UCB Libraries

EDUC 5605/ EDUC 5525: Fall 2011

Research Issues in Bilingual Education/ Research Issues in Special Education

 

Welcome to the course guide for EDUC 5605 and EDUC 5525. This guide will provide you with a variety of tools and resources that will help you in your literature reviews.

 

Please contact me if you have any questions or difficulties in locating information related to your literature review.

 

Alison Graber (alison.graber@colorado.edu) (303-492-7955)

 

Office Hours: Tuesdays 10 am - Noon in the School of Education EDE Library (Room 344) and by appointment.


  • Starting Research
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Recommended Resources
  • Citing
  • Writing

 

Focusing a Topic | Searching in Reference Books | Finding Background Information | Finding Keywords

 


Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest,you will usually need to spend some time exploring the research literature before finalizing your research question or focus. Some tips for doing so are:

 

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know. How can your teaching experience inform your topic?
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step for some tips.

Searching in Reference Books

 

You will find numerous reference sources in the UCB Libraries' collection, both online and in print. Use Reference Universe to search within the table of contents and indexes of reference books in our collection.

SEARCH your topic in Reference Universe, enter your topic in the search box below:

Reference Universe: This is a searchable database that indexes information from specialized subject encyclopedias. It does not include the full text of reference materials but will point you to reference sources that cover your topic. It searches both the titles of reference articles as well as the encyclopedia / dictionary indexes, providing a thorough level of access to materials and potential sources. CU

 

Finding Background Information

Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:

 

Reference Sources

 

Bilingual Education

Bilingual education : a reference handbook, 2002
NORLIN STACKS-- LC3731 .F45 2002

 

Bilingual education [electronic resource] : a reference handbook / Rosa Castro Feinberg [online]

[electronic book]

Encyclopedia of bilingual education/ Jossue M. Gonzalez, editor, Sage Publications, 2008

[electronic book]

 

Encyclopedia of language and education : editor, Nancy H Hornberger, Springer, 2008

[electronic book]

 

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education, 2004
REF DEPT STACKS--Library Use Only-- LC1099.3 .H35 2004

 

Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning, 2005
NORLIN STACKS-- P118.2 .H359 2005

 

 

Special Education

Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals / edited by Cecil R. Reynolds, Elaine Fletcher-Janzen, Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007

[Norlin Library Reference Collection]

   

Doing research in special education: Ideas into practice / edited by Richard Rose and Ian Grosvenor, London : David Fulton Publishers, 2001

[Norlin Stacks]

 

The special education handbook : an A-Z guide / Michael Farrell ; with a foreword by Lord Rix, London ; New York : Routledge, 2009

[Norlin Stacks]

 


Online Research Methods Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Evaluation
The Encyclopedia of Evaluation is a who, what, where, how, and why of evaluation. Evaluation is a profession, a practice, a discipline—and it has developed and continues to develop through the ideas and work of evaluators and evaluation theorists working in real places with high hopes for social improvement. Each ...

 

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
It's an interesting paradox when an important subject, which can help us make sense of our busy, everyday world, is considered very difficult to approach. Such is the case with measurement and statistics. However, this does not necessarily have to be the case, and we believe that the Encyclopedia of ...

 

Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
These volumes comprise an encyclopedia of social science research methods, the first of its kind. Uniqueness explains, at least partly, why we undertook the project. It has never been done before. We also believe that such an encyclopedia is needed. What is an encyclopedia? In ancient Greek, the word signifies ...

 

 

 



Selecting and Finding Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the effectiveness of literacy assessments used with second language learners.

 

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Concept 1:

second language learners

 

Concept 2:

literacy

Concept 3:

assessments

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distincitions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

Concept 1:

second language acquisition

 

ESL

 

language learners

 

foreign language instruction

 

bilingual

 

L1/L2

 

ELLs

Concept 2:

literate

 

reading

 

comprehension

 

Literacy Education

 

Cultural literacy

 

 

 

 

 

Concept 3:

test (s)

 

assess

 

assessment*

 

proficiency

 

standardized

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combining Keywords

Operators:

AND: second language learners AND literacy (must find both terms)
OR: testing OR assessment (must find one of the terms)
NOT: testing NOT standardized (must find first term NOT second term)

 

Punctuation:

Phrases: “second language learners” (must find that phrase in that order)
Synonyms: (“second language learner” OR ELLs) AND literacy
Wildcards: assess* will find assessment, assessments, assessing, etc.

 

You may use the Search Strategy/ Keyword Worksheetto develop your own topic.

