UCB Libraries

Research

President's Teaching and Learning Collaborative

  • Getting Started
  • Recommended Readings
  • Finding Articles
  • Publication Outlets
  • SOTL websites
  • Help

 

Literature Review


1. Search journals and sources that you are familiar with and have used in the past for literature reviews.

 

2. Use Google Scholar for a broad perspective on possible sources for SOTL research in your discipline. Google Scholar includes citations from ERIC and SOTL websites. Use VPN so you can connect to the full-text

 

3. Search journals and sources related to Education/Psychology.

 

4. Contact Alison Graber for assistance.


Articles Books

Blogs

Recommended articles for SOTL

International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
http://academics.georgiasouthern.edu/ijsotl/v5n1.html

Vol. 5, No. 1 (January 2011)
ISSN 1931-4744 @ Georgia Southern University

Copyright Clearance obtained June 2012 for Faculty Teaching Excellence Program: CU-B

 

 

What Makes a Great Article for IJ-SoTL
Patricia Rogers
Bemidji State University
Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
progers@bemidjistate.edu

 

What Makes for a High Quality SoTL Research Article?
John Tagg
Consultant
Encinitas, California, USA
jtagg@cox.net

 

What Makes for a High Quality IJ-SoTL Research Article?
Lorraine Stefani
University of Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
lorraine.stefani@auckland.ac.nz

 

On Publishing SoTL Articles
Trent W. Maurer
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, Georgia, USA
tmaurer@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Identifying High Quality SoTL Research: A Perspective from a Reviewer
Jeffrey L. Bernstein
Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
jbernstei@emich.edu

 

Recommended Books

Author Weimer, Maryellen, 1947-
Title Enhancing scholarly work on teaching and learning : professional literature that makes a difference / Maryellen Weimer
Publisher Info San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass, c2006
 Norlin Library--Stacks  LB2331 .W365 2006

 

Recommended Blogs

Faculty Focus: Focused on Today's Higher Education Professional

The Teaching Profession Blog

The blog is written by Dr. Maryellen Weimer, professor emeritus at Penn State Berks and one of the nation’s most highly regarded authorities on effective college teaching.

The Teaching Professor Blog features a new weekly post from Maryellen on such topics as: the scholarship of teaching and learning, classroom policies, active learning, assessment, generational differences, and student performance.

For a copy/sample of the subscription newsletter with the same name contact: Catherine Stover,
Catherine.Stover@magnapubs.com, Managing Editor for Magna Publications

 

Due to licensing restrictions, access to most of the databases listed below and some of the journal titles listed above will require you to use VPN (Off Campus Access)

Databases- Finding Articles | Organizing | Current Awareness

 

 

Education-Related Databases and Indexes

 

Education - Most Useful

 

Psychology - Most Useful

 

 

ERIC (CSA)

ERIC Education Resources Information Center (CSA) provides access to more than 1.2 million abstracts of journal articles and other education-related documents produced by practioners and researchers. CSA also provides saved searches, email alerts and other education-related databases.

 

Included is full-text access to ERIC Documents (ED) from 1996 to present. ERIC Documents from 1966-1993 are available on microfiche and can be requested from Pascal using the ERIC Document request form.

 

ERIC is also available in a free web-based version.

 

Education full text

Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals not covered by ERIC. This database includes article citations from 1929 to present. In most cases if there is not full-text available the Find it at CU icon will connect to the full-text. Requires VPN software to access off campus.

 

JSTOR IV

This is an archival collection (2003-earlier) including more than 50 major peer reviewed education journals including those published by the American Education Research Association. This full-text collection does not contain the most recent publications.

 

PsycINFO

Index with citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, education, psychiatry, anthropology, business, and law. Produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association.

 

Web of Science
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in 5,700 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 164 disciplines.
Coverage: 1970 - present. CU

 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education , computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Coverage: varies. CU

 

Organizing the LIterature Search

 

Use RefWorks, EndNote Web, EndNote, Zotero, or some other citation management tool. You will be able to keep track of citations, organize your literature reviews, insert citations easily into your paper, as well as create bibliographies. It will save you a huge amount of time in the long run.

 

REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 

Receive personalized resource alerts from Chinook

You can customize Chinook, the CU library catalog, so that you automatically receive email alerts of new resources added to the library collection.

 

Current awareness services

 

Databases such as CSA ERIC allow you to set up automatic searches and Table of Contents alerts for journals. You will need to create an account in CSA ERIC which will allow you to save searches, get e-mail alerts, and recieve journal alerts.

 

You have to be logged into My Research to access the links below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Getting Your SOTL Article Published

Finding Publication Outlets | Guides to SOTL Journals | Specific SOTL TItles | Journal Evaluation Tools

 

 

Finding General Publication Outlets

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory (Requires VPN)
This search tool for serials provides a number of advanced search options that will enable you to find relevant SOTL journals in your field.
Using the Subject (keyword) "education" and the Subject (keyword) describing your discipline, for example "biology" will generate a list of possible publication outlets. You can also limit by journal, academic/scholary, language and a host of other limiters that can be accessed by clicking on the More Limiters link (See below for various options for limiting your search).

