UCB Libraries

Stadium

Subject Guide for Classics: Greek & Roman History

Click on a link to the left to navigate to another Classics area, or choose a link below to see resources for Greek and Roman History:

 

Electronic Resources

Enclyclopediae, Handbooks, and Reference Literature

Other Helpful Subject Guides

 

Electronic Resources (Common)

 

The Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library established by Tufts University which contains searchable primary and secondary source material relating to the study of the classical world (in both native language and translation). It consists of a home site in Somerville, MA as well as two mirror sites in Berlin, Germany and Chicago, IL.

Oxford Reference Online Classics
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/SUBJECT_SEARCH.html?subject=s3
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Searchable, online versions of the following Oxford Reference Titles: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who’s Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary, and the Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World.

 

Brill’s New Pauly Online
http://www.brillonline.nl/subscriber/uid=1923/title_home?title_id=bnp_bnp
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Provides online access to the Brill’s New Pauly, an English-language edition of Der Neue Pauly encyclopedia. Currently a work in progress, the online catalogue includes Antiquity entries from A-P and Classical Tradition entries from A-J. When completed,“this will be the largest classical dictionary/encyclopedia available in English, with far more depth than the Oxford Classical Dictionary.” (Jenkins, 45)

The Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu/
Developed by MIT, the Internet Classics Archives is a searchable site containing English translations of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different Greco-Roman authors.

 

L’Année Philologique
http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
An international, annual index to research on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology. Coverage: 1969 - present.
NOTE: The online version of L’Année Philologique will yield different results than the print version. For the most comprehensive results, please see the print version below.
For a PDF explaining how to use this index, click the link below.
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/reference/handouts/pdf/30_lannee.pdf

 

OCLC FirstSearch
http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100113117
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A search engine allowing one to search for scholarly journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and papers in a wide array of fields and 13 databases, including WorldCat and ECO.

 

JSTOR
http://www.jstor.org/
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A searchable archive of scholarly articles in a range of disciplines. “JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR” (for more information, go to JSTOR, see http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/archives/index.jsp

 

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=306&DBId=G647#sform
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
Provides access to citations and abstracts for all titles within the Dissertation Abstract Database.

 

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/HALSALL/ancient/asbook.html

 

APIS – The Advanced Papyrological Information System
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/projects/digital/apis/resources.html
This site contains useful links to websites that aid in the study of papyrology.

 

Gnomon Online – Bibliographische Datenbank
http://www.gnomon.ku-eichstaett.de/Gnomon/en/Gnomon.html
Gnomon Online is a supplement to the Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank CD, containing complete entries from 1997 onwards, updated once per week. The collection contains approximately 15% of the total collection found on the CD-ROM, which now comprises over 240,000 entries. “Gnomon Online is a full text retrieval system with very fast responses; at the same time it is an information system using the advantages of an extensive thesaurus with more than 5,500 controlled items.” (Gnomon Online)

 

Electronic Resources (Roman)


Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae Project
http://formaurbis.stanford.edu/
“This site is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome. This enormous map, measuring ca. 18.10 x 13 meters (ca. 60 x 43 feet), was carved between 203-211 CE and covered an entire wall inside the Templum Pacis in Rome. It depicted the ground plan of every architectural feature in the ancient city, from large public monuments to small shops, rooms, and even staircases. This site presents 1,186 of the surviving fragments and 87 fragments known only from Renaissance drawings in a fully searchable database. Each entry includes digital color photographs and 3D models, a search box, a description of the fragment, an analysis of its significance and a review of the scholarly literature.” (Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae website)

 

The Roman Law Library
http://webu2.upmf-grenoble.fr/Haiti/Cours/Ak/index.htm
The Roman Law Library is an online database of various documents pertaining to Roman Law, organized by type of document and language.

 

Electronic Resources (Roman Epigraphy)

 

Epigraphische Datenbank Clauss – Slaby
http://www.manfredclauss.de/gb/index.html
This database records Latin inscriptions. The texts are presented without abbreviations in a simple format and completed whenever possible. Additional information available to the user includes hyperlinks to other epigraphical databases as well as statistical data indicating which volumes are recorded completely in the database.

 

Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg
http://www.uni-heidelberg.de/institute/sonst/adw/edh/index.html.en
This site provides access to three databases: The Epigraphic Text Database, the Epigraphic Bibliography, and the Photographic Database. Consisting of over 42,000 inscriptions, the Epigraphic Text Database is not confined to the mere texts, but contains links to all the available bibliographic material on both the inscriptions and the monuments on which they are inscribed.

