UCB Libraries

 

Subject Guide for Comparative Literature

 

  • Getting Started
  • Literature
  • Web
  • Newspapers, Reviews
  • History, Art, Film
How do I?

 

Welcome to the library!

 

This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.

 

 

+ Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.

 

+ Finding Background Information

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary
Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. CU

 

Oxford language dictionaries online

Bilingual dictionaries and study materials in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Chinese. Also includes illustrative examples to help you choose the correct translation and native speaker audio pronunciation of words. CU

 

Oxford Reference Online

In addition to containing several literary dictionaries, this resource includes bilingual dictionaries in a number of languages. CU

 

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Book of the Year and World Data Analyst, an easy-to-use database for comparing demographic, economic, and political statistics across the world and over time. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. CU

 

Foreign Language Dictionaries

Biographical Sources

Dictionary of Literary Biography CU

 

Contemporary Authors
Biographical details on approximately 112,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. CU

 

Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. CU

 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. CU

 

Cyclopedia of world authors (5 vols)

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (300 volumes)

History and Criticism

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online CU

 

Contemporary Literary Criticism CU

 

History in literature : a reader's guide to 20th-century history and the literature it inspired

Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary

 

Masterplots : 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature

 

The Norton anthology of theory and criticism

 

Studying literature : the essential companion

 

Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory

 

Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)

 

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary

Literary Theory

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]

 

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]

 

The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms

 

A dictionary of critical theory

 

Encyclopedia of postcolonial studies

 

Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary

 

A multicultural dictionary of literary terms

 

The Norton anthology of theory and criticism

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory

 

Studying literature : the essential companion

 

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary

 

Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory

 

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

 

+ Finding Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of corruption in Latin American cinema

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

representation
corruption
Latin American cinema

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.

 

Everyday Example

 

Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights

 

Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos

 

Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game

 

Research Paper Example

 

Concept 1:

portrayal

illustration

account

embodiment

Concept 2:

bribery

extortion

fraud

perversion

Concept 3:

Spanish American

Movies

Film Industry

Motion pictures

 

 

Further Guides:

 

Chinese Studies | French Studies | German Studies | Italian Studies | Japanese Studies | Korean Studies | Latin American Studies | Portuguese Studies | Slavic Studies | Spanish Studies

How do I?

 

Find books and articles on Comparative literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

+ Author Resources

Books

To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Biography (e.g. Anaya, Rudolfo biography)
American literature -- Hispanic American authors
Women authors, Latin American -- Biography -- Dictionaries

 

Articles 

To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:

CU Biography and genealogy master index

CU Contemporary authors

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU Dictionary of literary biography

CU Oxford reference online : premium collection

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

+ Novel Resources

Books

To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Flaubert and Madame Bovary

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
French Literature 16th Century History And Criticism
French Literature 18th Century History And Criticism Congresses
French Literature Women Authors History And Criticism

 

Articles 

To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science

CU Contemporary literary criticism

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU Humanities full text

CU IBZ - International bibliography of periodical literature

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 
+ Poetry Resources

Books

Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.

 

Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found

eg Les fleurs du mal

to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Spanish Poetry 18th Century
Ballads American
Haiku

 

Articles 

To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.

 

Start Here:MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

 

CU ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science

CU Contemporary literary criticism

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU Humanities full text

CU IBZ - International bibliography of periodical literature

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

 

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Web Resources

Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC

Latin American (Intute)

Poetry

+ Theater Resources

Books

To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.

 

To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Feminist Theater
Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre)
Costume Bibliography

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU International Index to the Performing Arts

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU MLA international bibliography

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide

 
+ Film Resources

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:


CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

 

 
+ Browse the Collection

The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of comparative literature topics.

P Philology. Linguistics

PA Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature

PB Modern languages. Celtic languages

PC Romanic languages

Romanian Literature PC601-872
Italian Literature PC1001-1977
French Literature PC2001-3761
Catalan Literature, PC3900-3976

Spanish Philology, PC4001-4071

Spanish Language, PC4073--4977

Portuguese Philology, PC5001-5041

Portuguese Language, PC5043-5498

PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages

Modern Icelandic PD2401-2446
Norwegian PD(2501)-2999
Danish PD3001-3929
Swedish PD5001-5929

PE English language

PF West Germanic languages

Dutch PF1-979
Flemish PF1001-1184
Friesian PF1401-1541
German PF3001-5999

PG Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language

Slavic philology and languages PG1-499
Slavic literature PG500-585
Russian literature PG2900-3698

Ukrainian PG3801-3987
Czech PG4001-5146
Slovak PG5201-5546
Polish PG6001-7446
Lithuanian PG8501-8772
Latvian PG8801-9146
Albanian PG9501-9665

PH Uralic languages. Basque language

Finnish PH101-405

Hungarian PH2001-3445
Basque PH5001-5490

PJ Oriental languages and literatures

PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures

PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania

PM Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages

PN Literature (General) Subclass

Theory. Philosophy. Ethics. PN 45-57

Criticism. PN 80-99

Technique, Literary Composition, etc. PN 172-239

Special Relations, Movements, and Currents of Literature. PN597-605

Comparative Literature. PN851-884

PQ French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese
literature

French literature PQ1-3999
Italian literature PQ4001-5999
Spanish Literature, PQ6001-8929

