UCB Libraries

Scala

Subject Guide for Classics: Greek & Latin Literature

Click on a link to the left to navigate to another Classics area, or choose a link below to see resources for Greek and Latin Literature:

 

Electronic Resources

Reference Works

Electronic Resources (Common)

 

The Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library established by Tufts University which contains searchable primary and secondary source material relating to the study of the classical world (in both native languages and translation). It consists of a home site in Somerville, MA as well as two mirror sites in Berlin, Germany and Chicago, IL.

 

Oxford Reference Online Classics
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/SUBJECT_SEARCH.html?subject=s3
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Searchable, online versions of the following Oxford Reference Titles: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who’s Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary, and the Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World.

 

The Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu/
Developed by MIT, the Internet Classics Archives is a searchable site containing English translations of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different Greco-Roman authors.

 

L’Année Philologique
http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
An international, annual index to research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology. Coverage: 1969 - present.
NOTE: The online version of L’Année Philologique will yield different results than the print version. For the most comprehensive results, please see the print version below.
For a PDF explaining how to use this index, click the link below.
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/classics/lannee.pdf

 

OCLC FirstSearch
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100113117
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A search engine allowing one to search for scholarly journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and papers in a wide array of fields and 13 databases, including WorldCat and ECO.

 

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/bmcr/
Contains searchable, online archives of the Bryn Mawr Classical Review from 1990 until the present.

JSTOR
http://www.jstor.org/
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A searchable archive of scholarly articles in a range of disciplines. NOTE: JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR” (for more information, go to JSTOR, see http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/archives/index.jsp

 

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=306&DBId=G647#sform
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Provides access to citations and abstracts for all titles within the Dissertation Abstract Database.

Electronic Resources (Latin):

 

William Whitaker’s Words
http://archives.nd.edu/words.html
An online Latin Dictionary designed to help the student with simple translations.

 

The Latin Library
http://www.thelatinlibrary.com/
The Latin Library provides online access to primary source material from various Latin authors. This site contains only Latin texts – if you are looking for a translation, please see Perseus or The Internet Classics Archive.

 

Project Gutenberg EBooks: New Latin Grammar by Charles E. Bennett
http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/PG/Bennett/bennett.htm
A free, online version of Charles Bennett’s New Latin Grammar made possible by the Project Gutenberg. For more information on the Project Gutenberg, or to browse the collection of other available works, see http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/

 

Brepolis
http://www.brepolis.net
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Provides access to the International Medieval Database Online, a bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500 CE), and The Library of Latin Texts, a full-text Latin database.

 

Electronic Resources (Greek):

The Chicago Homer
http://www.library.northwestern.edu/homer
“The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. In addition to all the texts of ancient Greek epic in the original Greek, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's translation of the Iliad, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated web site Eumaios users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad Scholia and papyrus readings.” (Chicago Homer)

 

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
http://www.tlg.uci.edu/
A searchable digital library of Greek literature from Homer until the fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE.

 

Didaskalia
http://www.didaskalia.net
Didaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.

 

Reference Works (Common):

 

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed. Rev.
LC Call No.: DE5.O9 2003
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3543637~s3
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is the standard general reference work on the classical world in the English language, covering all areas of antiquity from the beginnings of Greek civilization through late antiquity. “Containing articles on ancient authors, historical and mythological figures, places, events, and concepts…the revised third edition of 2003 makes largely nugatory changes, correcting minor errors and adding one article on epinician poetry that functions primarily as a cross reference.” (Jenkins, 48)

The Meridian Handbook of Classical Literature / Lillian Feder
*this is a revised edition of “Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Literature – 1964”
LC Call No.: PA31.F4 1986
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1698694~s3
The Meridian Handbook of Classical Literature is a 1986 reprinting of Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Literature (originally published in 1964). “Designed as a guide for students and general readers interested in classical literature and its influence, this handbook summarizes many of the best-known classical writings and provides useful background information.” (Jenkins, 187)

 

The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature / edited by M.C. Howatson and Ian Chilvers
LC Call No.: PA31.H69 1993
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1896856~s3
Howatson’s revised version of Sir Paul Henry’s Companion provides information about authors, historical figures, mythological characters, literary works, and general information about the ancient world. Taking the form of a dictionary, this book is acclaimed to be “the best of the general literary handbooks.” (Jenkins, 188)

 

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines. Compiled by Jean Susorney Wellington.
LC Call No.: PA99.W44 1983
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1078874~s3
This reference work helps clarify the mass of abbreviations used in classical studies. Wellington provides abbreviations of journals, series, and standard works common in the discipline. It is divided into two parts. The first lists abbreviations followed by an alphanumeric code that refers users to the bibliographic entries in the second part.