 

Ubi Erat Lupa
http://www.ubi-erat-lupa.org/platform_e.shtml
This site allows one to search databases pertaining to Roman Stone Monuments, epigraphical monuments from the Iberian Peninsula, stamped Roman tiles, and Roman finds from outside the Roman Empire (Corpus of Roman finds in the European Barbaricum)

 

Electronic Resources (Greek)

 

Stoa Consortium – The Suda Online
http://www.stoa.org/sol/help.shtml
This helpful website contains the Suda online, as well as helpful resources for studying the Suda.

University of Notre Dame Library – Google book links
http://www.library.nd.edu/byzantine_studies/GoogleBooks_links.shtml#Civilis
This site contains useful links to online texts of the Corpus Iuris Civilis, Corpus Scriptorum Historiae Byzantinae, Franz Miklosich and Joseph Müller’s Acta et diplomata Graeca medii aevi sacra et profana, the Patrologia Graeca, and Konstantinos Sathas’ Mesaionike vivliotheke.

 

Electronic Resources (Religious studies)

 

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA serials (EBSCOHost)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=rfh

CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
The ATLA database is a collection of major religious and theological journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text journals representing all major religious faiths, denominations and language groups are included. Coverage dates back to 1949.

 

The Brill Dictionary of Religion
http://www.brillonline.nl/subscriber/uid=1923/title_home?title_id=bdr_bdr
CU Requires VPN software to access off campus (http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/offcampusaccess.htm).
A revised ed. of the Metzler Lexikon Religion published 1999-2002, this work contains over 500 articles with bibliographies, cross references, maps, and illustrations. The articles are organized under the following six thematic fields: the human being; the individual & the group; environment, society, & culture; elements of religious systems; history of religions; and geography & territoriality of religion. Also includes entries on critical terms for the study of religion. The articles within the thematic fields explain the basic elements of religion, present overviews of important religious & philosophical traditions, discuss themes of public interest in contemporary societies, treat important representatives of religious traditions & influential figures in the study of religion, discuss religion in cultural and anthrop-geographical units, provide overviews of historical periods, and give brief information on certain historical phenomena and terms.

 

Projekt DYABOLA
http://www.dyabola.de/en/indexfrm.htm?page=http://www.dyabola.de/
Contains an online version of the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) in Rome (1956-2003), as well as the Sachkatalog der Römisch-Germanischen Kommission Frankfurt (1992-93), the acquisition list of the DAI in Madrid (1991-2002), the Archäologische Jahresbibliographie (2003), and the Winckelmann bibliography (works on J.J. Winckelmann from 1755 to 1998).

 

Encyclopediae and Handbooks (Common):

 

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed. Rev.
LC Call No.: DE5.O9 2003
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3543637~s3
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is the standard general reference work on the classical world in the English language, covering all areas of antiquity from the beginnings of Greek civilization through late antiquity. “Containing articles on ancient authors, historical and mythological figures, places, events, and concepts…the revised third edition of 2003 makes largely nugatory changes, correcting minor errors and adding one article on epinician poetry that functions primarily as a cross reference.” (Jenkins, 48)

 

The Cambridge Ancient History
LC Call No.: D57.C252
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1130018~s3
The Cambridge Ancient History is comprised of 14 volumes covering political, social, economic, and cultural history from prehistory through late antiquity. Each volume covers particular eras and sometimes regions, with many maps and extensive bibliographies. “Designed for the use of scholars and advanced students, the CAH is the most substantial and all-inclusive survey of ancient history available.” (Jenkins, 96)

 

Chronology of the Ancient World / E.J. Bickermann
LC Call No.: D54.5.B5 1980
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3049715~s3
This work is divided into two sections. The first provides a general chronology of the ancient world, with emphasis on Greece, Rome, and Greco-Roman Egypt. The second section is a collection of tables, including lists of astronomical data, kings, emperors, and magistrates. “Bickermann is the most accessible general treatment of ancient chronology and is particularly good for students.” (Jenkins, 98)

 

Greek and Roman Chronology: Calendars and Years in Classical Antiquity / Alan E. Samuel.
LC Call No.: PA25.H24 Abt. 1, T.7 1972
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1162142~s3
“Samuel covers the same ground as Bickermann but does so in much more detail. After a chapter on the astronomical background, he covers virtually all known Greek and Roman calendars in a series of chapters arranged by region and period. These include Greek astronomical calendars, Greek civil calendars, calendars of the Hellenistic kingdoms, the Roman calendar, and calendars of the eastern Roman provinces. The final two chapters cover Greek and Roman chronography. Indexes of subjects, months, and sources conclude the volume. In most cases, Samuel offers fuller and more detailed information than does Bickermann. However, Bickermann offers a more accessible guide for the layperson and student.” (Jenkins, 104)

 

