UCB Libraries

 

Subject Guide for Economics

"Investigations of the daily decisions that consumers, workers, and firm managers make, as well as the interactions of such economic decisions in markets, is the subject of microeconomicsMacroeconomics refers to the analysis of economic activity of individuals aggregated over many markets.  Some of the specific issues of macroeconomics include economic growth, inflation, recession, and unemployment.  Finally, international economics investigates the interrelationships among different economies, and in particular studies the pattern of trade and payments between countries". (UCB Department of Economics).

 

  • Starting Your Research
  • Find Articles
  • Find Books
  • Online Resources and Data
  • Citing

Start your research with reference resources like dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.

These subject-specific resources are often written by experts and specialists in the field of economics and they provide important background information that can guide your research. 

 

TIPS: 

  • Try to identify keywords and concepts that you could search for in the library’s catalog and article databases. 
  • Look for lists of recommended readings or useful resources in the references or bibliographies at the end of each article. 

 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are useful for researching new terms or concepts.

 

A Dictionary of Economics

John Black

Oxford University Press, 2009

Available online in the Oxford Reference Online Collection

 

Dictionary of Economics, 4th edition

Graham Bannock, R.E. Baxter, Evan Davis (of The Economist)

Norlin Library Reference Collection: HB61 .B33 2003

 

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics online

Available online: 1st edition, 1987 and 2nd edition, 2008-09

 

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide excellent overviews of topics and include helpful information like facts, figures, and key figures that are related to your topic.  

 

An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics

Edited by Brian Snowdon and Howard R. Vane

Norlin Library Reference Collection: HB172.5 .E55 2002

 

Encyclopedia of Political Economy

Edited by Phillip Anthony O'Hara

Norlin Library Reference Collection: HB61 .E554 1999

 

Encyclopedia of the World's Nations

George Thomas Kurian

Norlin Library Reference Collection: G63 .K874 2002

 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History

Oxford University Press, 2003

Available online in the Oxford Reference Online Collection

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy

Edited by R.J. Barry Jones

Norlin Library Reference Collection: HF1359 .R68 2001

Vol. 2, Entries G-O Available online in NetLibrary

 

 

Handbooks

Handbooks will also provide an overview of a topic, but they also include more specific information and practical applications. 

 

Handbooks in Economics Series

These are online handbooks on a variety of topics including economics, econometrics and finance. Click on a specific title below, or click on the link above to view and access the entire series.

 

Lecture Notes in Economics and Mathematical Systems

Available online from Springer

This series reports on new developments in mathematical economics, economic theory, econometrics, operations research and mathematical systems.  Full-text is available for most volumes copyrighted 2005-present.

 

 

 

Find Articles & More Find Journals in Chinook

 

 

 

Find Articles and More--When you need to find articles on a topic
Article Finder--When you know the article you need

Author's Last Name: *
Year: *
ISSN: * Click here to find ISSN by entering journal title
Article Title:
Journal Title:
Volume:
   

 

Find it at CU

Find it at CU

 

In some article databases, you will see a "Find it at CU" link. Find it at CU will link you from citations to the full text of the desired item in another article database. For more information about Find it at CU, please see the Find it at CU FAQ. Not all databases can be set up to work with Find it at CU.

 

Video Video Tutorial: Using Find it at CU (Finding full-text from a citation)

 

If you do not see a link to Find it at CU, note the name of the publication where the article was published and then check Chinook (the library catalog) to see where the publication is available. [More information on deciphering citations]

Video Video Tutorial: Finding journals in Chinook

 

 

Find journals and other periodicals in Chinook:

 

Library of Congress Subject

Economics Periodicals

Library of Congress Subject

Economic Policy -- Periodicals

Library of Congress Subject

Economics -- Political Aspects --Periodicals

Library of Congress Subject Economics -- Psychological Aspects --Periodicals
Library of Congress Subject Economics -- Sociological Aspects -- Periodicals
Library of Congress Subject Environmental economics -- Periodicals
Library of Congress Subject Macroeconomics -- Periodicals
Library of Congress Subject Microeconomics -- Periodicals

Video Video Tutorial: Finding journals in Chinook

 

 

Keep current with e-mail alerts and RSS feeds about your research

 

  • New Economic Papers (NEP) is a current awareness service sending regular e-mails with notification about new material in RePEc (Research Papers in Economics). You can choose to be notified of all new material or choose among over 30 subject categories.

 

 

 

Library of Congress Classification Search Chinook Prospector Interlibrary Loan

 

Library of Congress Classification

Books in the University Libraries are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system. This system assigns a call number with letters and numbers to each book based on the book's subject. Once you find a good book on your subject, browse the books in that call number range to find books with similar subjects.