Portuguese Literature, PQ9000-9999

Literature of Spanish America PQ 7081-8560

PR English literature
PS American literature

Canadian literature PS8001-8599

PT German literature - Dutch literature - Flemish literature since 1830 -Afrikaans literature - Scandinavian literature - Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian - Modern Icelandic literature - Faroese literature - Danish literature - Norwegian literature - Swedish literature

German literature PT1-4897

Dutch literature PT5001-5980

Flemish literature since 1830 PT6000-6466.36
Afrikaans literature PT6500-6592.36
Scandinavian literature PT7001-7099
Modern Icelandic literature PT7351-7550

Danish literature PT7601-8260

Norwegian literature PT8301-9155
Swedish literature PT9201-9999

PZ Fiction and juvenile belles lettres

 
+ Theses and Dissertations


From CU

 

Online PDFs: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation (1997-present)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses CU
The full text of dissertations produced at any campus of the University of Colorado system from 1997 to the present are available here as free PDF downloads. To initiate the free download, click on the "Full Text - PDF" link that appears underneath the citation and abstract information of the dissertation you'd like to see.

Print copies: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation using the Chinook Library Catalog

 

  • The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, or keyword.
  • In Chinook, the term THESIS denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations.
  • The call number for CU Boulder theses and dissertations begin with the letter "T," followed by the year of the thesis and then a code matching the author's last name.

 

From Other Institutions

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
    Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU
  • ABI/Inform Global
    This database contains the full-text of over 10,000 dissertations in business and management. Under "publication type," select "dissertations." CU
  • WorldCat
    Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Limit results by "subtype limits: any content" to "thesis/dissertation." CU

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through the above resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.


Dissertations and Theses from Other Countries

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

 

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through these resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.

Search for Theses and Dissertations in Specific Geographic Regions/Countries

+ Microform

Reader/Printers for microforms are available in the Libraries.

 

Equipment includes:

  • Microcard reader/printers
  • Microfilm/fiche reader/printers
  • Microfim/fiche/card digitals scanners (Research Services only)
    scan & email or save to flash drive or SD card

Cost to make a copy:

  • 25¢ / page: cash (coin or up to $10 bills), change dispensed
  • 25¢ / page: Copy Cards

Copy Cards:

  • Cards may be purchased from a Copy Card Vending Station (a.k.a Jamex Card Dispenser & Re-Value Station) using a $1.00 bill; there will be no value on the card.
  • Money may be added to the Copy Card in increments of $1.00, $5.00, $10.00 or $20.00 up to a total of $25.00.
  • Colorful new bills may not work in these machines.

Copy Card Vending Station locations:

  • Norlin: Research & Instruction
  • Norlin: Science Library
  • Map Library

Refunds for failed copy jobs:

  • InkSpot Copy Center, 303-492-7878
    UMC 130C, Mon-Fri 7:30am-4:30pm

Maintenance, repair and technical assistance for Norlin Library's microform scanning equipment:

  • Call Michael Riberdy (Libraries Information Technology), 303-492-2816.
Norlin Library Beyond Norlin

2nd floor

  • Research Center

3rd floor

  • Government Information
  • Business Library
  • Engineering Library
  • Music Library

 

The following web sites are portals to a wealth of information for students of Comparative Literature.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

+ Web Resources

Comparative Literature and Humanities Associations

American Comparative Literature Association

Modern Languages Association

Rocky Mountains Modern Languages Association

University of Colorado at Boulder: Department of Compartive Literature and Humanities

General Links

WESS Web (Association of Research Libraries)
WESS Web, the Western European Studies Section of the Association of Research Libraries, provides access to scholarly resources in many aspects of Western European Studies.

 

Intute: University of Oxford (Web Links)

General humanities

Archaeology

Classics

English

Gender studies

History

History and philosophy of science

Humanities computing

Islamic studies

Jewish studies

Linguistics

Manuscript studies

Museum, library, and archive studies

Philosophy

Religion and theology

 

 

 

Looking for historical reviews of plays and novels? Keeping up with digital humanities? Try the following tools to help:

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

By Country

 

+ US Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
New York Times

 

New York Times
from June 01, 1980- in ProQuest Newsstand
Nov. 14, 1857- Dec. 31, 2006 in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
from June 01, 1980- in Lexis Nexis

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU ProQuest newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

 

CU National Newspaper Index

Provides access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 - present.

Historical Newspapers

Individual Papers:

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2001
New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal 1889-1987

The Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

Print Indexes

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Los Angeles Times 1972 - present AI21 .L6 Reference
Washington Post 1971 - present AI21 .W3 Reference
Denver Post 1963 - present AI21 .D458 Reference
Christian Science Monitor 1960 - present AI21 .C46 Reference
New York Times 1913 - present AI21 .N44 Reference
Black Newspapers 1980 - recent AI3 .I46 Reference

 

 

Multiple Papers:

 

CU Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile)

The largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Indexes newspapers and periodicals, as well as books and government documents. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), supplemented by Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902; the "British Poole's") and other indexes to 19th-century publications.