For deatails on combining keywords for the best results view the

How Do I Use Keywords

 

9/10 ACG


 

Chinook | Prospector | Interlibrary Loan

First Search Chinook - http://libraries.colorado.edu/

Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can do a title search for a specific book, or a keyword search if you are looking for books on a particular topic. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)

 

Chinook Catalog

 

Tutorial: Chinook Keyword Search

 

For Tips on developing keywords for your topic go to:

 

How do I Choose Keywords for my search

 

More Chinook Tutorials

 

Related Subject Terms in the Library Catalog:

Education, Bilingual

Education Bilingual United States
Multicultural Education

Special Education United States

 


Then Search Prospector - http://prospector.coalliance.org/
If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. CU students, staff and faculty can request materials through Prospector, and the items will generally be delivered to Norlin within a few business days.

 


Finally Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) -http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/ill/index.htm

If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). The Interlibrary Loan Team, as part of the Access Services Department, provides the University  community with information resources not owned by CU Boulder.  In most instances there is NO CHARGE for this service, which is subsidized by the University Libraries.

 

It usually takes between 24-48 hours to receive a PDF of your article.

 

 

Articles By Topic | Choosing a Database | TRACKING A JOURNAL| Articles From a Citation



UCB Libraries provides access to numerous databases. They are available on the Find Articles and More Page.

 

WAIT! Are you connecting from off-campus?

Tutorial: VPN

 

In order to find articles about a particular topic, you will to search in library database other than Chinook. You can only search for journal titles in the Chinook catalog, you won't find article titles listed in Chinook.

 

You may explore our databases organized by categories and subcategories. Remember to read the descriptions of each database to determine which will suit your needs. Think about other disciplines that may be relevant to your topic!

 

Education - Most Useful

 

Education - Also Useful

 

Sociology - Race and Ethnicity

 

Psychology - Most Useful

 

Linguistics - Most Useful

 

Typically you may search by keyword, author, title and more. For help developing keywords, go to How do I Choose Keywords? HINT! Keep track of search terms. Look for database recommended search terms and help resources.

 

Print Index

 

Exceptional Child Education Abstracts: v.9 (1977)- v.35 (2004)

 



Education-related abstracts/databases

 

ERIC (CSA)

ERIC Education Resources Information Center (CSA) provides access to more than 1.2 million abstracts of journal articles (EJ) and other education-related documents (ED) produced by practioners and researchers. CSA also provides saved searches, email alerts and other education-related databases.

 

Full-text access to ERIC Documents (ED) is available for many of the documents.
DIgital copies of ERIC Documents available only microfiche can be requested from Pascal using the ERIC Document request form.

 

ERIC is also available in a free web-based version.

ERIC’s personalized Web resource, My ERIC, makes it easy to manage your ERIC searches, sources, and citations. My ERIC gives you the ability to save searches and interesting citations from your search results to access later from wherever you choose to do your online research. My ERIC participants also have the opportunity to submit their own works to be considered for the ERIC Collection through the Online Submission System.

 

Education full text

Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals not covered by ERIC. Education Abstracts indexes articles from 1929 to present. In most cases, the Find it at CU icon will connect to the full-text.
Access Education Index Retro (index-only, with coverage from 1929-1983) by clicking here.

 

CSA linguistics and language behavior abstracts

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

 

PsycINFO

Index with citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, education, psychiatry, anthropology, business, and law. Produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association.

 

Education abstracts

Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals not covered by ERIC. Education Abstracts indexes articles from 1929 to present. In most cases, the Find it at CU icon will connect to the full-text. Access limited to four simultaneous users. Requires VPN software to access off campus.

 

 

Full-text journal collections

 

Education: a SAGE full-text collection

Includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles, and encompasses over 8,000 articles.

 

JSTOR IV

This is an archival collection (2003-earlier) including more than 50 major peer reviewed education journals including those published by the American Education Research Association. This full-text collection does not contain the most recent publications.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Research and Subject Guides

Or search numerous guides leading to valuable resources (databases, print, online directories and more).

 

Widening your search

 

The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases and choosing the right article database can be difficult. There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and abstracts, some will also include full text, some will link to reference materials, and more.There are a few things to keep in mind:

  • What discipline or subject area does your topic fall within? Who is having a conversation on the issue?
  • What perspective are you interested in? (medical, psychological, sociological etc.)
  • What type of material do your need? (scholarly, popular, newspapers)
  • What time period are you researching?

All of these questions will help lead you to a relevant database. Keep in mind that there are a few types of databases.

