UCB Libraries

 

Subject Guide for French Language & Literature

 

  • Getting Started
  • Literature
  • Language
  • News
  • Film,Art,History,Philosophy
How do I?

Salut!

Ici vous pouvez trouver toutes les ressources pour vos études de langue, de littérature et bien plus!

 

This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.

 

 

+ Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.

+ Finding Background Information

Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:

The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French

 

Bibliographies

Bibliographie de la littérature française du Moyen Age à nos jours

REF DEPT  Z2171 .B52 

A critical bibliography of French literature.

Z2171 .C3 v.1

Manuel De Bibliographie Littéraire Pour Les XVIe, XVIIe Et XVIIIe Siècles Français

Z2171 .G52

History and Criticism

Cassell guide to literature in French

PQ103 .C27 1996

A Literary history of France.

PQ103 .L5

A Concise Survey Of French Literature

PQ119 .M3 1959a

 

+ Finding Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in French literature

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Representation Feminism French literature

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.

 

Everyday Example

 

Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights

 

Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos

 

Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game

 

Research Paper Example

 

Concept 1:

portrayal

illustration

account

embodiment

Concept 2:

rights of women

women's suffrage

gender studies

female emancipation

Concept 3:

Poetry/Drama

Fiction/Novel

European Language

Romance Language

 

 

How do I?

 

Find books and articles on French literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

+ Author Resources

Books

To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Biography (e.g. Sembène, Ousmane biography)
Authors, French
Authors African Biography Dictionaries

 

Articles 

To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:

CU Biography and genealogy master index

CU Contemporary authors

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU Dictionary of literary biography

CU Oxford reference online : premium collection

Paris Review: Interview with modern French authors

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

+ Novel Resources

Books

To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Flaubert and Madame Bovary

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
French Literature 16th Century History And Criticism
French Literature 18th Century History And Criticism Congresses
French Literature Women Authors History And Criticism

 

Articles 

To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU Contemporary literary criticism

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Web Resources

Collections / anthologies

Critical theory

Electronic writing / publishing

French literature

Manuscripts

Novels / short stories

Other prose

Textual criticism

 

+ Poetry Resources

Books

Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.

 

Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found

eg Les Fleurs du Mal

to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
French Poetry 17th Century
Algerian poetry (French)
French Poetry Old French

 

Articles 

To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Web Resources

Collections / anthologies

Critical theory

French literature

Poetry

Textual criticism

 

+ Theater Resources

Books

To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.

 

To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Feminist Theater
Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre)
Theater France History

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU International Index to the Performing Arts

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU MLA international bibliography

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide

Web Resources

Critical theory

Drama

French literature

Textual criticism

 

+ Film Resources

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:

 

CU Film and Television Index

CU MLA international bibliography

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

+ Newspapers and Reviews

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Monde  (0395-2037)

 

from 01/08/1987 to present in LexisNexis Academic
from 12/21/1994 to present in Factiva
from 04/02/2006 to present in Business Source Complete

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

La Presse quotidienne dans Gallica

 

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques

 

Print Indexes

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Index analytique 1966-1972 AI7 .I5 Pascal
Périodex 1972-1983 AI7 .P4  Reference Stacks
Point de repère 1984-1993 AI7 .P65  Pascal
Repère 1994-2007 AI7 .P65  Pascal
French periodical index 1973-1995

AI7 .F7

Pascal
Bibliographie der franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft 1956-1998 Z2173.3 .K45 Reference Stacks
Bibliographie de la presse fran√ßaise politique et d ľinformation g√©n√©rale 1865-1944 Z6956.F8 P32 Reference Stacks

 

+ Literary Theory Resources

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]

 

Introduction to library research in French literature

Z2171 .B34

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005

 

Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001

 

The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001

 

Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001

 

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000

 

The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997

 

Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
PE1479.C7 L96 1994

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Web Resources

Critical theory

French literature

Textual criticism

 

+ Browsing the Collection

The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of French topics.