 

CU African American newspapers : the 19th century

Database that contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

 

CU America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series I and Series II

The Series I database offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of nearly 350,000 issues from over 700 historical American newspapers focusing largely on the 18th century. Series II complements Series I by offering fully searchable digital facsimiles of several hundred thousand issues from more than 200 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers.

 

CU HarpWeek

An index and the electronically reproduced and enhanced pages of Harper's weekly, 1857-1865

 

CU Index to Early American Periodicals, 1741-1935
This database covers all known periodicals that began and ended publication between 1741 and 1935; the full text of the periodicals is in the American Periodical Series I, II, and III, and English Literary Periodicals microfilm series.

 

CU 19th century U.S. newspapers

Provides online access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

 

CU Readers' Guide
Database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Retrospective gives a detailed account of U.S. culture and history. Covers 1890-present. CU

 

CU Periodicals Index Online
Index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences since 1770. Some of these are full-text in Periodicals Archive Online.

 
+ UK Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.

Guardian

 

Guardian
from July 14, 1984- in Lexis Nexis 
from Jan. 02, 1981- in Factiva 
from Aug. 18, 1992- in ProQuest Newsstand

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU ProQuest Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Individual Papers:

 

CU Times digital archive, 1785-1985
Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times ( London), available in full page images.

 

Multiple Papers:

 

CU Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile)

The largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Indexes newspapers and periodicals, as well as books and government documents. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), supplemented by Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902; the "British Poole's") and other indexes to 19th-century publications.

 

CU Eighteenth century journals

This collection is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including the American and French revolutions, British and European literature, theatre and popular entertainment, politics and religion, popular morality and social life, and exoticism and imperialism.

 

British Library Online Newspaper Archive

Archive provides full-text access to the Daily News, Manchester Guardian, News of the World, Penny Illustrated , and the Weekly Dispatch going back as early as 1851.

 

CU Periodicals Index Online
Index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences since 1770. Some of these are full-text in Periodicals Archive Online.

 

Print Indexes

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Guardian (UK) 1842 - 1985

Microfilm 5752

Microfiche 1273

Ask at circulation desk
  1986 - 2003 AI21.G8 G82 Reference
Daily universal register 1785- 1787 Microfilm 55  Ask at circulation desk

 

 

 

+ French Language Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Monde  (0395-2037)

 

from 01/08/1987 to present in LexisNexis Academic
from 12/21/1994 to present in Factiva
from 04/02/2006 to present in Business Source Complete

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

La Presse quotidienne dans Gallica

 

Belgian Press
1831 to 1950. Titles include: L'Indépendance Belge, L'Avenir du Luxembourg, and Almanach d'Uylenspiegel.

 

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques

 

Swiss National Library: Digitized Newspapers

 

 

Print Indexes

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Index analytique 1966-1972 AI7 .I5 Pascal
Périodex 1972-1983 AI7 .P4  Reference Stacks
Point de repère 1984-1993 AI7 .P65  Pascal
Repère 1994-2007 AI7 .P65  Pascal
French periodical index 1973-1995

AI7 .F7

Pascal
Bibliographie der franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft 1956-1998 Z2173.3 .K45 Reference Stacks  
Bibliographie de la presse française politique et dʼinformation générale 1865-1944 Z6956.F8 P32 Reference Stacks

 

+ German Language Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper/Magazine

To access a specific newspaper/magazine, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper/magazine will appear. 

E.g.
Der Spiegel

Der Spiegel
from Jan. 22, 1999 to present in Lexis Nexis  
from Jan. 01, 1947 to present in Full-text via publisher 

 

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers/Magazines

Austrian newspapers online

The Austrian National Library's virtual newspaper reading room and a portal to historical journals, periodicals and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria. Millions of pages of newspapers from the early 18th century to the 1930s are currently posted.

 

Arbeiter Zeitung
Open newspaper archive covering 1945-1989

 

Amtspresse Preussens
Open access archive to two widely distributed and influential Prussian newspapers from the second half of the 19th century, the Provinzial-Correspondenz, 1863-1884 and the Neueste Mittheilungen, 1882-1894.

 

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online - Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung [1854/61-1935], Coburger Nationalzeitung [1930-1945], and others.

 

Compact Memory
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938.

 

Exilpresse Digital : Deutsche Exilzeitschriften, 1933-1945
Newspapers and periodicals published by various exile communities before and during World War II.

 

Freiburger Historische Bestände - digitalisiert
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943) and Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) and other material. Browseable by date.

 

Pressemappe 20. jahrhunderts
Retrospective digitization of economic press articles from the Institute for World Economy (IfW) and the Hamburg World Economy Archives (HWWA), 1826-1948.

 

Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden - Historische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften
Digitized images of newspapers from the region of Saxony. Contains Leipziger Zeitungen (1740), Sachsenzeitung (1830-1834), and others.

 

Spiegel Wissen

Spiegel's free online archive back to 1947 includes all content except for the two most recent issues. A separate section exists for Spiegel Dossiers. Searches also bring up results from Wikipedia and from the Lexikon, which includes a Bertelsmann encyclopedia, Wahrig's Rechtschreibung, and Bertelsmann's Deutsches Wörterbuch.

