UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Finding Articles

Finding Databases | Education Dababases | Find the Full Text

 

Finding Articles (Databases)

 

UCB Libraries provides access to numerous databases with information relevant to Education. They are available on the Find Articles and More Page.

 

WAIT! Are you connecting from off-campus?

Tutorial: VPN

 

In order to find articles about a particular topic, you will to search in library database other than Chinook. You can only search for journal titles in the Chinook catalog, you won't find article titles listed in Chinook.

 

You may explore our databases organized by categories and subcategories. Remember to read the descriptions of each database to determine which will suit your needs. Think about other disciplines that may be relevant to your topic!

 

Education - Most Useful

 

Education - Also Useful

 

Sociology - Race and Ethnicity

 

Psychology - Most Useful

 

Linguistics - Most Useful

 

Typically you may search by keyword, author, title and more. For help developing keywords, go to How do I Choose Keywords? HINT! Keep track of search terms. Look for database recommended search terms and help resources.

 

Education-related abstracts/databases

 

ERIC (CSA)

ERIC Education Resources Information Center (CSA) provides access to more than 1.2 million abstracts of journal articles (EJ) and other education-related documents (ED) produced by practioners and researchers. CSA also provides saved searches, email alerts and other education-related databases.

 

Full-text access to ERIC Documents (ED) is available for many of the documents.
DIgital copies of ERIC Documents on microfiche can be requested from Pascal using the ERIC Document request form.

 

ERIC is also available in a free web-based version.

ERIC’s personalized Web resource, My ERIC, makes it easy to manage your ERIC searches, sources, and citations. My ERIC gives you the ability to save searches and interesting citations from your search results to access later from wherever you choose to do your online research. My ERIC participants also have the opportunity to submit their own works to be considered for the ERIC Collection through the Online Submission System.

 

Education full text

Includes comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes about 79 journals not covered by ERIC. Education Abstracts indexes articles from 1929 to present. In most cases, the Find it at CU icon will connect to the full-text.
Access Education Index Retro (index-only, with coverage from 1929-1983) by clicking here.

 

CSA linguistics and language behavior abstracts

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

 

PsycINFO

Index with citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, education, psychiatry, anthropology, business, and law. Produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association.

 

 

Full-text journal collections

 

Education: a SAGE full-text collection

Includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles, and encompasses over 8,000 articles.

 

JSTOR IV

This is an archival collection (2003-earlier) including more than 50 major peer reviewed education journals including those published by the American Education Research Association. This full-text collection does not contain the most recent publications.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Research and Subject Guides

Or search numerous guides leading to valuable resources (databases, print, online directories and more).

 

Finding the Full text at CU-Boulder

 

Access to journals is constantly changing. Some journals have both electronic and print access. Some have only print and some only electronic. Some journals end publication abruptly, such as TESOL Journal (Ceased Publication 2003).

l

Remote Access

 

Accessing electronic journals from off campus requires the download and installation of the VPN software on your computer. This software identifies you as a CU student allowing you to access databases and electronic content from any computer with the VPN software.

 

Visit the OIT VPN site for information on downloading and using this software. If you have difficulties with the program contact the
IT Service Center
(303) 735-HELP
help@colorado.edu

 

1. Find the full text by

 

    • using the Find it at CU link in the database

    Full-text options

    OR

    If no online version exists, request a PDF of this article from Document Delivery/ILL.

     

     

    • search for the title of the journal in Chinook;

You will often see multiple title records for journals, one for the online and one for print. Journal titles followed by [Electronic Resource] or (Online) will have access points for electronic content. You can request a PDF of print journals by using the Request a PDF (UCB only) link in Chnook.

.


 

2. Use Interlibrary Loan's ILLiad

 

This online request service obtains articles not owned by the University Libraries. Visit Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for additional information.

 

Finding Articles (Print Indexes)

 

Education Index
REF DEPT INDEX -- Library Use Only -- Z5813 .E23 1929-
A print index of education resources including articles prior to ERIC. 1929 - 2003

 

Exceptional Child Education Resources
REF DEPT INDEX -- Library Use Only -- Z5814 .C52 E9 1969 -
This print resource is published by the Council for Exceptional Children, Reston , VA. 1969 - 2004

 

State Education Journal Index

REF DEPT INDEX -- Library Use Only -- L11 .S82

This print resource indexes publications published by state education organizations.

The Equity, Diversity, and Education, (EDUC 344) has a 5 year backfile of publications indexed in this resource.

 

For more information and research assistance,

 

Contact (Temporary)

Caroline Sinkinson
Associate Faculty Director for Instruction Services
303-492-0450

Norlin Library