  • General and Interdisciplinary databases: These databases are a good starting point when you are new to your topic. They often include scholarly and popular sources as well as material from a variety of disciplines and perspetives. For Example: Academic Search Premier

  • Subject or Discipline Databases: These databases will help you find material from specific disciplines. They provide more in-depth and focused research.
  • Format Specific Databases: These databases are narrowed to specific types of material, such as newspapers, statistics, images, biographies etc. For Example: ProQuest newspapers

Are you connecting from off-campus?

Use the Chinoook Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the journal/ magazine title NOT the article title. Then follow the links to the correct volume, issue, year, page number.

Tutorial: Chinook Periodical Title

 

Use Ulrichsweb.com for information about a specific journal title including where the journal is indexed (i.e. ERIC, Proquest Central)

 

A database that provides information about regularly and irregularly published journals, magazines, newspapers, and full-text electronic resources from more than 200 countries. In addition to order information and price, entries include brief descriptions, circulation data, whether or not a title is peer-reviewed, indexing and abstracting services that cover the title, reviews, and other information. The database also includes information about obtaining rights and permissions for many titles.

 

Requires VPN software to access off campus.

 

 

 



If you have a specific article you need bibliography, please use:

 

Find it @ CU Article Finder
Complete this form to find the article in electronic or print.

Tutorial: Find it @ CU Article Finder

OR use the Chinoook Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the journal/ magazine title NOT the article title. Then follow the links to the correct volume, issue, year, page number.

Tutorial: Chinook Periodical Title

 

 

 

 

 


More Sources

Equity, Diversity and Education Library

 

A comprehensive education library dedicated to equity and diversity, located within the School of Education, gives patrons direct access to education tools and resources reflecting the School's commitment to social justice and the preparation of educators fully informed about issues and curriculum resources for educating diverse students in grades Kindergarten through 12.

 

Education Week Articles

 

Education Week: English Language Learners

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

 

Education Week: Special Education

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

 

 

New Materials related to Education available in Chinook

New Materials in Education at CU-B

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

 

 

 

Related Library Guides

Education
A guide to research resources in Education available from the University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries.

 

Educational Resources
This guide, from the Government Publications Library, provides links to data on education from federal , state and international sources.

 

How do I Find an ERIC document?

Websites of Interest

Center for Multilibgual Multicultural Research Links

 

National Association of Bilingual Education

 

National Clearinghouse for English Language and Instruction Educational Programs

 

National Center for Education Statistics

 

Office of English Language Acquisition- US Dept. of Education

 

ESL/ESOL Websites

 

Council for Exceptional Children

 

ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education

Office of Special Education Programs

National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research

 

 

 

 

9/10 ACG

 

Citation Styles | RefWorks | Tips & Strategies


Citation Styles

 

How do I ..cite a source?

 

APA Online Guide: OWL Purdue

 

You may also find print guides in the library:

 

APA

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
6th Edition, Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2010

[Norlin Library Reference Collection]

 

 

 



RefWorks

REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 



Tips & Strategies

Use RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or some other citation management tool. You will be able to keep track of citations, organize your literature reviews, insert citations easily into your paper, as well as create bibliographies. It will save you a huge amount of time in the long run.

 

Receive personalized new resource alerts from Chinook

You can customize Chinook, the CU library catalog, so that you automatically receive email alerts of new resources added to the library collection. Follow the steps below to initiate this feature.

 

Current awareness services

Databases such as CSA ERIC allow you to set up automatic searches and Table of Contents alerts for journals. You will need to create an account in CSA ERIC (My Research) which will allow you to save searches, get e-mail alerts, and recieve journal alerts.

 

Google Scholar now provides an email alert service based on your search terms in Google Scholar. You are able to create an alert by clicking on the Create Email Alert after you have done a search.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Writing Sources

Chinook Resources

Search for information related to proposal writing and education/social sciences research in Chinook with the following subject headings:

 

Proposal writing in research

Proposal writing in the social sciences

Social sciences -- Research -- Methodology

Education -- Research Methodology

 

More Resources

University of Colorado PWR

Writing Center

The Writing Center offers writers from across disciplines and skill levels the opportunity to work one-on-one with consultants trained in writing pedagogy. Writing Center sessions strive to address writers' stated needs while attending to relevant disciplinary, rhetorical, grammatical, and stylistic concerns. Services are FREE to all CU students, faculty, staff and alumni.    We're in the Norlin Commons (Norlin E111, near the east entrance of Norlin Library )


OWL of Purdue University
Online Writing Center of Purdue University is an excellent site full of writing and research tips.