 

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Die digitale Bibliothek
Digitized images of newspapers in German and other languages published in Germany. Contains brosweable issues of more than 70 titles in varying runs (often produced through the State Library's digitization on demand program). Includes Berliner Gerichts-Zeitung [1853-1869], Deutsch-Ostafrikanische Zeitung [1899-1916], Die Feder [1898-1917], Neustädter Kreisblatt[1852-1911], and Reichswart [1920-1936] among others.

 

Swiss National Library: Digitized Newspapers

 

Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg - Zeitungen
Archive of newspapers from Augsburg (Bavaria). Contains Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung [1770-1806].

 

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War I, Heidelberger Zeitung (1861-1919), and Der Heidelberger Student (1929-1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."

 

ULB Halle - Historische Zeitungen - digital
Project to digitize retrospective newspapers held by the Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt in Halle. Will include titles such as Naumburger Tageblatt (1911-1933) and others.

 

Die Vossische Zeitung Online. 1918-1934 $

 

Die Zeit
National weekly newspaper. Chronological access to print and online articles from its beginning (1946) to the present. Does not allow page image access.

 

ZEFYS
From the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, an extensive collection of digitized newspapers, including German and German-language titles.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Extensive list of print and electronic indexes to German periodicals.

 

Print Indexes


Stuart Jenks, Dieter Rübsamen (eds.), Magazine Stacks: Tables of Contents of Historical Journals and Monographic Series in German

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur 1896-1964 AI9 .B5  Pascal
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens

1963/1967- 1994

 

AI1 .I57 

 

Pascal

 

  1983-present  Online Online
Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur 1971-2002 AI1 .I58    Pascal
 

+ Italian Language Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Corriere della Sera

 

Corriere della Sera
from Jan. 27, 1997 to present in Factiva 
from Jan. 01, 1992 to present in Freely accessible general interest journals 

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

 

L'Emeroteca Digitale (Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense)
Archive of more than 800 periodicals and newspapers from Italy.

 

Gazzette Bolognesi
Historic news periodical from Bologna, holdings [1645-1796].

 

Italian Newspapers

 

Newseum: Front pages from round the world

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Pirandello nel linguaggio della scena : materiali bibliografici dai quotidiani italiani, 1962-1990
1962-1990 Z8693 .D665 1993 Norlin Library Stacks
Repertorio analitico della stampa italiana : quotidiani e periodici
1964-1969 Z6956.I8 R4  Pascal

 

 

+ Russian Language Newspapers and Periodicals

 

 

Specific Newspaper/Magazine

To access a specific newspaper/magazine, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper/magazine will appear. 

E.g.
Chas Pik

Der Spiegel
Search for full text in Lexis Nexis    Feb. 05, 1990- Sept. 02, 1991
Search for full text in Factiva    Nov. 01, 2005-

 

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers/Magazines

Старые газеты:
Collection of digitized versions of a number of old newspapers from the Soviet Union and Imperial Russia. The newspapers digitized and mounted here deal with various aspects of the history of the country. Currently, coverage spans from 1912 through the Soviet period and ends in 1989. 


Старинные сибирские газеты - Электронный архив газет:

Collection of Siberian newspapers from 1858-1945. Includes Сибирская газета (Sibirskaia Gazeta), Сибирская жизнь, Советская Сибирь, Томские губернские ведомости (1858-1910), and Томский листок. From the Novosibirsk State Regional Scientific Library (Новосибирской областной научной библиотеки).

Казанская периодическая печать XIX-XX вв.:
Project of Kazan State University to digitize Kazan periodical press of the 19th-20th centuries. Includes «Казанские известия» (1811-1820), one of Russia's first provincial newspapers.

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (1838-1917):
Petrozavodsk State University's project to digitize and publish the entire collection of one of Russia's first provincial newspapers in free access on the Web.

Татарская периодическая печать 1905-1917 гг.:
Project of Kazan State University to digitize important Tatar periodicals from 1905-1917.

Уральские газеты начала 20 века:
Full text database of articles from newspapers of the Ural region (1919). Selected titles are also available as page images from the Chelyabinsk Regional Universal Scientific Library. The site also includes «Власть народа» (1918). Additional resources are available on CD-ROM "Урал на изломе" (The Urals at the Crossroads). [*note - pages images on Web version are too small to read. For best results, use a zoomable image viewer]

«Ведомости» (Vedmosti)

Digital images of the "first Russian printed newspaper" (1702-1727). From the Russian National Library.

Электронная библиотека современной городской прессы Санкт-Петербурга:
Proposed project to capture contemporary urban press of Saint Petersburg.


Zhurnaly M. i F. Dostoevskikh:
Full-text of 3 periodicals put out in the 19th-century by the Dostoevsky brothers: Vremia (1861-3), Epokha (1864-5), and Grazhdanin (1873-4)

