor website)
A searchable, online index of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum, which is an international effort to catalog all known ancient vases. The CVA Project also includes the full text of out-of-print CVA volumes.
The Stoa Consortium
“The Stoa Consortium provides a venue for the exploration of innovations in scholarly communication, with a focus on Classics and Classical Archaeology.” (Google Description)
Contains an online version of the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) in Rome (1956-2003), as well as the Sachkatalog der Römisch-Germanischen Kommission Frankfurt (1992-93), the acquisition list of the DAI in Madrid (1991-2002), the Archäologische Jahresbibliographie (2003), and the Winckelmann bibliography (works on J.J. Winckelmann from 1755 to 1998).
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Contains searchable, online archives of the Bryn Mawr Classical Review from 1990 until the present.
“The Archäologischer Anzeiger (AA) appears since 1889, initially as a supplement to the JdI and since 1975 as its own journal. Since 2002 two volumes are published annually. Besides short articles on current research, the AA mainly contains reports on on-going excavation projects by the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) and colleagues in the profession worldwide. The emphasis lies on the Mediterranean area from Prehistory to Late Antiquity but the AA also informs about research projects outside the core regions of the Ancient World.” (Archäologischer website)
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. One of the most important resources for researching the history of art. Especially strong in Western European scholarship. (Jennifer Parker, Art & Art History Subject Guide)
Pompeii in Pictures
A searchable, pictorial catalogue of the city of Pompeii.
“Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.” (Abzu database)
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Provides access to citations and abstracts for all titles within the Dissertation Abstract Database.
Summary Guide to Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum / compiled by Carpenter, Thomas H.
LC Call No.: NK4640.C6 Z9 2000
Greek and Roman Art, Architecture, and Archaeology: An Annotated Bibliography / William D.E. Coulson and Patricia N. Freiert.
LC Call No.: Z5932.3.C68 1987
Aimed at the general reader, teacher, undergraduate, and graduate student, this bibliography aims to cover all major aspects of the subject of archaeology, from methodology and history to major sites from multiple periods. It cites a wide range of scholarly material and popular books.
The Oxford History of Classical Art / John Boardman ed.
LC Call No.: N5610.O84 1993
This work, designed as a companion to the Oxford History of the Classical World, is a general index of the history of classical art in pre-classical Greece, the classical period, the Hellenistic period, and Rome.
Rome: An Oxford Archaeological Guide / Amanda Claridge
LC Call No.: DG62.C53 1998
“A concise but scholarly guide to the archaeology of Rome from the beginnings through the eighth century A.D.” (Jenkins, 158) This work includes a source guide and a glossary of building materials and architectural terms, as well as a survey of sites organized by region of the city.
Greece: An Oxford Archaeological Guide / Christopher Mee & Antony Spawforth
LC Call No: DF78.M44 2001
“This handbook for travelers covers Greece from the prehistoric period to the seventh century A.D.” (Jenkins, 160) This resource covers the geography, geology, and climate, as well as giving an historical and cultural overview, before surveying the archaeological sites organized by region.
The Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
LC Call No.: DE5.E5 1996
This resource contains 1,125 entries by 171 scholars, covering Greco-Roman archaeological remains throughout the Mediterranean, including information on the Aegean Bronze Age and Etruscan remains.
Handbook of Roman Art: A Comprehensive Survey of All the Arts of the Roman World. / Martin Henig ed.
LC Call No.: N5760.H36 1983
This handbook contains a survey of Roman art from Early Roman art to that of the late empire, concentrating on different artistic forms and media. Supplemental material includes a “guide to the major pottery forms, a glossary, an excellent bibliography arranged by topic, and a general index.” (Jenkins, 160)
Handbook of Greek Art / Gisela M.A. Richter
LC Call No.: N5630.R49 1974
Divided into chapters by form and material, the Handbook of Greek Art covers all aspects of Greek Art from 1100 BCE to 100 BCE. Supplemental material includes maps, a bibliography, a chronology of Greek sculpture, and indexes of places and names.
Greek and Roman Architecture / D.S. Robertson
LC Call No.: NA260.R6 1969
A reprint of the 1929 work entitled a Handbook of Greek and Roman Architecture, this resource covers all aspects of classical architecture in chronological order from Minoan Crete through the fourth century CE, including “a selective chronological table of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman buildings from 1000 B.C. to A.D. 330 and a glossary of architectural terms.” (Jenkins, 162)
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World / Richard J.A. Talbert (ed.)
LC Call No.: G1033.B3 2000
A comprehensive atlas spanning Greek and Roman civilization (1000 BCE – 650 CE). It contains 102 topographical maps, and is accompanied by the CD-ROM entitled Map by Map Directory, which supplies further information for each map.
Also see keyword search in Chinook: Atlas, Ancient
Pictorial dictionary of ancient Athens [by] John Travlos. [Prepared in collaboration with the] German Archaeological Institute
LC Call No.: NA280.T68
A general index of Athenian sites or monuments, arranged in alphabetical order by name and containing a description of location and history, as well as a bibliography.
Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome / Ernest Nash (2vol.)
LC Call No.: NA310.N28 1968
A general index of Roman sites, arranged in alphabetical order by name and containing a description of their location and history, as well as a bibliography. “This outstanding contribution to the study of Roman topography is best used in conjunction with Platner and Ashby or with Richardson’s more recent work.” (Jenkins, 141)
A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome / Samuel Ball Platner, completed and revised by Thomas Ashby.
LC Call No.: DG16.P685
“This classic work covers the buildings, places, and natural features of ancient Rome. It includes both those surviving and those known only from ancient literary and documentary sources.” (Jenkins, 141) Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, utilizing extensive citation of ancient sources. “Platner and Ashby are now largely superceded by Richardson. Platner is now also available online through Perseus at www.perseus.tufts.edu.” (Ibid, 141)
New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome / L. Richardson, Jr.
LC Call No.: DG68.R5 1992
“This recent work covers all significant sites, monuments, and buildings from the earliest settlements at Rome to the sixth century A.D., with the exception of most Christian churches and tombs.” (Jenkins, 141) Arranged alphabetically, entries supply cross-references where appropriate.
Major Research Centers
The American School of Classical Studies at Athens
The American Academy in Rome
The American Research Center in Egypt
American Center of Oriental Research
University of Colorado at Boulder Classics Exhibits
Online exhibits of Greek vases and Roman coins from the collection at the CU Natural History Museum.
OhioLINK Greek and Latin Inscriptions (Digital Squeezes)
A collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) from the Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at the Ohio State University.
The Alison Frantz Photographic Collection
Access to the Alison Franz Photographic Collection at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. Pictures include Archaic and Classical sculptures, as well as Greek archaeological sites and finds. Please note: all images in the collection are property of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and their reproduction requires permission.
Access to ATLAS, a database of works on display at the Louvre. This site allows visitors to search the Louvre collection, read basic information that accompanies the work in the museum as well as expert commentary on the work, and create a personalized album.
The British Museum: Department of Greek and Roman Antiquities
Allows online access to the museum’s collection of Greek and Roman artifacts.
The Vatican Museum Online
Allows online access to various aspects of the Vatican’s collection.
The Egyptian Museum
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Searchable database of works on display at the MET.
The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
An online version of the MFA’s “Art of the Ancient World” exhibit.
The American Numismatic Society
A searchable database of antique coins.
Art & Art History
Citations, unless otherwise noted, were taken from Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Westport: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
LC Call No.: Z7016.J4 2006