 

Clavis scriptorum Graecorum et Latinorum = Répertoire des auteurs grecs et latins = Repertoire of Greek and Latin authors / par Rodrigue LaRue ; avec la collaboration de Gilles Vincent et Bruno St-Onge
LC Call No.: PA3002.Z5 L37 1985
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1661272~s3
The “Clavis includes approximately 21,000 names of Greek and Latin writers from antiquity through the Renaissance.” It lists bibliographic information for authors, subjects, and titles of anonymous works. Entries include the standard name with date, language, genre, and variant forms of name. Because it includes only half the authors, the Clavis is most helpful in identifying obscure authors.

 

L’Année Philologique
LC Call No.: Z7016.M35A
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2101710~s3
An international annual index to research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, from Prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology.
Coverage: 1924 - 2005

 

Reference Works (Latin):

 

Oxford Latin Dictionary
LC Call No.: PA2365.E5 O9
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1588312~s3
The Oxford Latin Dictionary is the most comprehensive dictionary of classical Latin. NOTE: Christian Latin is “out of scope; for both this and late antique pagan authors one must consult Souter’s glossary.” (Jenkins, 173)

 

Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D. / Souter, Alexander.
LC Call No.: PA31.S6
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2000091~s3
“Souter, one of the editors of the Oxford Latin Dictionary, compiled this glossary to cover the gap between the OLD’s coverage and the beginning of the medieval period. ‘The glossary is intended to include all known ‘common’ words that, according to the witness of surviving writings and documents, do not occur in the period before A.D. 180 and yet may be certainly or reasonably assigned to a date earlier than A.D. 600.’” (Jenkins, 175)

 

New Latin Syntax / E.C. Woodcock
LC Call No.: PA2285.W6 1985
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3757767~s3
New Latin Syntax gives an historical account of Latin grammar from Plautus through Tacitus.

 

New Latin Grammar by Charles E. Bennett
LC Call No.: PA2087.B5 1969
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2694085~s3
Originally published in 1908, this is a proven Latin Grammar in the English language. In addition to being in the collection, this work is also available online through Project Gutenberg EBooks at http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/PG/Bennett/bennett.htm


Latin Literature: A History. Gian Biago Conte; tr. Joseph B. Solodow; rev. Dan Fowler & Glenn W. Most.
LC Call No.: PA6008.C6613 1994
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2022568~s3
This work provides a comprehensive history of Latin literature, arranged in chronological order, from its beginnings to the sixth century C.E. An English translation of the original Italian work (1987), this work contains the following information on each major author: background history, details of major works, literary trends, and information on an author’s reception by his contemporaries and posterity.

 

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae. Editus auctoritate et consilio academiarum quinque Germanicarum Berolinensis, Gottingensis, Lipsiensis, Monacensis, Vindobonensis.
LC Call No.: PA2361.T44 v.1-10
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2100641~s3
“The Thesaurus is intended to cover Latin in full from the beginnings to the Antonine age, with selective coverage extending up to the seventh century A.D. Individual scholars prepare the entry for each word; all articles are signed. Entries discuss forms, gender, and, when appropriate, vowel quantities. They then give the full history of the word. The treatment is exhaustive; each entry includes a massive number of examples and citations. The TLL is the best and fullest source available for the study of Latin lexicography. The latest information on the TLL [including addenda] can be found on its Web site: www.thesaurus.badw.de.” (Jenkins, 176)

 

Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue latine, histoire des mots, 4. Ed par A. Ernout et A. Moillet
LC Call No.: PA2342.E7 1960
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1222760~s3
Generally considered to be the standard Latin etymological dictionary, this work contains information regarding the history of each entry from early Latin through late antiquity, as well as its Indo-European roots and cross-references to modern studies, where applicable.

Glossarium Mediae et Infimae Latinitatis / Du Cange, Charles Du Fresne.
LC Call No.: PA2889.D8 1883a v. 1-5.
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1997556~s3
This reference work comprehensively covers postclassical and Medieval Latin words and their deviation from classical Latin. First published in 1678, this remains the leading dictionary of Medieval Latin.