Print Indexes

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Ukazatelʹ k russkim povremennym izdanī︠i︡am : i sbornikam za 1703-1802 g.g.
1703-1802 Z6956.R9 N48 1963 PASCAL
Guide to bibliographies of Russian periodicals and serial publications, 1728-1985
1728-1985 Z6293 .N5813 1993 PASCAL
Ukazateli soderzhani︠i︡a russkikh zhurnalov i prodolzha︠i︡ushchikhs︠i︡a izdaniĭ 1755-1970 gg
1755-1970  Z6956.R9 M37 1979 PASCAL
Bibliografi︠i︡a periodicheskikh izdaniĭ Rossii, 1901-1916 1901-1916 Z6956.R9 L353 PASCAL
Obshchie bibliografii russkikh periodicheskikh izdaniĭ, 1703-1954 1703-1954 Z2491.A1 L44 PASCAL
Letopisʹ periodicheskikh izdaniĭ SSSR 1955-1965 Z6956.R9 L36 PASCAL
Half a century of Soviet serials, 1917-1968 : a bibliography and union list of serials published in the USSR
1917-1968 LC 29.2:So 8/3/  Norlin Library--Government Information--US
Serial publications of the Soviet Union, 1939-1951 : a preliminary checklist 1939-1951 LC 30.10/2:Se 6/939-51   PASCAL
USSR periodica 1931 Z6956.R9 M5 PASCAL
Preliminary checklist of Russian, Ukrainian, and Belorussian newspapers published since January 1, 1917 1917- LC 29.2:R 92/2/ prelim   PASCAL
Russian, Ukrainian, and Belorussian newspapers, 1917-1953 1917-1953 LC 29.2:R 92/2   PASCAL
Bibliografi︠i︡a gazetnykh sobraniĭ Russkogo istoricheskogo arkhiva za gody 1917-1921
1917-1921 Z6956.R9 M26 1994 PASCAL
Newspapers of the Soviet Union in the Library of Congress (Slavic, 1954-1960; non-Slavic, 1917-1960) 1917-1960 LC 35.2:So 8 PASCAL
Soviet and Russian newspapers at the Hoover Institution, a catalog
  Z6945 .S7983 PASCAL

 

 

+ Spanish Language Newspapers and Periodicals

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

 

CU Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Individual Papers:

 

Vanguardia Hemeroteca

A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present

 

Multiple Papers:

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

CU Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Memoria Chilena
100,000 images of news resources (news pages, press clippings)

 

La Nacion
Digitized archives, beginning with June 2, 1930, currently through 1991.

 

Diario de la Marina (Havana, Cuba)
Searchable page images for 1959, hosted through the cooperative

Digital Library of the Caribbean

 

Diario de la Marina (Miami, Florida)
Pages images of Cuban newspaper published from December, 1960 to May, 1961

 

Caribbean Newspaper Imaging Project
University of Florida program.

 

Junta de Andalucía. Biblioteca Virtual Andalucía
Archive of digital documents from Andalucía, including press (See section entitled "Hemeroteca").

 

Diputació de Barcelona. Fons local de publicacions periòdiques digitalitzades
Journals and newspapers from libraries of the Barcelona region. Currently features 194 titles from 9 libraries.

 

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha. Biblioteca Virtual
Collection of historical press from Castilla-La Mancha.

 

Biblioteca Municipal de Donostia-San Sebastián - prensa histórica donostiarra (siglos XIX-XX)
Press from the Municipality of San Sebastian in the Basque Country.

 

Prensa Gallega
Press from Galicia. More than 266 newspaper and journal titles. Part of Biblioteca Dixital of the Xunta de Galicia.

 

Hemeroteca De Gijón.
Contains 18 titles ranging from mid 1800's to 1968.

 

Ajuntament de Girona. Servei de gestió documental, arxius i publicacions
Press of the Municipality of Girona, 1808-1989.

 

Diputación de Huelva. Hemeroteca
Contains three titles from Huelva, including Odiel (1936-1984).

 

 

 

 

By Century

 

+ 20th/21st Century

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
New York Times

 

New York Times
from June 01, 1980- in ProQuest Newsstand
Nov. 14, 1857- Dec. 31, 2006 in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
from June 01, 1980- in Lexis Nexis

Newspaper Databases

 

General (many countries)

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU ProQuest newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

United States

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Provides online access to older issues of newspapers, including New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage for most newspapers begins from the middle 1800s.

 

CU National Newspaper Index

Provides access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 - present.

 

CU Index to Early American Periodicals, 1741-1935
This database covers all known periodicals that began and ended publication between 1741 and 1935; the full text of the periodicals is in the American Periodical Series I, II, and III, and English Literary Periodicals microfilm series.

 

CU Readers' Guide
Database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Retrospective gives a detailed account of U.S. culture and history. Covers 1890-present. CU

United Kingdom

CU The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times (London), available in full page images.

 

CU Financial Times Historical Index, 1888-2006

The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper.

 

British Library Online Newspaper Archive

Archive provides full-text access to the Daily News, Manchester Guardian, News of the World, Penny Illustrated , and the Weekly Dispatch going back as early as 1851.

 

CU Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

French

La Presse quotidienne dans Gallica

 

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques

 

Belgian Press
1831 to 1950. Titles include: L'Indépendance Belge, L'Avenir du Luxembourg, and Almanach d'Uylenspiegel.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

German

Spiegel Wissen

Spiegel's free online archive back to 1947 includes all content except for the two most recent issues. A separate section exists for Spiegel Dossiers. Searches also bring up results from Wikipedia and from the Lexikon, which includes a Bertelsmann encyclopedia, Wahrig's Rechtschreibung, and Bertelsmann's Deutsches Wörterbuch.