Ulrichsweb Advanced Search


Guides to Discipline Specific Journals Publising SOTL Articles

Periodicals in the Area of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
The Abilene Christian University Library developed this bibliography of journals to help faculty members with finding journals that publish articles in the scholarship of teaching and learning. It is organized by discipline.

Libguide on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
The guide to publication outlets for SOTL was developed by Ilinois State University. Information is organized by discipline.

General SOTL Journals available at CU-B
This link will take you to Chinook search results of journals related to higher education.

 

Specific Title of SOTL Journals


Academic Exchange Quarterly

Peer-reviewed quarterly publishes articles that contribute to effective instruction and learning regardless of level or subject.

 

International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Here is the url for a new International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Vol. 1, No. 1 (January 2007). They are easy to read, short for our busy schedules, thoughtful and meaningful to our work together. Many will give you a context for how broad this work on teaching and learning is becoming. Mary Ann

 

Journal of Effective Teaching

This peer reviewed electronic journal is devoted to the discussion of teaching excellence in colleges and universities. The regular issues will contain articles in two broad Content Areas : effective teaching and the scholarship of teaching. We invite contributors to share their insights in pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences in the form of a scholarly communication. We are particularly interested in topics addressed in the particular Content Areas described at this site, including empirical research on pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences.

 

Journal Evaluation Tools

 

Journal Citation Reports: Web of Science (Requires VPN)

This tool provides impact information on the top tier journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the humanitites.

 

Eigenfactor.org
EigenfactorTM scores and Article InfluenceTM scores rank journals much as Google ranks websites. Scholarly references join journals together in a vast network of citations. Our algorithms use the structure of the entire network (instead of purely local citation information) to evaluate the importance of each journal.
Eigenfactor.org not only ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences, but also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more. In so doing, it more fairly values those journals bridging the gap between the social and natural sciences.

Harzig's Publish or Perish

The Publish or Perish software is a Microsoft Windows application that can also be installed and used on Apple Mac OS X and GNU/Linux computers, with the aid of a suitable emulator such as Wine or CrossOver Mac.

Publish or Perish is a free software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following statistics:

  • Total number of papers
  • Total number of citations
  • Average number of citations per paper
  • Average number of citations per author
  • Average number of papers per author
  • Average number of citations per year
  • Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
  • Egghe's g-index
  • The contemporary h-index
  • The age-weighted citation rate
  • Two variations of individual h-indices
  • An analysis of the number of authors per paper.

 

 

 

 

Faculty Focus: Focused on Today's Higher Education Professional

The Teaching Profession Blog

The blog is written by Dr. Maryellen Weimer, professor emeritus at Penn State Berks and one of the nation’s most highly regarded authorities on effective college teaching.

The Teaching Professor Blog features a new weekly post from Maryellen on such topics as: the scholarship of teaching and learning, classroom policies, active learning, assessment, generational differences, and student performance.

 

 

Research Academy for University Learning

Montclair State University

Resources for Research and Scholarship

 

 

ISSOTL: International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

http://www.issotl.org/SOTL.html

The International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (ISSOTL) serves faculty members, staff, and students who care about teaching and learning as serious intellectual work. The goal of the Society is to foster inquiry and disseminate findings about what improves and articulates post-secondary learning and teaching.

A Tutorial on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

 

Georgia State University: SOTL Resources

This site includes resources about learning theory, a guideline to measuring learning, and journals for publication.

 

Illinois State University: SOTL web site

This site includes links to:

Indiana University: SOTL Resources

This site includes sections on publishing articles, human subjects issues, and books and journals relating to SOTL.

 

Research University Consortium

for the Advancement of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

This consortium of major research campuses and disciplinary societies in the United States, Canada, and Australia is assessing the position and potential of scholarship of teaching and learning (SOTL) in higher education. Resources are available on SOTL models, resources, and relevant reports.

 

EDUCAUSE's Resource Center on Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

EDUCAUSE's mission is "transforming education through information technologies." EDUCAUSE focuses on understanding learners, aligning learning principles and practices together and integrating learning technology—all with the goal of improving student success. EDUCAUSE's resources on teaching and learning include the work of members as well as material contributed from EDUCAUSE's strategic initiative, the EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative.


International Society for Exploring Teaching and Learning

The International Society for Exploring Teaching and Learning encourages the study of instruction and principles of learning in order to implement practical, effective methods of teaching and learning, promote the application, development and evaluation of such methods, and foster the scholarship of teaching and learning among practicing post-secondary educators. This link connects to a list of higher education journals focused on teaching and learning.

 

 

 

UC Boulder

Alison Graber,Education and Anthropology Subject Specialist

 

Subject Specialists

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Update:June 18, 2012