French literature PQ1-3999

History and criticism PQ1-771

General PQ1-150
Medieval. Old French PQ151-221
Modern PQ226-310
Poetry PQ400-491
Drama PQ500-591
Prose and prose fiction PQ601-771

Folk literature PQ(781)-841)
Juvenile literature PQ845
Collections PQ1100-1297

General PQ1100-1145
Poetry PQ1160-1193
Drama PQ1211-1241
Prose PQ1243-1297

Old French literature PQ1300-1595

Collections PQ1300-1391
To 1350/1400 PQ1411-1545
(14th-) 15th century (to ca. 1525) PQ1551-1595

Modern literature PQ1600-2726

16th century PQ1600-1709
17th century PQ1710-1935
18th century PQ1947-2147
19th century PQ2149-2551
1900-1960 PQ2600-2651
1961-2000 PQ2660-2686
2001- PQ2700-2726
Provincial, local, colonial, etc. PQ3800-3999

French PC2001-3761

Dialects. Provincialisms PC2700-(3708)

Old French PC2813-(2898)
Provencal (Old) PC3201-3366
Modern patois of South France PC3371-3420.5
Langue d'oc dialects PC3420.8-3495

Slang. Argot PC3721-3761

+ Theses and Dissertations


From CU

 

Online PDFs: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation (1997-present)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses CU
The full text of dissertations produced at any campus of the University of Colorado system from 1997 to the present are available here as free PDF downloads. To initiate the free download, click on the "Full Text - PDF" link that appears underneath the citation and abstract information of the dissertation you'd like to see.

Print copies: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation using the Chinook Library Catalog

 

  • The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, or keyword.
  • In Chinook, the term THESIS denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations.
  • The call number for CU Boulder theses and dissertations begin with the letter "T," followed by the year of the thesis and then a code matching the author's last name.

 

From Other Institutions

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
    Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU
  • ABI/Inform Global
    This database contains the full-text of over 10,000 dissertations in business and management. Under "publication type," select "dissertations." CU
  • WorldCat
    Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Limit results by "subtype limits: any content" to "thesis/dissertation." CU

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through the above resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.


Dissertations and Theses from Other Countries

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

 

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through these resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.

France

 

  • Sudoc (Syst√®me universitaire de documentation)

    Sudoc is a gateway to academic libraries and other scholarly centers and library collections in France. The database includes records of dissertations produced in French institutions. For searching instructions, select "Rechercer une thèse" at bottom of screen. For instructions on how to obtain theses/dissertations from France go to http://www.abes.fr/ and select "Services," then "Thèses," then "Rechercer une thèse."

 

  • Atelier National de Reproduction des Th√®ses (ANRT)

    The National Theses Reproduction Workshop of France comprises both electronic and print on demand theses from France. The General Catalog lists theses since 1971, classified by subject. The "Theses a la carte" catalogue includes all the titles available for sale in print format. Before ordering a thesis, please check with Interlibrary Loan as we may be able to borrow a thesis/dissertation.

+ Microform

 

French Microform Sets (National)

 

Microform sets can be requested from Inter Library Loan

 

Reader/Printers for microforms are available in the Libraries.

 

Equipment includes:

  • Microcard reader/printers
  • Microfilm/fiche reader/printers
  • Microfim/fiche/card digitals scanners (Research Services only)
    scan & email or save to flash drive or SD card

Cost to make a copy:

  • 25¬Ę / page: cash (coin or up to $10 bills), change dispensed
  • 25¬Ę / page: Copy Cards

Copy Cards:

  • Cards may be purchased from a Copy Card Vending Station (a.k.a Jamex Card Dispenser & Re-Value Station) using a $1.00 bill; there will be no value on the card.
  • Money may be added to the Copy Card in increments of $1.00, $5.00, $10.00 or $20.00 up to a total of $25.00.
  • Colorful new bills may not work in these machines.

Copy Card Vending Station locations:

  • Norlin: Research & Instruction
  • Norlin: Science Library
  • Map Library

Refunds for failed copy jobs:

  • InkSpot Copy Center, 303-492-7878
    UMC 130C, Mon-Fri 7:30am-4:30pm

Maintenance, repair and technical assistance for Norlin Library's microform scanning equipment:

  • Call Michael Riberdy (Libraries Information Technology), 303-492-2816.
Norlin Library Beyond Norlin

2nd floor

  • Research Center

3rd floor

  • Government Information
  • Business Library
  • Engineering Library
  • Music Library

 

 

 

Does discretement have an é acute or an è grave? What is the past participle of "to sew"?