 

Arbeiter Zeitung
Open newspaper archive covering 1945-1989

 

Amtspresse Preussens
Open access archive to two widely distributed and influential Prussian newspapers from the second half of the 19th century, the Provinzial-Correspondenz, 1863-1884 and the Neueste Mittheilungen, 1882-1894.

 

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online - Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung [1854/61-1935], Coburger Nationalzeitung [1930-1945], and others.

 

Compact Memory
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938.

 

Exilpresse Digital : Deutsche Exilzeitschriften, 1933-1945
Newspapers and periodicals published by various exile communities before and during World War II.

 

Freiburger Historische Bestände - digitalisiert
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943) and Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) and other material. Browseable by date.

 

Pressemappe 20. jahrhunderts
Retrospective digitization of economic press articles from the Institute for World Economy (IfW) and the Hamburg World Economy Archives (HWWA), 1826-1948.

 

Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden - Historische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften
Digitized images of newspapers from the region of Saxony. Contains Leipziger Zeitungen (1740), Sachsenzeitung (1830-1834), and others.

 

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Die digitale Bibliothek
Digitized images of newspapers in German and other languages published in Germany. Contains brosweable issues of more than 70 titles in varying runs (often produced through the State Library's digitization on demand program). Includes Berliner Gerichts-Zeitung [1853-1869], Deutsch-Ostafrikanische Zeitung [1899-1916], Die Feder [1898-1917], Neustädter Kreisblatt[1852-1911], and Reichswart [1920-1936] among others.

 

Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg - Zeitungen
Archive of newspapers from Augsburg (Bavaria). Contains Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung [1770-1806].

 

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War I, Heidelberger Zeitung (1861-1919), and Der Heidelberger Student (1929-1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."

 

ULB Halle - Historische Zeitungen - digital
Project to digitize retrospective newspapers held by the Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt in Halle. Will include titles such as Naumburger Tageblatt (1911-1933) and others.

 

Die Vossische Zeitung Online. 1918-1934 $

 

Die Zeit
National weekly newspaper. Chronological access to print and online articles from its beginning (1946) to the present. Does not allow page image access.

 

ZEFYS
From the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, an extensive collection of digitized newspapers, including German and German-language titles.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

Russian

Старые газеты:
Collection of digitized versions of a number of old newspapers from the Soviet Union and Imperial Russia. The newspapers digitized and mounted here deal with various aspects of the history of the country. Currently, coverage spans from 1912 through the Soviet period and ends in 1989. 


Старинные сибирские газеты - Электронный архив газет:

Collection of Siberian newspapers from 1858-1945. Includes Сибирская газета (Sibirskaia Gazeta), Сибирская жизнь, Советская Сибирь, Томские губернские ведомости (1858-1910), and Томский листок. From the Novosibirsk State Regional Scientific Library (Новосибирской областной научной библиотеки).

Казанская периодическая печать XIX-XX вв.:
Project of Kazan State University to digitize Kazan periodical press of the 19th-20th centuries. Includes «Казанские известия» (1811-1820), one of Russia's first provincial newspapers.

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (1838-1917):
Petrozavodsk State University's project to digitize and publish the entire collection of one of Russia's first provincial newspapers in free access on the Web.

Татарская периодическая печать 1905-1917 гг.:
Project of Kazan State University to digitize important Tatar periodicals from 1905-1917.

Уральские газеты начала 20 века:
Full text database of articles from newspapers of the Ural region (1919). Selected titles are also available as page images from the Chelyabinsk Regional Universal Scientific Library. The site also includes «Власть народа» (1918). Additional resources are available on CD-ROM "Урал на изломе" (The Urals at the Crossroads). [*note - pages images on Web version are too small to read. For best results, use a zoomable image viewer]

Электронная библиотека современной городской прессы Санкт-Петербурга:
Proposed project to capture contemporary urban press of Saint Petersburg.

Spanish

Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Vanguardia Hemeroteca

A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

Memoria Chilena
100,000 images of news resources (news pages, press clippings)

 

La Nacion
Digitized archives, beginning with June 2, 1930, currently through 1991.

 

Diario de la Marina (Havana, Cuba)
Searchable page images for 1959, hosted through the cooperative

Digital Library of the Caribbean

 

Diario de la Marina (Miami, Florida)
Pages images of Cuban newspaper published from December, 1960 to May, 1961

 

Caribbean Newspaper Imaging Project
University of Florida program.

 

Junta de Andalucía. Biblioteca Virtual Andalucía
Archive of digital documents from Andalucía, including press (See section entitled "Hemeroteca").

 

Diputació de Barcelona. Fons local de publicacions periòdiques digitalitzades
Journals and newspapers from libraries of the Barcelona region. Currently features 194 titles from 9 libraries.

 

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha. Biblioteca Virtual
Collection of historical press from Castilla-La Mancha.

 

Biblioteca Municipal de Donostia-San Sebastián - prensa histórica donostiarra (siglos XIX-XX)
Press from the Municipality of San Sebastian in the Basque Country.

 

Prensa Gallega
Press from Galicia. More than 266 newspaper and journal titles. Part of Biblioteca Dixital of the Xunta de Galicia.

 

Hemeroteca De Gijón.
Contains 18 titles ranging from mid 1800's to 1968. Easy to use display.

 

Ajuntament de Girona. Servei de gestió documental, arxius i publicacions
Press of the Municipality of Girona, 1808-1989.

