UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Germanic Studies

Finding German Dissertations

 

Many German universities now have "Dokumenten- und Publikationenserver" that include web versions of some of their dissertations and other Hochschulschriften. The various dissertation archives are listed centrally on dissonline.de: Digitale Dissertationen im Internet. Each one must be searched individually.

The Frankfurter Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek lists almost all postwar German dissertations. Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek collects all dissertations and postdoctoral publications from German institutions of higher learning as well as the same in German from institutions abroad. Two copies of the printed version or the online version are sent to Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek and are archived there. A search for Goethe and diss yields 691 entries, as all Hochschulschriften get the note diss in their record. Using the search category hss (Hochschulschrift), however, does not seem to produce the desired result.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL), of which CU is a member, is working on guides and cataloging for foreign dissertations. To search what has been cataloged, search the CRL catalog. If the title does not appear in the database or the catalog, you may contact CRL directly or ask Interlibrary Loan staff to inquire if CRL holds it. If not, you may request that CRL purchase a foreign dissertation (any doctoral dissertation submitted to an institution outside of the U.S. and Canada), to the extent that funds permit. The average turnaround time for the Ludwig-Maximilians Universität (Munich), for instance, is 11 weeks. CRL Demand Purchases may be initiated by our Interlibrary Loan office. For other guides to German material at CRL see Austria and Germany.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, with more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses included, covering graduate research from 1861 to present from universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24-page previews available. The full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available for a fee. You may also try to borrow them through Interlibrary Loan. Coverage: 1861 to present. Dissertation abstracts since 1980. Thesis abstracts since 1988. CU

 

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service (Beta)

This database offered by the British Library contains records for doctoral theses from UK Higher Education Institutions and allows immediate download of an increasing number of electronic and digitized theses. The database covers ALL UK theses so, in theory, could go back to the 1600s! Primarily, theses from participating institutions supporting open access are loaded to the system.

You can locate Printed Catalogues of Dissertations in the CHINOOK library catalog or, for titles that CU does not hold, in Prospector (regional libraries only; this search can also be run from CHINOOK) and/or WorldCat. CU These will usually treat a particular subject, time period, or institution. Try running a Keyword search in CHINOOK on "dissertations and Germany and bibliography."

 

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.