Try the following tools to help:

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

 

+ Dictionaries

Online Dictionaries

CU Oxford language dictionaries online

CU The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (English-French)
CU The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (French-English)

CU The Oxford Business French Dictionary (English-French)
CU The Oxford Business French Dictionary (French-English)

 

ARTFL French/English Dictionary

WordReference.com

Base de données lexicographiques panfrancophone

Dictionnaire Littré en ligne

Anglo-Norman Dictionary

DicoVox4.0

Dictionnaires d'autrefois: 17th, 18th and 19th centuries

Dictionnaires Larousse

Dictionnaires spécialisés

Historic Databases

Occitan Dictionaries

Subject Dictionaries

Print Dictionaries

French dictionaries in print can be found in the Reference Department Stacks (map) and the Norlin Stacks (map) in Norlin Library, under the call number PC2640.

 

Collins Robert French dictionary

PC2640 .C69 2006

The compact Oxford-Hachette French dictionary

PC2640 .C72 1995

Dictionaire anglois & françois [microform] : pour l'utilité de tous ceux, qui font desireux de deux langues

Microfilm 604 (1672)

Dictionary of modern colloquial French

PC2640 .H47 1984

Harrap's French and English college dictionary

PC2640 .H32 2006

Larousse French-English, English-French dictionary

PC2640 .G68 2003

Webster's New World concise French English dictionary

PC2640 .W376 2006

 

Dictionnaire de la langue française

PC2625 .L634

Dictionnaire de l'Académie française

PC2625 .D455 2001  

Dictionnaire historique de la langue française

PC2580 .D52 1998  

Le grand Robert de la langue française

PC2625 .R552 2001

Larousse pour tous

PC2625 .L347 1969

 

+ Thesauri

Online Thesauri

Parasaurus Rex

Print Thesauri

Dictionnaire des synonymes, analogies, et antonymes (see a)

Thésaurus Larousse : des idées aux mots, des mots aux idées (see a)

Dictionnaire des synonymes (see a)

The Cambridge French-English thesaurus (see a)

 

+ Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers (University of Chicago)

Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert (University of Michigan)

The Canadian Encyclopedia

Encyclopédie Larousse

Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia universalis (see a)

Petit Larousse: Dictionnaire Encyclopédique Pour Tous (see a)

 

 

Try the following sections to find language learning resources:

 

+ Grammar

Grammaire française

Verb Conjugation Trainer

French Conjugator

Le Conjugeur

 

Advanced French grammar

PC2112 .L485 1999

A comprehensive French grammar

PC2112 .P75 2008

Le bon usage : grammaire française

PC2111 .G83 2008

Oxford French dictionary and grammar

PC2640 .O84 2001

French verbs made simple(r)

PC2271 .B76 2006

French verbs

PC2271 .R68 1994

 

+ Listening

Spoken

ICA Talks: British Library

French Poetry podcast

Le journal en Français facil

Ma France (BBC)

Mali French

 

French sound recordings in the library

Video

DailyMotion

Agoravox

Institut National de l'Audiovisuel

Paris.fr

Internet Archive

Moving Image Archive

Open Source Movies Collection.

French videos/DVDs in the library

How do I find DVDs

Television

French Language Television Channels

Broadcast-Français

 

Fomny.com

France 24

Institut National de l'audiovisuelle

Belgian TV Online

French TV Online

Swiss TV Online

Télévision

Radio

BBCAfrique

Broadcast-Français

Comfm.com

Pandora (40 free hours a month)

Radio France Internationale

Sites Radiophoniques

Music

Classical music library CU

The Classical Music Library contains over 50,000 tracks of streaming audio.

 

Naxos music library CU

This database contains over 200,000 music tracks in streaming audio and includes folk music, some world music, and jazz.

 

Naxos music library jazz CU

This database of streaming audio offers over 20,000 tracks from over 1,900 albums. The scope of the database covers American and European artists and labels in jazz, blues and R&B.