 

Diputación de Huelva. Hemeroteca
Contains three titles from Huelva, including Odiel (1936-1984).

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

 

Print Indexes

 

 

+ 19th Century

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
New York Times

 

New York Times
from June 01, 1980- in ProQuest Newsstand
Nov. 14, 1857- Dec. 31, 2006 in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
from June 01, 1980- in Lexis Nexis

Newspaper Databases

 

United States

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Provides online access to older issues of newspapers, including New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage for most newspapers begins from the middle 1800s.

 

CU Harp Week

An index and the electronically reproduced and enhanced pages of Harper's weekly. Consists of the pages of Harper's weekly from the Civil War Era, 1857-1865, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.

 

CU Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile)

The largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Indexes newspapers and periodicals, as well as books and government documents. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), supplemented by Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902; the "British Poole's") and other indexes to 19th-century publications.

 

CU 19th Century US Newspapers

Provides online access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

 

CU African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century

This collection contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. It also contains large numbers of early biographies, statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

 

Niles Register, 1811-1849

Online version of the cumulative Index (1811-1849) to Niles Register (also known as The Weekly Register, Niles Weekly Register, and Niles National Register) with selected full-text articles.

 

CU Index to Early American Periodicals, 1741-1935
This database covers all known periodicals that began and ended publication between 1741 and 1935; the full text of the periodicals is in the American Periodical Series I, II, and III, and English Literary Periodicals microfilm series.

 

CU Readers' Guide
Database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Retrospective gives a detailed account of U.S. culture and history. Covers 1890-present. CU

 

CU Periodicals Index Online
Index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences since 1770. Some of these are full-text in Periodicals Archive Online.

United Kingdom

CU The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times (London), available in full page images.

 

CU Financial Times Historical Index, 1888-2006

The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper.

 

British Library Online Newspaper Archive

Archive provides full-text access to the Daily News, Manchester Guardian, News of the World, Penny Illustrated , and the Weekly Dispatch going back as early as 1851.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

French

La Presse quotidienne dans Gallica

 

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques

 

Belgian Press
1831 to 1950. Titles include: L'Indépendance Belge, L'Avenir du Luxembourg, and Almanach d'Uylenspiegel.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

German

Austrian newspapers online

The Austrian National Library's virtual newspaper reading room and a portal to historical journals, periodicals and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria. Millions of pages of newspapers from the early 18th century to the 1930s are currently posted.

 

Amtspresse Preussens
Open access archive to two widely distributed and influential Prussian newspapers from the second half of the 19th century, the Provinzial-Correspondenz, 1863-1884 and the Neueste Mittheilungen, 1882-1894.

 

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online - Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung [1854/61-1935], Coburger Nationalzeitung [1930-1945], and others.

 

Compact Memory
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938.

 

Freiburger Historische Bestände - digitalisiert
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943) and Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) and other material. Browseable by date.

 

Pressemappe 20. jahrhunderts
Retrospective digitization of economic press articles from the Institute for World Economy (IfW) and the Hamburg World Economy Archives (HWWA), 1826-1948.

 

Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden - Historische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften
Digitized images of newspapers from the region of Saxony. Contains Leipziger Zeitungen (1740), Sachsenzeitung (1830-1834), and others.

 

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Die digitale Bibliothek
Digitized images of newspapers in German and other languages published in Germany. Contains brosweable issues of more than 70 titles in varying runs (often produced through the State Library's digitization on demand program). Includes Berliner Gerichts-Zeitung [1853-1869], Deutsch-Ostafrikanische Zeitung [1899-1916], Die Feder [1898-1917], Neustädter Kreisblatt[1852-1911], and Reichswart [1920-1936] among others.

 

Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg - Zeitungen
Archive of newspapers from Augsburg (Bavaria). Contains Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung [1770-1806].

 

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War I, Heidelberger Zeitung (1861-1919), and Der Heidelberger Student (1929-1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

Russian

Старинные сибирские газеты - Электронный архив газет:
Collection of Siberian newspapers from 1858-1945. Includes Сибирская газета (Sibirskaia Gazeta), Сибирская жизнь, Советская Сибирь, Томские губернские ведомости (1858-1910), and Томский листок. From the Novosibirsk State Regional Scientific Library (Новосибирской областной научной библиотеки).

Казанская периодическая печать XIX-XX вв.:
Project of Kazan State University to digitize Kazan periodical press of the 19th-20th centuries. Includes «Казанские известия» (1811-1820), one of Russia's first provincial newspapers.

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (1838-1917):
Petrozavodsk State University's project to digitize and publish the entire collection of one of Russia's first provincial newspapers in free access on the Web.


Zhurnaly M. i F. Dostoevskikh:
Full-text of 3 periodicals put out in the 19th-century by the Dostoevsky brothers: Vremia (1861-3), Epokha (1864-5), and Grazhdanin (1873-4)

Spanish

Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Vanguardia Hemeroteca

A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

Junta de Andalucía. Biblioteca Virtual Andalucía
Archive of digital documents from Andalucía, including press (See section entitled "Hemeroteca").

 

Diputació de Barcelona. Fons local de publicacions periòdiques digitalitzades
Journals and newspapers from libraries of the Barcelona region. Currently features 194 titles from 9 libraries.