Food in the Ancient World from A to Z / Andrew Dalby
LC Call No.: GT2853.G8 D35 2003
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3531715~s3
“Dalby has produced an interesting compendium of all things related to food in the ancient world. Obviously this includes foodstuffs, wines, writers on food, and so on. But Dalby often goes much further afield, including entries for people and places only tangentially connected to food (e.g., sites where depictions of food or inscriptions about it have been found). In addition to Greece and Rome, he covers Egypt and the ancient Near East.” (Jenkins, 99)

 

Sport in the Ancient World from A to Z / Mark Golden
LC Call No.: G573.G654 2004
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=3596210~s3
This selective dictionary covers both Greek and Roman sports. Providing an introduction to the nature of ancient sports and a chronology of key events in their development, “Golden’s entries cover the sites of ancient competitions, events, individuals associated with sports (sponsors, officials, and athletes), and technical terms.” (Jenkins, 100)

 

Encyclopediae and Handbooks (Roman)

 

Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome / Lesley Adkins & Roy A. Adkins
LC Call No.: DG77.A35 2004
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=3631145~s3
The Adkins “offer a handy guide to beginning and intermediate students.” (Jenkins, 97) Concerned with the social history of Rome, this book provides an overview of social structures, government, military affairs, geography, economy, and religion from the founding of Rome in 753 BCE until the death of Justinian in 565 CE.

 

Introduction to Roman Law / Barry Nicholas
LC Call No.: JC85.L3 N5
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2001020~s3
“For more than 40 years Nicholas’ frequently reprinted work has been the standard introduction to the subject for students in the English-speaking world. An introductory section covers the history and sources of Roman law. Subsequent sections cover various types of law: of persons, of property, of obligations, and of succession. Nicholas’ focus is on private law, although he occasionally touches on constitutional and other public aspects of the law.” (Jenkins, 103)

 

Chronicle of the Roman Republic: The Rulers of Rome from Romulus to Augustus / Philip Matyszak
LC Call No.: DG231.M28 2003
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3545925~s3
This book, designed for the beginning student and general reader, provides information about Rome’s leaders from the founding of the city in 753 BCE through Octavian’s victory at Actium in 31 BCE. It is divided into four major sections: the age of the kings, the founding of the republic, the mid-republic, and the last republicans.

 

Chronicle of the Roman Emperors: The Reign by Reign Record of the Rulers of Imperial Rome / Chris Scarre.
LC Call No.: DG274.S28 1995
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2593039~s3
“Scarre has produced an attractive and readable account of the emperors, suitable for beginning students and general readers.” (Jenkins, 104) This book treats emperors from Augustus to Romulus Augustus in chronological order. “Scarre supplies the basic biographical and historical facts about each, along with the ever-popular stories and anecdotes. He also provides time lines, genealogical charts, and numerous excerpts from ancient authors. Scarre is strongest on the Julio-Claudians and Flavians; coverage of the late emperors is somewhat thin.”

 

Römische Geschichtsschreibung / Dieter Flach
LC Call No.: DG205.P6
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=1956510~s3
This work is a handbook of Roman historical writing. Flach “begins with a brief discussion of the ancient Greek historians who influenced the writing of Roman history. Then he proceeds in chronological order from the earliest works (Annales Maximi, Fabius Pictor) through Ammianus Marcellinus in the fourth century A.D. Flach focuses on the historiography and only covers the lives of authors incidentally.” (Jenkins, 212) This work includes a chronology, enumeration of editions, translations, and commentaries.

Encyclopediae and Handbooks (Greek)

 

Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece / Lesley Adkins and Roy A. Adkins
LC Call No.: DF77.A35 2005
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3735988~s3
A handbook covering the Greek world from the Bronze Age to the Roman conquest of Egypt (30 BCE), arranged in ten chapters covering political aspects, military aspects, geography, economy, language and literature, religion and mythology, art, science, philosophy, and social history. This book is illustrated, with plenty of maps, and contains a bibliography with a guide to further reading. “Students, especially beginners, will find this a useful aid, with a strong emphasis on social, economic, and cultural history.” (Jenkins, 97)

 

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Warfare / Iain G. Spence
LC Call No.: U33.S64 2002
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3434852~s3
“Spence begins with a lengthy chronology of Greek military history from the possible date of the Trojan War (1270 BCE) to the fall of Ptolemaic Egypt in 30 BCE. Then the introduction sets the context and provides an overview of Greek weapons and tactics. The dictionary proper, which follows, includes articles on people, places, wars and battles, weapons, and other military topics. The articles are densely written and full of detail; there are many cross-references. A glossary of Greek military terms and a substantial bibliography conclude the book.” (Jenkins, 105)

 

Greek Epigraphy

Archaic Times to the End of the Peloponnesian War / edited and translated by Charles W. Fornara
LC Call No.: DF222.A7
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1319039~s3
Designed as a supplement for the readily available sources such as Herodotus and Thucydides, this book, aimed at the college and graduate level student, draws upon lesser authors and inscriptions to convey stories regarding the foundation of cities, laws, official and private letters, accounts and dedications in the period from c. 776 BCE to 403 BCE.

