
Services >
Instructional Services
Course
Guide
EDUC 5535: Diagnostic Testing in Bilingual/ESL Education
(Spring 2008)
Reference
Sources | Keywords | Sources:
Books | Sources: Articles by
Topic
| Sources: Articles from
a Citation | Sources: More |Managing
and Citing |
Reference
Sources
Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when
embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize
reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest
in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background
information:
Education
Research Guide- Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and More
Reference Sources
Handbook
of Research on Multicultural Education, 2004
REF DEPT STACKS--Library Use Only-- LC1099.3 .H35 2004
Bilingual
education : a reference handbook, 2002
NORLIN STACKS-- LC3731 .F45 2002
Encyclopedia
of Language and Education, 1997
REF DEPT STACKS -- Library Use Only --P40.8 .E53 1997
Handbook
of research in second language teaching and learning, 2005
NORLIN STACKS-- P118.2 .H359 2005
Educational Testing
These print and web resources provide access to information on tests and measurements.
Online Research Methods Reference Sources
Encyclopedia
of Evaluation
The Encyclopedia of Evaluation is a who, what, where, how, and why
of evaluation. Evaluation is a profession, a practice, a discipline—and
it has developed and continues to develop through the ideas and
work of evaluators and evaluation theorists working in real places
with high hopes for social improvement. Each ...
Encyclopedia of
Measurement and Statistics
It's an interesting paradox when an important subject, which can
help us make sense of our busy, everyday world, is considered very
difficult to approach. Such is the case with measurement and statistics.
However, this does not necessarily have to be the case, and we believe
that the Encyclopedia of ...
Encyclopedia
of Social Science Research Methods
These volumes comprise an encyclopedia of social science research
methods, the first of its kind. Uniqueness explains, at least partly,
why we undertook the project. It has never been done before. We
also believe that such an encyclopedia is needed. What is an encyclopedia?
In ancient Greek, the word signifies ...
More
Online Reference Sources
Top
Keywords
Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that
represent your research interest, question, or inquiry. Keywords
are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases)
which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords
will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when
searching.
First you will identify and articulate your topic
in your own words:
Example: I am interested in investigating the effectiveness
of authentic assesment techniques for writing with second language learners.
Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas
that describe the topic:
Concept 1:
second language learning
|
Concept 2:
authentic assesment |
Concept 3:
writing |
Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent
the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding
terms that represent geographical distincitions, time periods, or significant
figures about your topic may also be useful.
Concept 1:
second language acquisition
ESL
language learners
foreign language instruction
bilingual
L1/L2
ELL
English Language Learners |
Concept 2:
assess
assessment
proficiency
authentic assessment
performance assessment
alternative assessment
classroom based assessment
inquiry based assessment
informal assessment
|
Concept 3:
writing
literacy
fluency
|
Combining Keywords
Operators:
AND: second language learners AND literacy (must
find both terms)
OR: testing OR assessment (must find one of the terms)
NOT: testing NOT standardized (must find first term
NOT second term)
Punctuation:
Phrases: “second language learners” (must
find that phrase in that order)
Synonyms: (“second language learner” OR
ELLs) AND literacy
Wildcards: assess* will find assessment, assessments,
assessing, etc.
You may use the UCB Search Strategy/
Keyword Worksheet to develop your own topic.
For deatails on combining keywords for the best results view the
How
Do I Use Keywords
Top
Sources-
Books
CHINOOK
Chinook is the Libraries’ catalog. You may search all of the Boulder
campus libraries (except the Law Library). The catalog lists books, microfilm,
media, journal titles (will not list article titles).
Related Subject Terms in the Library Catalog:
Educational tests and measurements -- United States
Education,
Bilingual
Education
Bilingual United States
Language and languages -- Study and teaching
Multicultural
Education
Multilingualism -- Periodicals
Mathematics -- Study and teaching -- United States -- Evaluation
Second language acquisition
Equity, Diversity and Education Library
A comprehensive education library dedicated to equity and diversity, located within the School of Education, gives patrons direct access to education tools and resources reflecting the School's commitment to social justice and the preparation of educators fully informed about issues and curriculum resources for educating diverse students in grades Kindergarten through 12.
Relevant Collections: Reference Specific Collections, Library Holdings, State Education Journal Index (SEJI), Testing and Assessment Instruments, and Faculty Collection.
