Oxford English Dictionary
Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. CU
Oxford Reference Online
In addition to containing several literary dictionaries, this resource includes bilingual dictionaries in a number of languages. CU
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Book of the Year and World Data Analyst, an easy-to-use database for comparing demographic, economic, and political statistics across the world and over time. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. CU
The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
A dictionary of critical theory
Encyclopedia of postcolonial studies
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (print)
A multicultural dictionary of literary terms
Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
Biographical Sources
Dictionary of Literary Biography CU
Contemporary Authors
Biographical details on approximately 112,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. CU
Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. CU
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. CU
Cyclopedia of world authors (5 vols)
Dictionary of Literary Biography (300 volumes)
Other biographical sources may be located using CHINOOK by entering a specific subject heading followed by the term "biography".
For example: LC SUBJECT HEADING: Proust, Marcel, 1871-1922 -- Biography
History and Criticism
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online CU
Contemporary Literary Criticism CU
History in literature : a reader's guide to 20th-century history and the literature it inspired
Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
Masterplots : 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature
The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
Studying literature : the essential companion
Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
Other historical, critical and interpretive sources may be located using the Chinook Library Catalog. Enter a specific subject heading followed by the subheading "criticism and interpretation" or "history and criticism".
For example, SUBJECT HEADING: latin american literature history and criticism.