 
+ Speaking

An introduction to French pronunciation

PC2137 .P75 2005

Savoir dire : cours de phonétique et de prononciation

PC2135 .D34 1990b

Dictionnaire de la prononciation française. [Sound recording]

cassette 93-9

Forvo- Pronounciation

+ Verbs

Grammaire française

Verb Conjugation Trainer

French Conjugator

Le Conjugeur

Training Exercises

Verbs-online.com

Verbcast

 

French verbs made simple(r)

PC2271 .B76 2006

French verbs

PC2271 .R68 1994

 

+ Writing

L'essentiel de la nouvelle orthographie

Languefrancaise.net

Améliorez votre orthographe

 

Apprivoiser l'écrit : techniques de l'écrit et stratégies d'auto-perfectionnement

PC2129.E5 B472 2003

 

 

 

Comment rechercher: Google et Exalead

Pour voir un video plus grand: Click ici!

 

 

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.  

 

Keeping up with Sarkozy, the 35 hour working week or Sambou Yatabare? Try the following sources to find French language material from many Francophone countries.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

+ Newspapers

 

 

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Monde  (0395-2037)

 

from 01/08/1987 to present in LexisNexis Academic
from 12/21/1994 to present in Factiva
from 04/02/2006 to present in Business Source Complete

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques

 

Print Indexes

 

Index Title Dates Call Number Location
Index analytique 1966-1972 AI7 .I5 Pascal
Périodex 1972-1983 AI7 .P4  Reference Stacks
Point de repère 1984-1993 AI7 .P65  Pascal
Repère 1994-2007 AI7 .P65  Pascal
French periodical index 1973-1995

AI7 .F7

Pascal
Bibliographie de la presse fran√ßaise politique et d ľinformation g√©n√©rale 1865-1944 Z6956.F8 P32 Reference Stacks

 

 

+ Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Express (Paris)
 (0014-5270)

from 07/25/2002 to present in LexisNexis Academic
from 08/01/2002 to present in Factiva

 

+ Breaking News- A la une!

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative French language news.

 

BBCAfrique.com (also includes video, audio)

Clicnet: Presse Francophone

EuroNews

Google Actualités

Onlinenewspapers.com

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers

 

 

Comment rechercher: Factiva (Journaux)

Pour voir un video plus grand: Click ici

 

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required. 

 

 

 

How do I?

 

Find books and articles on history, art, philosophy and film; for further topics, see the Subject Guide database

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

 

+ Film

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:


CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

 
+ Art

Books

To find books about art topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Articles

 

To find critical journal articles about an art topic, try the following databases:

CU Art Full Text (or mobile)

CU ARTbibliographies Modern

CU Oxford Art Online

CU Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

To find newspaper reviews about art, try the following databases:

CU Academic Search Premier

CU NY Times

CU Thompson Gale Databases

Also see: Research Guide for Art and Art History

+ History

 

Guide to Finding Primary Sources

French Primary Sources

 

Secondary Sources

 

General

ABC-Clio eBook Collection CU

The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.

 

Academic search premier CU

This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index CU

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

 

Historical abstracts CU (or mobile)

Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States).

 

Humanities full text CU (or mobile)

Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.

 

JSTOR CU (or mobile)

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals archive online CU

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals index online (ProQuest) CU

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations from over 4,500 periodicals in published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years

 

Poole's index to periodical literature CU

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.

 

Royal Historical Society bibliography CU

Bibliography of publications relating to the history of the British Isles, and of the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55 BC to the present.

 

Women's studies international CU (or mobile)

Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts.

French

International medieval bibliography online CU

Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).

 

Iter CU

Bibliography of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

+ Philosophy

Reference

CU Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy.

 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Books

To find books by a philosopher do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about a philosopher or a philosopher's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the philosopher's name.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles about philosophy, use the following databases:

 

CU Philosopher's Index

Articles from scholarly journals with links to full text.

 

CU FRANCIS

Articles from scholarly journals and journals of academic interest with links to full text.

 

CU PERSEE

Full-text articles from selected French journals.

Primary Sources

CU Montaigne Project

Full text collection of Montaigne's Essais with page images from the Bordeaux Copy.

 

Super Enlightenment

Rare works in French written between 1716 and 1835, covering mythology, alchemy, religion, free-masonry, science, and other topics.

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Philosophy Subject Guide