 

Call Numbers
Subject
HB
Economic Theory
HC
Economic history and condition
HD
Industries. Land use. Labor
HE
Transportation and communication.
HF
Commerce

 

 

*Books for economics may be housed in Norlin Library or the Business Library. You can use this chart as a general guide, but please check Chinook for the exact location:

 

Chinook

 

 

 

Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can do a title search for a specific book, or a keyword search if you are looking for books on a particular topic. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)  

 

 

Browse for Books by Subject:

 

Economics -- Political Aspects

Economics -- Sociological Aspects

Environmental Economics

 

Video Tutorials for Chinook

Video Video Tutorial: Searching for books in Chinook

 

Video Video Tutorial: Chinook Keyword Search

For Tips on developing keywords for your topic go to: How do I Choose Keywords for my search

Video Video Tutorial: How to recall/request books that are checked out or at PASCAL

 

Video Video Tutorial: Accessing online books

 


If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials from another library through Prospector, and the items will generally be delivered to Norlin within a few business days.

Video Video Tutorial: Search Prospector

Search Prospector

 


Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/ill/

If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.

Video Video Tutorial: Request through ILL

 

 

 

Economic Census Economic Indicators Government Information Web Resources

 

Economic Census Data--profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years
  • County Business Patterns is a database of employment by Standard Industrial Classification (1993 to 1997) or North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) (1998 to the present) for the US, all states and all counties. Among the items available are employment, annual payroll, first quarter payroll, total establishments, and number of establishments by employment size. Data are collected annually.

 

 

Economic Indicators
  • Economic Indicators (Census Bureau) provides monthly, quarterly, or annual data on topics such as: International Trade in Goods and Services, Housing Starts, Manufacturing, Retail Sales, Wholesale Trade, Manufacturer's Shipments, Inventories and Orders, Construction Spending, New Home Sales, Durable Goods, Homeownership, and other topics
  • Economic Indicators available from GPO Access. This monthly publication is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance
  • Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
  • Useful for annual time series data and cross country analysis.

 

Online Government Information

 

  • Colorado State Data Center  The state demography office site with data sets used by agencies to forecast demand for facilities & services. 
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
  • Also available in print: Norlin Library Government Publications Library and the Business Library: C 3.134/7:2008

     

  • UNCTAD - TRAINS (Trade Analysis and Information System) is a comprehensive computerized information system at the HS-based tariff line level covering tariff, para-tariff and non-tariff measures as well as import flows by origin for more than 160 countries.

 

Relevant resources that are freely available on the Web.

 

  • EconData.Net
  • FAIRMODEL  Work with FAIRMODEL, a macroeconometric model of the US economy, to forecast the economy, do policy analysis, and examine historical episodes.

  • Resources for Economists on the Internet   Compiled by Bill Goffe, Department of Economics at SUNY Oswego, this page has numerous pointers to sites under dozens of headings, including U.S. Macro and Regional Data, World and Non-U.S. Data, Finance and Financial Markets, Economic Consulting and Forecasting Services, Working Papers, Working Paper Publication and Notification Services, Economic Journals on the Internet, Directories to Universities, Business Schools, Economic Departments and Economists, and Job information for Economists.

 

 

 

 

 

Citation Styles and Manuals

How Do I...cite?

 

APA

MLA

Turabian (Chicago)

Diana Hacker--Research and Documentation Online

This site provides guidelines for documenting print and online sources using  MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE styles.

 


RefWorks

RefWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 

Video RefWorks Video Tutorials


Tips & Strategies

Pick an Interesting Topic It is easier to express your own opinions and thoughts if you are interested in the topic.

 

Manage Your Time

Many students are tempted to plagiarize because they do not start researching and writing far enough in advance. Start your paper at least 3 weeks before the due date. Plagiarism could compromise your entire academic career. Speak to your professor if you have run out of time.

 

Create a Bibliography as you Research

Record the sources you consult. Include all the bibliographic information needed in your works cited (Author, Title, Pages, Publisher, Year, Volume, Issue).This will help you to cite correctly and to compile your works cited.

 

Take Clear Notes

Designate all direct quotes with quotation marks.

Designate when you are paraphrasing.

Electronic Research and Note taking is the same: Use quotation marks when you cut and paste.

Always note the source/ author.

 

Be Careful with Paraphrasing

Be sure you understand the text.

Do not look at the original source when writing your paraphrase.

Reorganize the information in your own words and in your own style.

Check to be sure you have not used the vocabulary or structure of the original work.

Mention the author near or in your paraphrase.

 

And Remember to Cite:

Any information that was not originally created by you:
  • Quotations
  • Key terms or phrases
  • Ideas
  • Facts not broadly known
  • Images and Sounds
Any material from another source regardless of where you found it:
  • Printed sources
  • Electronic sources
  • Conversation or email
  • Recorded sources
  • Images