UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Germanic Studies

Research Resources for German Languages & Literatures at CU


Handbooks, Style Guides, Introductions

Bibliographies and Indexes to Book and Article Literature

Encyclopediae, Lexica, Dictionaries

Handbooks, Style Guides, Introductions



The Craft of Research. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2008. (3rd ed.)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009. (7th ed.)


Critical Terms for Literary Study. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995. (2nd ed.)




Informationshandbuch deutsche Literaturwissenschaft: mit Internet- und CD-ROM-Recherche. Frankfurt am Main : Fischer Taschenbuch, 2005. (4th ed.)


Deutsche Literaturgeschichte: von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1994. (5th ed.)


Geschichte der deutschen Literatur von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. München: Beck, 1960-


Handbuch zur deutsch-jüdischen Literatur des 20. Jahrhundert. Paderborn : F. Schöningh, 2002.


Daten deutscher Dichtung: chronologischer Abriss der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. München: dtv, 1991.

Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung: Aus den Quellen. Dresden: Ehlermann; Berlin: Akademie-Verlag, 1884-


Bücherkunde für Germanisten. Berlin: Schmidt, 1991.


Einführung in die Bücherkunde zur Deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1994.

Quellenrepertorium zur neueren deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1981. (3rd ed.)


Oxford Companion to German Literature. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. (3rd ed.)


Bibliographies and Indexes to Book and Article Literature


MLA International Bibliography
The major index published by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1926-present. CU


IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
An international, multilingual, and interdisciplinary bibliography indexing over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage: 1983-present. For 1963-1982, consult print volumes. CU


Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

Lists indexes and guides to 17th- to 20th-century Western European periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Broken down into comprehensive resource and language-specific resources, including German.


The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Cambridge University Press, 1930-


German Literature


Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
BDSL covers all aspects of secondary literature in the areas of German language, linguistics, and literary studies. It is the continuation of the Eppelsheimer/ Köttelwesch bibliography. Coverage: 1985-present. Consult print volumes for 1945-1969 and 1969-1983. CU


Bibliographie zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte des Barockzeitalters. Bern: Francke, 1980-1991.

Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik, 1750-1850. Weimar: Nationale Forschungs- und Gedenkstätten der klassischen deutschen Literatur, 1968-


Deutsche Literarische Zeitschriften von der Aufklärung bis zur Romantik: Bibliographie der kritischen Literatur von den Anfängen bis 1990. München: Saur, 1994.


Die Autoren und Bücher des Literarischen Expressionismus. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1985.


Verzeichnis lieferbarer Bücher Online

Database with search engine for information about books currently being offered by publishers in the German-speaking countries.


Encyclopediae, Lexica, Dictionaries



WESS German Studies Web: Reference Shelf


Zedlers Grosses vollständiges Universal-Lexikon Online

Johann Heinrich Zedler's Universal-Lexicon is the most comprehensive encyclopedic work produced in 18th-century Europe. Over 284,000 articles from 64 volumes plus 4 supplemental volumes cover all areas of knowledge, including biography, geography, mineralogy, law, medicine, astrology, economics, music, zoology, philosophy, and religion.


Brockhaus Enzyklopädie in zwanzig Bänden. Wiesbaden: Brockhaus, 1966- (17th ed.)


Find more encyclopedias in Chinook: choose Subject Keyword and search on germany encyclopedias


Literature and Cinema


Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft: Neubearbeitung des Reallexikons der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1997- (3rd ed.)


Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon: Biograph.-bibliograph. Handbuch. Bern: Francke, 1968- (3rd ed.)


Die Deutsche Literatur: Biographisches und bibliographisches Lexikon. Bern: Lang, 1979-


Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon. Das 20. Jahrhundert : biographisches-bibliographisches Handbuch. Bern; München : K.G. Saur, 2000-


Die Deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1978- (2nd ed.)


Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. [München] : Edition Text + Kritik, [1995-2007]

Deutsche Dichter: Leben und Werk deutschsprachiger Autoren. Stuttgart: Reclam, 1988-1990.


Encyclopedia of German Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy-Dearborn, 2000-


Historical Dictionary of Post-War German Literature. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2009.


Lexikon der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur seit 1945. München : Nymphenburger, 2003.


Metzler Lexikon der deutsch-jüdischen Literatur. Stuttgart : Metzler, 2000.


The Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema. New York : Berghahn Books, 2009.


Find more literature guides in Chinook: choose Subject in Advanced Keyword and search on: german literature bio-bibliography or german literature dictionaries


History and Culture

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.


The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. New York: Macmillan, 1991.


The Regions of Germany: A Reference Guide to History and Culture. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 2005.


Enzyklopädie deutscher Geschichte. München: Oldenbourg, 1988-. 86 volumes to date.




Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) & Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) Gesamtregister. Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 2003.


Dictionary of German Biography. München: Saur, 2001-


Kürschners Deutscher Literatur-Kalendar. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1937-


Find more biographical dictionaries in Chinook: choose Subject in Advanced Keyword and search on germany biography dictionaries


Language Dictionaries


Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Bilingual dictionaries and study materials in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Chinese. Also includes illustrative examples to help you choose the correct translation and native speaker audio pronunciation of words. CU

Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm
Searchable version of the standard work. Also in print, Deutsches Wörterbuch. München: dtv, 1965-


Adelung, Grammatisch-kritisches Wörterbuch der hochdeutschen Mundart

All four volumes of this 1811 dictionary are available full-text. Also in print Grammatisch-kritisches Wörterbuch. Hildesheim: Olms, 1970.


Duden in 12 Bänden. Mannheim: Dudenverlag, 1997-2002 (22nd ed.)

Bd.1 - Rechtschreibung
Bd.2 - Stilwörterbuch
Bd.3 - Bildwörterbuch
Bd.4 - Grammatik
Bd.5 - Fremdwörterbuch
Bd.6 - Aussprachewörterbuch
Bd.7 - Herkunftswörterbuch
Bd.8 - Sinn- und Sachverwandte Wörter
Bd.9 - Richtiges und gutes Deutsch
Bd.10 - Bedeutungswörterbuch
Bd.11 - Redewendungen
Bd.12 - Zitate und Aussprüche

Wahrig, Das Grosse Deutsche Wörterbuch. Gütersloh: Bertelsmann, 1966.


Deutsches Wörterbuch. Tübingen: Niemeyer, 1992. (9th ed.)


Etymologisches Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache. Berlin; New York: De Gruyter, 2002.


Find more language dictionaries in Chinook: choose Subject and search on german language dictionaries


CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.