Education-related abstracts/databases
ERIC
(CSA)
ERIC Education Resources Information Center (CSA) provides access
to more than 1.2 million abstracts of journal articles and other education-related
documents produced by practioners and researchers. CSA also provides saved searches, email alerts and other
education-related databases.
ERIC contains both journal articles (EJ) and submitted documents (ED) which include reports, curriculum, and other resources related to education.
ERIC documents that are in digital format can be accessed through Chinook. Older ERIC Documents from 1966-1993 are available on microfiche. Digital copies can be requested using the ERIC Document request form.
ERIC is also available in a free web-based
version.
ERIC’s personalized Web resource, My ERIC, makes it easy to manage your ERIC searches, sources, and citations. My ERIC gives you the ability to save searches and interesting citations from your search results to access later from wherever you choose to do your online research. My ERIC participants also have the opportunity to submit their own works to be considered for the ERIC Collection through the Online Submission System.
Education full text
Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language
periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals
not covered by ERIC. This database includes article citations from 1929
to present. In most cases if there is not full-text available the Find it at CU icon will connect to the
full-text. Requires VPN software
to access off campus.
CSA
linguistics and language behavior abstracts
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including
phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive,
historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides
abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from
over 1,500 serials publications, and abstracts of books, book chapters,
and dissertations.
PsycINFO
Index with citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, education, psychiatry, anthropology, business, and law. Produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association.
Full-text journal collections
Education:
a SAGE full-text collection
Includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE
and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles,
and encompasses over 8,000 articles.
JSTOR
This is an archival collection (2005-earlier) including many major peer reviewed education journals including
those published by the American Education Research Association. This full-text collection does not contain the most recent publications.
Research
and Subject Guides
Or search numerous guides leading to valuable resources (databases, print,
online directories and more).
The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases and choosing the right article database can be difficult. There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and abstracts, some will also include full text, some will link to reference materials, and more.There are a few things to keep in mind:
All of these questions will help lead you to a relevant database. Keep in mind that there are a few types of databases.