UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Ecology & Design

Brief Description: Online catalog and electronic resources access for Ecology & Design Students. Chinook is CU Boulder’s on-line catalog and electronic resources access. To retrieve journal citations (and in some cases full-text articles) click on Find Articles & More. From there select subject areas (environment, etc.) or if you know the name of the database you can select from the A to Z List. Also, Subject Guides provide more in-depth perspectives of a particular subject. Of the thousands of databases, here are a few that are appropriate for Ecology & Design students. Ecology & Design (doc).

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Note

If you can’t link to the full-text article from the database, always double-check the journal title in Chinook for availability of either electronic or paper.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU Applied Science and Technology
Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Coverage: 1983 - present.

 

CU Biological Abstracts (EBSCO)
This database includes bibliographic references (records) with abstracts derived from life sciences research journals published worldwide - contains some links to full text articles. Coverage: 1969 - present.

 

CU Ecology Abstracts (CSA Illumina)
Focuses on how organisms interact with their environment and with other organisms. Coverage: 1982 to present.

 

CU Engineering Village 2 / Compendex / Inspec Archive
The combined Compendex (engineering literature: 1884 - present) , Ei Backfile, Inspec (physics, astronomy, electrical engineering, computers: 1968 - present) and Inspec Archive databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. The databases are updated weekly. Coverage: 1884 to present.

 

Engineering Village 2 (EV2) Online Tutorial: An Overview
Requirements: JAVA-enabled browser, Windows media player, and soundcard.

 

CU GeoRef
Geosciences including: geology, geochemistry, paleontology, hydrology, water resources

 

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
An interdisciplinary database that indexes government research in business, health, basic and applied science, policy, and other topics. Most material listed in this database is available in the Government Publications Library. Coverage: 1964 to present.

 

CU SciFinder
Access limited to Science, Math Physics, Engineering, and Earth Sciences Libraries and the Chemistry Department. All aspects of the chemical literature, including environmental chemistry, searching the Chemical abstracts database and MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907 - present

 

CU Web of Science
Formerly ISI Citation Index. Coverage: 1974 - present.

 

Web of Science Online Tutorial
Requirements: JAVA-enabled browser, Windows media player, and soundcard.

 

CU Zoological Record
A comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Includes citations and taxonomic classification information. Coverage: 1978 - present.

Full Text Databases of Academic or Scholarly Articles

CU ScienceDirect
Web-based datatbase searching over 1200 Elsevier journal in science and social science. Access for many (800-900 approx.) of the titles held by CU. Coverage: 1997 - present.

 

CU JSTOR
Archive of full-text backfiles of important scholarly journals includes ecology titles:

  • Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics: 1970 – present
  • Ecological Monographs: 1931 – present
  • Ecology: 1920 – present
  • Journal of Ecology: 1913 – present

CU ENVIROnetBase

Collection of full text environmental reference books.

 

CU ENGnetBase
Collection of full text engineering reference books.

 

CU CHEMnetBase
Collection of full text chemistry reference books.

Interlibrary Loan

From Chinook request articles and books CU Boulder does not own, free of charge.

ILLiad

Standard 2-week interlibrary loan request.

PASCAL Offsite

Science Library journals prior to 1980 are housed in our off-site storage facility in Denver. Request items using RECALL/HOLD button from Chinook search. Articles scanned and/or books retrieved in one business day.

How do I ..?

Useful links for finding information, including RefWorks (tool for creating your bibliographies).

Contact

Barb Losoff, Science Library
barbara.losoff@colorado.edu
303-492-1859