 

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha. Biblioteca Virtual
Collection of historical press from Castilla-La Mancha.

 

Biblioteca Municipal de Donostia-San Sebastián - prensa histórica donostiarra (siglos XIX-XX)
Press from the Municipality of San Sebastian in the Basque Country.

 

Prensa Gallega
Press from Galicia. More than 266 newspaper and journal titles. Part of Biblioteca Dixital of the Xunta de Galicia.

 

Hemeroteca De Gijón.
Contains 18 titles ranging from mid 1800's to 1968. Easy to use display.

 

Ajuntament de Girona. Servei de gestió documental, arxius i publicacions
Press of the Municipality of Girona, 1808-1989.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

Print Indexes

 

 

+ 18th Century

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
New York Times

 

New York Times
from June 01, 1980- in ProQuest Newsstand
Nov. 14, 1857- Dec. 31, 2006 in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
from June 01, 1980- in Lexis Nexis

Newspaper Databases

 

United States

CU America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series I

America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series II

The Series I database offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of nearly 350,000 issues from over 700 historical American newspapers focusing largely on the 18th century. Series II complements Series I by offering fully searchable digital facsimiles of several hundred thousand issues from more than 200 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. These digital editions are based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies and primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, which houses a comprehensive collection of American newspapers through 1876.

 

CU Index to Early American Periodicals, 1741-1935
This database covers all known periodicals that began and ended publication between 1741 and 1935; the full text of the periodicals is in the American Periodical Series I, II, and III, and English Literary Periodicals microfilm series.

 

CU Periodicals Index Online
Index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences since 1770. Some of these are full-text in Periodicals Archive Online.

United Kingdom

CU The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times (London), available in full page images.

 

18th Century Journals

This database offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals from the UK that are not available elsewhere.

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

German

Austrian newspapers online

The Austrian National Library's virtual newspaper reading room and a portal to historical journals, periodicals and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria. Millions of pages of newspapers from the early 18th century to the 1930s are currently posted.

 

Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden - Historische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften
Digitized images of newspapers from the region of Saxony. Contains Leipziger Zeitungen (1740), Sachsenzeitung (1830-1834), and others.

 

Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg - Zeitungen
Archive of newspapers from Augsburg (Bavaria). Contains Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung [1770-1806].

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

Russian

«Ведомости» (Vedmosti)
Digital images of the "first Russian printed newspaper" (1702-1727). From the Russian National Library.

Spanish

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

 

+ 17th Century

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
New York Times

 

New York Times
from June 01, 1980- in ProQuest Newsstand
Nov. 14, 1857- Dec. 31, 2006 in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
from June 01, 1980- in Lexis Nexis

Newspaper Databases

 

United States

CU America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series I

America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series II

The Series I database offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of nearly 350,000 issues from over 700 historical American newspapers focusing largely on the 18th century. Series II complements Series I by offering fully searchable digital facsimiles of several hundred thousand issues from more than 200 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. These digital editions are based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies and primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, which houses a comprehensive collection of American newspapers through 1876.

 

Gazzette Bolognesi
Historic news periodical from Bologna, holdings [1645-1796].

 

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."

 

 

 

How do I?

Find books and articles on history, art and film; for further topics, see the Subject Guide database

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

 

+ Film

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:


CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

 

+ Art

Books

To find books about art topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Articles

 

To find critical journal articles about an art topic, try the following databases:

CU Art Full Text (or mobile)

CU ARTbibliographies Modern

CU Oxford Art Online

CU Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

To find newspaper reviews about art, try the following databases:

CU Academic Search Premier

CU NY Times

CU Thompson Gale Databases

Also see: Research Guide for Art and Art History

 

+ History

 

Finding Primary Sources

 

Secondary Sources

 

General E. Europe French and Italian German Spanish

 

General

ABC-Clio eBook Collection CU

The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.

 

Academic search premier CU

This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index CU

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

 

Historical abstracts CU (or mobile)

Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States).

 

Humanities full text CU (or mobile)

Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.

 

JSTOR CU (or mobile)

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals archive online CU

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals index online (ProQuest) CU

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations from over 4,500 periodicals in published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years

 

Poole's index to periodical literature CU

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.

 

Royal Historical Society bibliography CU

Bibliography of publications relating to the history of the British Isles, and of the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55 BC to the present.

 

Women's studies international CU (or mobile)

Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts.

Eastern Europe

ABSEES online CU

Covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.

French and Italian

International medieval bibliography online CU

Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).

 

Iter CU

Bibliography of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

German

DigiZeitschriften journals CU

DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s.

 

International medieval bibliography online CU

Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).

 

Iter CU

Bibliography of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

 

Österreichische Historische Bibliographie CU

The ÖHB (Austrian Historical Bibliography) is a bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian books, periodicals, festschriften and dissertations since 1945 and relating primarily to Austrian history.

 

Regesta Imperii CU

Database of keyword-searchable full text and images of this great source work of German and European history.

Spanish

Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index CU

Articles from scholarly journals and journals of academic interest about Latin and Hispanic America with links to full text where available.

 

HLAS online: Handbook of Latin American studies CU

Article and book citations about Latin America in the Humanities and Social Sciences.