Prospector
If the item you want is not in Chinook or is checked out, you may search
Prospector. Prospector is a unified catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado
and Wyoming.
Inter
Library Loan
If you cannot find the material with Chinook or Prospector, you may
request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with Illiad.
Top
Sources-
Articles by Topic
Find
Articles and More
Depending on the sources you need you will look in different databases.
There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and
abstracts, some will also include fulltext, some will link to reference
materials, and more.
You may explore our databases organized by categories and subcategories.
Remember to read the descriptions of each database to determine which
will suit your needs.
Are
you connecting from off-campus?
Recommended Indexes:
These databases contain citations and abstracts but usually not the full-text. Use the Find it at CU link within the database to connect to the electronic or print version of the article.
Education
abstracts (EBSCO)
Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language
periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals
not covered by ERIC. Education Abstracts indexes articles from 1983
to present. In most cases, the Find it at CU icon will connect to the
full-text. Access limited to four simultaneous users. Requires VPN software
to access off campus.
ERIC
(CSA)
ERIC Education Resources Information Center (CSA) provides access
to more than 1.2 million abstracts of journal articles (EJ) and other education-related
documents (ED). CSA also provides saved searches, email alerts and other
education-related databases. Included is full-text access to ERIC Documents
(ED) from 1996 to present. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department
of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES). Requires VPN software
to access off campus.
ERIC is also available in a free web-based
version.
ERIC Documents (ED) from 1966-1993 are available on microfiche and can be
requested from Pascal using the
ERIC Document request form.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (CSA)
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including
phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive,
historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides
abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from
over 1,500 serials publications, and abstracts of books, book chapters,
and dissertations.
| Mental measurements yearbook |
| The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. |
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center is an index of more than 260 titles from teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, and books. It provides coverage on topics such assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.
Recommended Full-Text Collections:
Education:
a SAGE full-text collection (CSA)
Includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE
and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles,
and encompasses over 8,000 articles.
JSTOR IV
Contains more than 50 major peer reviewed education journals including
those published by the American Education Research Association.
If you cannot decide which database to use, contact Alison Graber or use the ASK
US page.
Or search numerous guides leading to valuable resources (databases, print,
online directories and more): Research
and Subject Guides
Top
Sources-
Articles from a citation
Find
it @ CU Article Finder
If you have a citation, complete this form to find the article in electronic
or print.
OR use the Chinoook
Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the
journal magazine title. Then follow the links to the correct volume,
issue, year, page number.
Top
Sources-
More
Related Library Guides
Education
A guide to research resources in Education available from the University
of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.
Educational
Resources
This guide, from the Government Publications Library, provides links
to data on education from federal , state and international sources.
How
do I Find an ERIC document?
Journals of Interest
Books of Interest
August,
D. & Hakuta, K. (1997). Improving schooling for language minority
children: A research agenda. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.
[electronic book]
Donovan,
S., & Cross, C. (2002). Minority students in special and gifted
education. Washington, DC: National Academy Press. [online]
Horowitz, E. (2008) Becoming a language teacher : a practical guide to second language learning and teaching / Elaine Kolker Horwitz (Print)
A
global perspective on bilingualism and bilingual education [electronic
resource] / Tucker, G. Richard
Wiggins, Grant (1998) Understanding by design / Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe (Print)
Websites of Interest
The BUENO Center for Multicultural Education
Center for Applied Linguistics--CAL
http://www.cal.org/resources/update.html
Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition—CARLA
http://www.carla.umn.edu/index.html?go
Center
for Multilibgual Multicultural Research Links
Center for Multilingual, Multicultural Research
Center for Research on Education, Diversity, and Excellence—CREDE
National Association
of Bilingual Education (NABE)
National Clearinghouse
for English Language and Instruction Educational Programs
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition
University of California Linguistic Minority Research Institute
http://www.lmri.ucsb.edu/index.htm
Education Commission of the States
http://www.ecs.org
Colorado Department of Education
http://www.cde.state.co.us
National Center for Education
Statistics
Office
of English Language Acquisition- US Dept. of Education
Top
Managing
and Citing
UCB
Libraries Citation Guides
UCB Libraries' resource page for citation guides.
REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users
to create a personal database online, import references automatically
from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies
and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided
by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.
Top
CONTACTS:
2/14/08 AG/SS-R
|