 

From the End of the Peloponnesian War to the Battle of Ipsus / edited and translated by Phillip Harding
LC Call No.: DF230.9.F76 1985
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1569827~s3
This work contains more than 140 selections from lesser authors and inscriptions of the fourth-century BCE translated into English.

 

A Selection of Greek Historical Inscriptions to the end of the Fifth Century BC. / edited by Russell Meiggs and David Lewis
LC Call No.: CN360.S45 1988
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1765712~s3
This work contains selections in Greek.

 

Greek historical inscriptions : from the sixth century B.C. to the death of Alexander the Great in 323 / edited by Marcus N. Tod
LC Call No.: CN365.S44 1985
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1639207~s3
This work contains selections in Greek.

 

Greek Historical Inscriptions 403-323 BC / edited with introduction, translations, and commentaries by P.J. Rhodes and Robin Osborne
LC Call No.: CN365.G74 2003
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3619358~s3
This work contains selections in both English and Greek.

 

Late Antiquity / Early Church Fathers

 

Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world / G.W. Bowersock, Peter Brown, Oleg Grabar, editors ; [ research assistants, Michael Gaddis ... [et al.]]
LC Call No.: DE5.L29 1999
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3099806~s3
Covering the Mediterranean World from 250 – 800 CE, this work begins with several essays published under the name Interpreting Late Antiquity: Essays on the Postclassical World (Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2001) before continuing as an encyclopedia offering articles on all aspects of late antiquity. “This is both an excellent introduction and reference work on the late antique period, useful both for students and scholars.” (Jenkins, 44)

 

Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum : Sachwörterbuch zur Auseinandersetzung des Christentums mit der antiken Welt. Supplement / herausgegeben von Theodor Klauser ... [et al.]
LC Call No.: BR131.R4 Suppl
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1653531~s3
“This encyclopedia focuses on the civilization of the ancient Mediterranean world in relation to the early history of Christianity. Thus it offers broad but selective coverage of the ancient Near East and the classical world, combined with detailed coverage of early Christianity through the sixth century A.D. It includes articles on a wide range of topics: individual biographies, literature, philosophy, religion, medicine, and general antiquities... While the Reallexikon does not really provide encyclopedic coverage of the classical world, it is an invaluable resource for anyone seriously interested in ancient philosophy and religion, early Christianity, or late antiquity in general.” (Jenkins, 49)

 

Rome in the fourth century A.D.: an annotated bibliography with historical overview / by Alden Rollins
LC Call No.: Z2340.R653 1991
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1870460~s3
“Rollins has gathered twentieth-century English-language materials through 1988. His more than 1,400 entries include books, dissertations, and articles. He arranges these into 11 broad subject categories, such as politics and government, military matters, literature and education, and so forth. Together they cover virtually every aspect of fourth-century history and life.” (Jenkins, 90)

 

Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina
LC Call No.: BR60.C49
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b2112766~s3
Some vols. in this series are unnumbered and classed separately. For these holdings, browse by series under entry: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina (Unnumbered). To see individual titles in this series and their circulation status, search by Call No., distinctive title, or series title.

 

Patrologiae cursus completus, sive biblioteca universalis, integra, uniformis, commoda, oeconomica, omnium SS. Patrum, doctorum scriptorumque eccelesiasticorum qui ab aevo apostolico ad usque Innocentii III tempora floruerunt ... [Series Latina, in qua prodeunt Patres, doctores scriptoresque Ecclesiae Latinae, a Tertulliano ad Innocentium III] Accurante J.-P. Migne

Also known as Patrologia Latina
LC Call No.: BR60.M45
http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1423273~s3

 

Patrologiae cursus completus, seu, Bibliotheca universalis, integra, uniformis, commoda, oeconomica : omnium SS patrum, doctorum scriptorumque ecclesiasticorum ... : series græca, in qua prodeunt patres, doctores scriptoresque Ecclesiae græcae / A.S. Barnaba ad Photium ; accurante J.P. Migne

Also known as Patrologia Graeca

LC Call No.: BR60.M5

http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b1100049~S3

 

Other Helpful Subject Guides

History
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/history/index.htm

 

Religious Studies
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/religiousstudies.htm

 

Citations, unless otherwise noted, were taken from Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Westport: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.

LC Call No.: Z7016.J4 2006

http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=b3898251~S3