 

Reference Works (Greek):

 

A Greek-English Lexicon / Compiled by Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott
LC Call No.: PA445.E5 L6 1996
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2608844~s3
This reference work remains the standard Greek-English lexicon. “The lexicon covers the Greek language from Homer to approximately A.D. 600. It addresses itself primarily to meanings of words; discussion of etymology is largely omitted. The editors have supplied many citations and examples in the entries. Their coverage of the classical authors is quite strong.” (Jenkins, 174) While there is an abridged version of the LSJ (as it is commonly referred) available, this 9th edition provides the most authoritative and accurate information.

 

A Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect, by Richard John Cunliffe
LC Call No.: PA4209.C8 1963
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1026582~s3
This lexicon is completely devoted to Homer’s Epic Greek, defining and listing all occurrences of all words in the Iliad, Odyssey, and the Homeric Hymns. This work is a must for beginning students of Homer.

 

Lexicon of Greek Personal Names / edited by P.M. Fraser and E. Matthews
LC Call No.: CS2349.L48 1987
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1729454~s3
This growing collection is a project undertaken by an international team of scholars under the sponsorship of the British Academy to replace the nineteenth-century compilation of Wilhelm Pape, and catalog all Greek personal names sans most names from mythology and Greek epic poetry and foreign residents of Athens. Each volume is dedicated to a particular geographic region, with entries alphabetically arranged. More information about completion and an online index to the published volume is available online at www.lgpn.ox.ac.uk.

 

A Greek Grammar for Colleges, by Herbert Weir Smyth
LC Call No.: PA258.S63
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1157869~s3
This work is the standard reference grammar of classical Greek in the English language. “Smyth provides a clear guide to the complexities of Greek morphology and syntax. This venerable work serves well the needs of students; scholars will need to supplement it with the larger German grammars.” (Jenkins, 182)

 

Ausführliche Grammatik der griechischen Sprache / Kühner, Raphael, Friedrich Blass, and Bernhard Gerth.
LC Call No.: PA254.K7 1966
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1508072~s3
A comprehensive grammar of the Greek language, this book caters to the seasoned scholar and makes up for shortcoming found in Smyth.

 

Griechische Grammatik: Auf der Grundlage von Karl Brugmanns Griechischer Grammatik / Schwyzer, Eduard.
LC Call No.: PA25.H24 Abt. 2 T.1
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1476602~s3
“Along with Kühner-Blass, this is one of the two standard reference grammars for ancient Greek.” (Jenkins, 182) Volume one presents phonology, word formation, and morphology. The second volume deals with syntax and stylistics, offering “extensive illustrative examples from Greek literature and a generous array of citations from the secondary literature.” Volume three contains word indexes, and volume four is an index locorum.

Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue Grecque, histoire des mots / Chantraine, Pierre
LC Call No.: PA422.C5
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1024413~s3
This dictionary of the Greek language is concerned with the form and usage of words throughout its history. Users of this work should note that “Chantraine is more concerned with the histories of the words than with their origins and linguistic affiliations.” (Jenkins, 171)

 

Griechisches etymologisches Wörterbuch / Frisk, Hjalmar
LC Call No.: PA422.F7
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1029554~s3
This work is the standard etymological dictionary for the Greek language. Frisk’s “compact entries provide a wealth of information on the forms and meanings of Greek words, although his chief concern is to present their linguistic connections and etymologies.” (Jenkins, 173)

 

A History of Greek Literature / Albin Lesky; tr. James Willis & Cornelis de Heer
LC Call No.: PA3057.L413 1966
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1028564~s3
A chronological guide to Greek literature, this work gives “a broad outline for the student, initial guidance to the researcher, and to the interested public a speedy but not superficial approach to the literature of Greece.” (Jenkins, 193) This book maintains its strength in the fourth and fifth century BCE, omitting some minor authors and all Christian literature for the sake of brevity. According to Jenkins, its role as the standard history of Greek literature has now been lost to the Cambridge History of Classical Literature.

The Cambridge History of Classical Literature / edited by P.E. Easterling and B.M.W. Knox
LC Call No.: PA3052.C35 1989
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1833067~s3
This work has been heralded as “the best and most current scholarly history of classical Greek literature available in English.” (Jenkins, 192) Arranged in chronological order, its coverage is “thorough from Homer through the second century A.D. but then becomes spotty.” (192) Its primary focus lies on literary discussion, and for this reason the reader will find “much more discussion and appreciation of the works themselves than is typical in histories of Greek and Latin literature.” (192)

 

Citations, unless otherwise noted, were taken from Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Westport: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.

LC Call No.: Z7016.J4 2006

http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3898251~S3